Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2012, 11:55 AM   #51
HeyGreggie
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Okay.... Found ANOTHER loophole [for those of us who DONT have dummy accounts already].. Hopefully this works... But you'll MISS THE PREORDER. Has to be done via CUSTOMER SERVICE:

-Call the Sales Department to Preorder your Cell Phone...

-Tell them you want to add a new line to a SUB account {practically a bracket of your account, but not on the same level as yours}

- Tell them you want the BARE minimum Share Everything Plan with 300MB [they wont tell you they have this.. They do.] It's $70.00 total.

- You'll get the phone in the mail, Activate this line FIRST when you get it. Not your regular line.

- Call Verizon, tell them you have two accounts that you want to MERGE into a Nationwide Talk & Text plan [whichever that might be]

-HAVE THE DUMMY PHONE with you or they can't activate it!

This should work. If not... We'll be paying full retail. This sucks so many bowls of d------
HeyGreggie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 12:18 PM   #52
brandnewrock22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I have already gotten everything on my account where I need it for my pre-order later this evening (3am for me). Let me fill you in on what I did. This won't work for everyone, so please don't hold me to this:

Current plan:
2 iPhone 4 devices
Verizon Nationwide Family Share Talk & Text (Account Level Pricing) - $80
Unlimited 3G Data on both - 2 x $29.99
Line access fees: 2 x $9.99
Total: $159.96 pre-tax, pre-discount

My biggest issue with upgrading on my line is that I wanted to keep my unlimited data. Here's my solution:
1. Add extra line using an old flip-phone I had laying around (Samsung Convoy) - $9.99 extra per month on family plan (bringing your own equipment means NO contract!)
2. Preorder iPhone 5 on new line, add 2GB/$30 data plan
3. Activate iPhone 5 on line, then re-activate Convoy
4. Drop data plan from line Convoy is on now
5. Activate iPhone 5 on my personal line.

We were looking to get a home phone anyways, but our cable company was trying to charge us more money than we were looking to spend. Using these steps, I'll have a brand-spankin' new iPhone 5 with unlimited data and an extra line to use as our home phone.
brandnewrock22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 12:48 PM   #53
Link2430
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandnewrock22 View Post
I have already gotten everything on my account where I need it for my pre-order later this evening (3am for me). Let me fill you in on what I did. This won't work for everyone, so please don't hold me to this:

Current plan:
2 iPhone 4 devices
Verizon Nationwide Family Share Talk & Text (Account Level Pricing) - $80
Unlimited 3G Data on both - 2 x $29.99
Line access fees: 2 x $9.99
Total: $159.96 pre-tax, pre-discount

My biggest issue with upgrading on my line is that I wanted to keep my unlimited data. Here's my solution:
1. Add extra line using an old flip-phone I had laying around (Samsung Convoy) - $9.99 extra per month on family plan (bringing your own equipment means NO contract!)
2. Preorder iPhone 5 on new line, add 2GB/$30 data plan
3. Activate iPhone 5 on line, then re-activate Convoy
4. Drop data plan from line Convoy is on now
5. Activate iPhone 5 on my personal line.

We were looking to get a home phone anyways, but our cable company was trying to charge us more money than we were looking to spend. Using these steps, I'll have a brand-spankin' new iPhone 5 with unlimited data and an extra line to use as our home phone.
This is exactly what I want to do. I have old flip phone sitting around, how come you said it won't work for everyone? I was planning on adding the line today with the existing phone (should only be $9.99) and then preordering an iPhone with that line. After it arrives, I should be able to just switch the phones on each line and cancel the data plan. Also, I shouldn't be switched to the Share Everything plan, since I already have two smartphones on this account (only one is eligible for an upgrade)

I just feel like I've heard two contradicting things about adding a line and am hoping someone can clear this up.
Link2430 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:20 PM   #54
CoolBradG
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Not sure about the method above.
CoolBradG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:24 PM   #55
Chrisbkreme
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I have multiple lines on a family account, nation wide talk and text, not the new shared. One of my phones has an upgrade, it is already on the 2GB data plan, can I upgrade that phone to the iPhone 5 without changing to family share, then switch it to my line with unlimited data? Or can I just choose the "transfer upgrade" option on the verizon website when I order it?
__________________
13'' 2011 Macbook Air i7 256gb SSD; 16GB iPad 2; 32GB Verizon iPhone 4; 27'' LED Thunderbolt Display; 64GB Verizon iPhone 4S
Chrisbkreme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:28 PM   #56
CoolBradG
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisbkreme View Post
I have multiple lines on a family account, nation wide talk and text, not the new shared. One of my phones has an upgrade, it is already on the 2GB data plan, can I upgrade that phone to the iPhone 5 without changing to family share, then switch it to my line with unlimited data? Or can I just choose the "transfer upgrade" option on the verizon website when I order it?
If the line already has the 2GB data plan you won't be forced to upgrade to family shared.
CoolBradG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:31 PM   #57
aohus
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: sky
so it's pretty much an extra $9.99 / month per phone? Since you have to have the dumbphone line active right?
aohus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:31 PM   #58
Chrisbkreme
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolBradG View Post
If the line already has the 2GB data plan you won't be forced to upgrade to family shared.
So do I need to order it on the one with the 2GB, activate it, then switch it to my unlimited line? Or can I just choose the transfer upgrade option on the website? Thanks.
__________________
13'' 2011 Macbook Air i7 256gb SSD; 16GB iPad 2; 32GB Verizon iPhone 4; 27'' LED Thunderbolt Display; 64GB Verizon iPhone 4S
Chrisbkreme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:34 PM   #59
NovemberWhiskey
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2009
I'm not even sure you need a dumbphone, or need to actually activate the iphone on the dumbphone line and then switch.

To my understanding, and from my past experience, you can use any upgrade available to get the new phone at a subsidized price. Once you actually receive the phone, you can activate it on any line.

I've done this before without any problems with regard to my unlimited data plan, but that was before the new policy regarding unlimited data and the tiered family share plans. However, I don't see how the changes would affect their activation/upgrade policy.

I'll update again once I do it this time around.
NovemberWhiskey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:39 PM   #60
SipperyPete
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovemberWhiskey View Post
I'm not even sure you need a dumbphone, or need to actually activate the iphone on the dumbphone line and then switch.

To my understanding, and from my past experience, you can use any upgrade available to get the new phone at a subsidized price. Once you actually receive the phone, you can activate it on any line.

I've done this before without any problems with regard to my unlimited data plan, but that was before the new policy regarding unlimited data and the tiered family share plans. However, I don't see how the changes would affect their activation/upgrade policy.

I'll update again once I do it this time around.
This is correct...according to Apple anyway. They told me to just order the new phone using the phone number where the upgrade is eligible, and as soon as I receive it, call VZW to have it activated on the correct line. This is how I'm going about it and I'll also provide an update on how it goes...

Cheers!
SipperyPete is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:51 PM   #61
browerjs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
So I'm going to be getting two iPhone 5's tonight, one for my wife, one for myself.

She uses nowhere near 2GB of data a month, so for her I'll just do a standard upgrade from VZW (and save $50 using some promotion on our account). My dad has a dumb phone on the account, and no intention to upgrade anytime soon, so I'll order my upgrade on his line. When I get the iPhone 5, just call VZW to activate it on my line.

Now if he does want to upgrade at some point, he'll have to use my upgrade, will I lose my unlimited data at that point?
browerjs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:53 PM   #62
WeenNC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
My question is what happens to the upgrades. I currently have 5 phones (2 smart, 3 dumb). All 5 phones have upgrades available. If I use the 2 dumb upgrades to get the 2 smart phones upgraded while keeping the unlimited plan, does that mean that both the 2 dumb phones and the 2 smart phones lose their upgrade availability in the process?
WeenNC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:53 PM   #63
SipperyPete
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by browerjs View Post
So I'm going to be getting two iPhone 5's tonight, one for my wife, one for myself.

She uses nowhere near 2GB of data a month, so for her I'll just do a standard upgrade from VZW (and save $50 using some promotion on our account). My dad has a dumb phone on the account, and no intention to upgrade anytime soon, so I'll order my upgrade on his line. When I get the iPhone 5, just call VZW to activate it on my line.

Now if he does want to upgrade at some point, he'll have to use my upgrade, will I lose my unlimited data at that point?
I would assume as long as you just get another dumb phone, there will be no need to add/modify a data plan.
SipperyPete is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:54 PM   #64
browerjs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SipperyPete View Post
I would assume as long as you just get another dumb phone, there will be no need to add/modify a data plan.
If he would eventually upgrade he'd get a smart phone...
browerjs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:57 PM   #65
johnothy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovemberWhiskey View Post
I'm not even sure you need a dumbphone, or need to actually activate the iphone on the dumbphone line and then switch.

To my understanding, and from my past experience, you can use any upgrade available to get the new phone at a subsidized price. Once you actually receive the phone, you can activate it on any line.

I've done this before without any problems with regard to my unlimited data plan, but that was before the new policy regarding unlimited data and the tiered family share plans. However, I don't see how the changes would affect their activation/upgrade policy.

I'll update again once I do it this time around.
You probably need to activate the phone on the line you used to upgrade with and add a 2GB for $30 data plan to it. Then swap it with your unlimited line and put a regular phone back on the line that had the upgrade and the 2GB data plan will go off.
johnothy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:18 PM   #66
aohus
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: sky
just got off the phone with a VZW rep. OP is RIGHT. This works, and they actually openly condone this practice.

what vzw rep said:

'once we found out about this we let our customers know.' also, once you cancel the 2GB plan (that was upgraded from the dumb phone line) they give you credit back. so you don't even have to pay for the first month of the plan.

i swear the rep was like your average techie forum poster.
aohus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:22 PM   #67
mkw5053
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore
I currently have a family plan with 5 unlimited data smartphones. Two are due for an upgrade. Anyway I can keep my unlimited data without having to pay full retail?

Thank you!
mkw5053 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:24 PM   #68
The Mad Mule
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolBradG View Post
Requirements
-Grandfathered family plan
-Upgrade Available (Transfer and use on dumb phone)
-At least 1 dumb phone line

Basically you use the dummy line to get the subsidized pricing and add on the basic 2GB data plan. Then once you get the iPhone you switch it to your unlimited data line and put the dumb phone back to its line and cancel the data plan since it's no longer needed.
So is there a fee for canceling the data plan? And I assume the dummy phone line won't be deactivated as soon as you place the order? I only ask because I plan on doing this with my parent's phone, and it would suck if their phone stopped working for a week.

* And I'm assuming we're talking about ordering through Apple here.
__________________
early 2011 13" MBP
iPad Air (32GB)
iPhone 5 (32GB)
The Mad Mule is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:32 PM   #69
webworks415
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Question for those who know what they are talking about and not just assuming like aohus.

If I swapped a smartphone for a dumbphone on a new line and remove data plan, would the ETF be the smartphone price ($350), or the regular price ($175) ....since I would be on a basic line. I'm assuming it would be smartphone ETF but it doesn't hurt to ask, and maybe save more money than letting the contract ride out.
webworks415 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:34 PM   #70
CoolBradG
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Mule View Post
So is there a fee for canceling the data plan? And I assume the dummy phone line won't be deactivated as soon as you place the order? I only ask because I plan on doing this with my parent's phone, and it would suck if their phone stopped working for a week.

* And I'm assuming we're talking about ordering through Apple here.
No fee to cancel data plan, old phone won't deactivate until you receive the new iPhone. However when you receive the iPhone you'll just activate it on the unlimited line. Their phones won't stop working.

No, you'd be ordering through Verizon because you have to move the upgrade to a dumb phone line.
CoolBradG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:34 PM   #71
infinity12402
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Mule View Post
So is there a fee for canceling the data plan? And I assume the dummy phone line won't be deactivated as soon as you place the order? I only ask because I plan on doing this with my parent's phone, and it would suck if their phone stopped working for a week.

* And I'm assuming we're talking about ordering through Apple here.
my friend just asked me the same exact question. dont be offended by the way i answer, cause i said the same exact thing to him. how would they just turn off your phone for a week like that? that doesnt even make sense. of course the phone will stay on. nothing happens until you activate the phone on what ever line you want
infinity12402 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:36 PM   #72
CoolBradG
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkw5053 View Post
I currently have a family plan with 5 unlimited data smartphones. Two are due for an upgrade. Anyway I can keep my unlimited data without having to pay full retail?

Thank you!
Nope. Unfortunately since they're all unlimited already you're out of luck. The lines will all be forced into the $30 2GB.
CoolBradG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:48 PM   #73
HeyGreggie
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by webworks415 View Post
Question for those who know what they are talking about and not just assuming like aohus.

If I swapped a smartphone for a dumbphone on a new line and remove data plan, would the ETF be the smartphone price ($350), or the regular price ($175) ....since I would be on a basic line. I'm assuming it would be smartphone ETF but it doesn't hurt to ask, and maybe save more money than letting the contract ride out.
You would pay $399 on a two year new contract basic line or smartphone line it doesnt change.

I'm paying $399 for mine to put on another plan. Goal is to CALL verizon and do this and not worry about the inernet site crashing, or worst of all... picking the wrong deal and LOSING my unlimited data.

Luckily I've bugged them all day to the point they've noted EVERY word I've said and when I call at 5-6am, everything should be "push to start" for the 21st.
HeyGreggie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:48 PM   #74
The Mad Mule
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolBradG View Post
No fee to cancel data plan, old phone won't deactivate until you receive the new iPhone. However when you receive the iPhone you'll just activate it on the unlimited line. Their phones won't stop working.

No, you'd be ordering through Verizon because you have to move the upgrade to a dumb phone line.
If Verizon lists both the smartphone and the dummy phone as eligible for upgrades, can't you order the iP5 through the dummy phone's number on Apple at the same discount and then once it comes, switch things over through Verizon's website?

Quote:
Originally Posted by infinity12402 View Post
my friend just asked me the same exact question. dont be offended by the way i answer, cause i said the same exact thing to him. how would they just turn off your phone for a week like that? that doesnt even make sense. of course the phone will stay on. nothing happens until you activate the phone on what ever line you want
Yeah that would be pretty stupid.
__________________
early 2011 13" MBP
iPad Air (32GB)
iPhone 5 (32GB)
The Mad Mule is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 02:57 PM   #75
Mortalias
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Yeah, I was planning to preorder through Apple tonight, just selecting the dumb phone as the line to upgrade. It shouldn't have to be ordered through Verizon, right?
__________________
iPhone 6 32GB Space Gray, 13" Retina MacBook Pro, Retina iPad mini, and AAPL stock owner.
Mortalias is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon unlimited data loophole still open? rileyb76 iPhone 13 Dec 23, 2013 09:42 PM
Verizon Unlimited Data Upgrade Loophole Shipping hockeyman94 iPhone 13 Oct 16, 2013 08:58 AM
Is Verizon Unlimited Data Loophole working? kjay80 iPhone 12 Sep 14, 2013 09:25 PM
Another way to keep your Verizon unlimited?! NEW loophole. jetlitheone iPhone 2 Sep 23, 2012 09:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC