Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2012, 09:21 PM   #1
cchukan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Question Iphone 5, A1428, and A1429 GSM question

So I'm planning on purchasing the new Iphone 5 from AT&T (since it's GSM) and later taking the phone to Germany. (I'm in the military and being stationed there for 3 years)



I know that AT&T will unlock my phone when I cancel my contract (AT&T honors military orders for overseas deployment) but my question is this...



QUESTION: According to this http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/ I would have to purchase the A1428 GSM model but will I be able to use it in Germany? Apple will be selling A1429 GSM Model with different LTE Band support. Does this mean that if I take my unlocked AT&T A1428 I wouldn't be able to get LTE service in Europe?



Thanks for all the help in advance!
cchukan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 09:28 PM   #2
Dwalls90
macrumors 68040
 
Dwalls90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
That is all very confusing to me.

It's not really a "world" phone if it can't be used across all (or at least the majority) of carriers

Would it really have been so bad to make the phone 1% thicker and include ALL of those radios/bands?
__________________
rMBP 4850HQ & iPhone 6
Dwalls90 is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 09:40 PM   #3
cchukan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalls90 View Post
That is all very confusing to me.

It's not really a "world" phone if it can't be used across all (or at least the majority) of carriers

Would it really have been so bad to make the phone 1% thicker and include ALL of those radios/bands?
So are you trying to tell me that I won't get 4G LTE service in Germany if I go with the A1428 GSM? Or are you saying you are also confused...??
cchukan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 09:42 PM   #4
profets
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
You're correct. The AT&T model will only get LTE with AT&T and in Canada.

In Germany you'll get hspa+ and dc-hspa.
profets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 09:46 PM   #5
midtownhd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The iPhone 5 sold for at&t wont work under other companies' LTE services. But it does work using HSPA if unlocked.
midtownhd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 10:03 PM   #6
cchukan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by midtownhd View Post
The iPhone 5 sold for at&t wont work under other companies' LTE services. But it does work using HSPA if unlocked.
It will be unlocked so I guess I can use HSPA...Question was is hspa+ and dc-hspa and hspa??

Thanks
cchukan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 10:07 PM   #7
MikeNemat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchukan View Post
it will be unlocked so i guess i can use hspa...question was is hspa+ and dc-hspa and hspa??

Thanks
3g
MikeNemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 10:08 PM   #8
ShaolinX
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalls90 View Post
That is all very confusing to me.

It's not really a "world" phone if it can't be used across all (or at least the majority) of carriers

Would it really have been so bad to make the phone 1% thicker and include ALL of those radios/bands?
It wouldn't be 1% thicker, substantially more I'd think because of the fragmentation in the LTE spectrum. It is a world phone in the sense that you can pop in a local sim and use their data network, just not at LTE speeds. HSPA+ should be fine. I'll defer to my technical betters here though.
ShaolinX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 10:11 PM   #9
midtownhd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
hspa+ is a faster version of hspa, the dc-hspa is used in Asia (I think).
The GSM version of A1429 with LTE support for other countries. I think it will be sold in Europe/Asia. If you're buying unlocked, and going to Europe, why not try that one? But the again, it wont work under ATT lte here in US
midtownhd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 06:53 AM   #10
Dwalls90
macrumors 68040
 
Dwalls90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I doubt I'll travel the world in the next year, so it's of no personal concern.

Just baffled that we cannot create a phone that works on all frequencies in 2012, when the world has had cellular technology for years now.
__________________
rMBP 4850HQ & iPhone 6
Dwalls90 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:45 AM   #11
Ran7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchukan View Post
So I'm planning on purchasing the new Iphone 5 from AT&T (since it's GSM) and later taking the phone to Germany. (I'm in the military and being stationed there for 3 years)i!
the ATT version is the one version that will work worse and with the worst capablity in Europe.

The 1429 CDMA and GSM version sold for Sprint and Verizon has everything the 1428 has plus many bands in use and planned for use in Europe that the ATT/1428 does not have.
'
If you travel or live in Europe you do NOT want the ATT version
Ran7 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:58 AM   #12
profets
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalls90 View Post
I doubt I'll travel the world in the next year, so it's of no personal concern.

Just baffled that we cannot create a phone that works on all frequencies in 2012, when the world has had cellular technology for years now.
It's an extremely technical issue right now, and LTE is quite early on with many bands being used (more so than gsm or umts used) so it won't be simple just yet.

It happens at every new generation, gsm/edge phones had just 2-3 bands for a while before quadband became popular and could be used everywhere. UMTS/HSPA as well for years we would see models for north america and then models for Europe.

With time I'm sure we'll see it improve.
profets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 10:03 AM   #13
Dwalls90
macrumors 68040
 
Dwalls90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by profets View Post
It's an extremely technical issue right now, and LTE is quite early on with many bands being used (more so than gsm or umts used) so it won't be simple just yet.

It happens at every new generation, gsm/edge phones had just 2-3 bands for a while before quadband became popular and could be used everywhere. UMTS/HSPA as well for years we would see models for north america and then models for Europe.

With time I'm sure we'll see it improve.
I hope by the next iPhone we have the scenario we had with the 4S; one phone for all carriers and bands on 3G or lower, except for LTE next time around.
__________________
rMBP 4850HQ & iPhone 6
Dwalls90 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 10:05 AM   #14
zorinlynx
macrumors 68020
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Those of you concerned about LTE service in other countries... You do realize how expensive international data roaming is, right?

HSPA should be more than enough when you consider that even 50MB tends to cost a fortune.

Just a thought; people probably shouldn't be worrying so much about this.
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 10:07 AM   #15
profets
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalls90 View Post
I hope by the next iPhone we have the scenario we had with the 4S; one phone for all carriers and bands on 3G or lower, except for LTE next time around.
Same here. I found it quite impressive how with the 4S they were able to get CDMA, GSM, 3G, etc all into a single model. Quite beautiful what they do logistically too like that.

I remember reading about newer chips that qualcomm was going to have ready for late 2012 or 2013 that allowed many more LTE bands to be possible on the same device. The iPad next year may be a good indication of what they can do.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post
Those of you concerned about LTE service in other countries... You do realize how expensive international data roaming is, right?

HSPA should be more than enough when you consider that even 50MB tends to cost a fortune.

Just a thought; people probably shouldn't be worrying so much about this.
Though I agree, I tend to get a local sim when travelling. Data seems to be quite cheap when travelling in europe on prepaid sims. But yeah, unless living abroad for a while I really wouldn't worry much about LTE for outside of my home country. We've lived without it all this time already lol, and we do have hspa+ and dc-hspa for use when travelling.
profets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 10:13 AM   #16
Stetrain
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
They aren't really "CDMA" and "GSM" versions. All of the versions support GSM and HSPA.
Stetrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 10:19 AM   #17
Rigby
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
I wouldn't sweat it too much. Even the European iPhone 5 supports only one of the three LTE bands (800/1800/2600 MHz) that are used in Germany. Coverage in the 1800 MHz band is only available in major cities. And HSPA+ is fast too.
Rigby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 07:09 PM   #18
cchukan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ran7 View Post
the ATT version is the one version that will work worse and with the worst capablity in Europe.

The 1429 CDMA and GSM version sold for Sprint and Verizon has everything the 1428 has plus many bands in use and planned for use in Europe that the ATT/1428 does not have.
'
If you travel or live in Europe you do NOT want the ATT version
Hey,

quick question, why do you say the AT&T version (GSM) is worse than the Verizon or Sprint version (CDMA) when all of Europe is GSM? According to their website the Verizon/Sprint version is only a CDMA version not CDMA and GSM like the Iphone 4s or am I missing something here? Let me know thanks!
cchukan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 09:37 PM   #19
Ran7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchukan View Post
Hey,
quick question, why do you say the AT&T version (GSM) is worse than the Verizon or Sprint version (CDMA) when all of Europe is GSM? According to their website the Verizon/Sprint version is only a CDMA version not CDMA and GSM like the Iphone 4s or am I missing something here? Let me know thanks!
I dont know what you are reading but you are reading it WRONG. Neither the sprint nor verizon site say their versions are CDMA only., As we knew some time ago from the FCC filings, as well as from Apples own site on the technical specifications, the Sprint and Verizon are CDMA plus GSM, plus LTE frequencies the ATT lacks.

The sprint and Verizon versions have all the capability (type of radio and frequencies) of the ATT PLUS:
1) CDMA
2) More LTE bands. There are already several countries in Europe and elsewhere that have announced or because of only avaialbe bands, that they are/will be allocating LTE bands not on the ATT version but on the Sprint/Verizon Z1429.

If you are traveling or may sell the phone overseas the 1429 (verizon/sprint) is superior.


This is why apple will be sellign ONLY the Sprint/Verizon version in Europe and and not the ATT version there
Ran7 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 09:46 PM   #20
OwenMeasures
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
What about if i buy a GSM model in New Zealand and im from the England, will i be ok for LTE when my carrier supports it?
__________________
Thank you Steve
OwenMeasures is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 09:58 PM   #21
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigby View Post
I wouldn't sweat it too much. Even the European iPhone 5 supports only one of the three LTE bands (800/1800/2600 MHz) that are used in Germany. Coverage in the 1800 MHz band is only available in major cities. And HSPA+ is fast too.
I agree.
You will survive with HSPA+ while deployed in Germany.
You can reach speeds up to 14.4mbps if supported or available.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:02 PM   #22
Ayemerica
macrumors 6502a
 
Ayemerica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philadelphia
Apple in reality would have liked to wait to add LTE until the next phone (2013) the fragmenation of LTE across spectrum is crazy right now, but costumers wanted it so bad.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB Space Grey - iPad 4 32GB Black - Mac mini 2012
Ayemerica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 10:04 PM   #23
Lyshen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
The 1429 model will not support AT&T LTE frequencies.

iphone LTE bands

So if you have 1429 GSM in Europe and come to US, no LTE on AT&T. T-Mobile USA, depends on their upcoming LTE network bands.
__________________
Retina MBPro 15" 2013
Lyshen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 08:38 AM   #24
cchukan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ran7 View Post
I dont know what you are reading but you are reading it WRONG. Neither the sprint nor verizon site say their versions are CDMA only., As we knew some time ago from the FCC filings, as well as from Apples own site on the technical specifications, the Sprint and Verizon are CDMA plus GSM, plus LTE frequencies the ATT lacks.

The sprint and Verizon versions have all the capability (type of radio and frequencies) of the ATT PLUS:
1) CDMA
2) More LTE bands. There are already several countries in Europe and elsewhere that have announced or because of only avaialbe bands, that they are/will be allocating LTE bands not on the ATT version but on the Sprint/Verizon Z1429.

If you are traveling or may sell the phone overseas the 1429 (verizon/sprint) is superior.


This is why apple will be sellign ONLY the Sprint/Verizon version in Europe and and not the ATT version there

Thanks for the info. Quick question though, where on this website http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/ does it talk about Verizon/Sprint CDMA phones also support GSM? Thanks
cchukan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 03:20 PM   #25
cchukan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchukan View Post
Thanks for the info. Quick question though, where on this website http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/ does it talk about Verizon/Sprint CDMA phones also support GSM? Thanks
Anyone?
cchukan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1428 or A1429? myusernamename iOS 7 4 Feb 10, 2014 01:11 AM
iOS 7 betas a1428 vs a1429 Paulshaqz iOS 7 5 Jun 10, 2013 10:43 PM
A1429 for A1428??? clrdfortakeoff iPhone 16 Feb 1, 2013 07:45 PM
iPhone 5 in India - is it A1428 or A1429? araje iPhone 14 Jan 27, 2013 03:45 PM
Which GSM Iphone to choose ( A1428 , A1429 ) ?? serkan iPhone 0 Oct 6, 2012 05:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC