Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2012, 04:00 AM   #1
foxs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Finder column view modify width of active column

Is there a way in any language written for OSX (Applescript, C++, etc.) where I can access the function (adjust column width) in the context menu, when you right click on the two lines at the bottom of the Scrollbar in Finders Column View (AXMenu->AXMenuItem)? Same happens if you double click on the two lines.

Because, what I want to do is somehow get a shortcut on this function for »super-fast- finder-workflows«

thanks
foxs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 08:16 AM   #2
foxs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Is there no answer or does no one know?
foxs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 09:48 AM   #3
bumper314
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I explored this extensively a couple years back, but unfortunately there was no way to do it programmatically. I tried to do it by simulating mouse events, and it works OK, but not 100%...
bumper314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 06:17 AM   #4
foxs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
How do you detect where to double click with the mouse?
Because basically it should expand the column where im currently
active in. That would probably be the optimal case.


Thanks
foxs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 06:15 AM   #5
foxs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Pushing the thread to the top —*maybe someone got a solution by now
foxs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2013, 03:13 AM   #6
foxs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
trying to push again. It has to be possible somehow!
foxs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 07:14 AM   #7
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 601
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxs View Post
trying to push again. It has to be possible somehow!
If you can find a way to access the NSApplication, NSApplicationDelegate, or NSWindow, this is trivial. I feel like there's probably a fairly easy, hack for scanning through memory and finding the address. Then you just use introspection through the subviews until you find the column view and modify the relevant properties.

Alternatively, if Finder allows plugins, it may already let you know about the NSWindow.

It looks like Finder doesn't allow plugins, but other people have explored the methods that I was describing:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...-finder-plugin

Some of those answers look pretty good to me.
__________________
Battery Status - On the Mac App Store
The only app that'll estimate when your wireless devices will need their batteries changed.
Including the ones paired with other Macs on your network.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC