Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 14, 2012, 10:07 AM   #76
steve2112
macrumors 68040
 
steve2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
Quote:
Originally Posted by class77 View Post
Steve, do you know anything about CSpire throttling their unlimited video streaming service? I read some complaints about on their site and I don't want to walk into that kind of drama. I'll pay for what I'll use, no problem, but don't tell me it's unlimited and then throttle it.
Aside from the lack of phones, this is the other thing that ticked me off with them. When they did the name change, they also changed their plans. It used to be unlimited data, period. Now, they advertise these cheap plans with "unlimited data", but there's a catch: they don't include streaming media. They do offer unlimited data plans with unlimited streaming, but of course, they cost more. It was their attempt to push more expensive plans on people.

I am still grandfathered under one of the old plans, which is another reason I haven't switched. The plan I have is 500 minutes, with unlimited text and data for $60. The same plan under the new structure is $80. The unlimited everything is $100. The thing is, when I looked at Verizon, a plan with only 4GB of data was $100, which is why I haven't switched yet.

Edit: Just wanted to add that I haven't heard of them throttling plans with the unlimited streaming.
__________________
He's wise enough to win the world, but fool enough to lose it.

Last edited by steve2112; Sep 14, 2012 at 10:24 AM.
steve2112 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:33 AM   #77
parallelist
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Cricket Unlocked for International Use?

If anyone has confirmed whether the iPhone 5 will be unlocked for international use on Cricket, please let us know.
parallelist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:18 PM   #78
usarioclave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ye

Quote:
Originally Posted by parallelist View Post
If anyone has confirmed whether the iPhone 5 will be unlocked for international use on Cricket, please let us know.
Just talked to in-store, online, and phone CSRs and the iPhone 5 is internationally unlocked.

They didn't know if it was domestically unlocked, a la verizon.
usarioclave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 02:12 AM   #79
usarioclave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Unlocked

I just stuffed a cut-down international sim card into the cricket phone, and it roamed to AT&T and T-Mobile fine. I stuck a cut down AT&T sim, and the phone was stuck on "searching."

I think that means that it's unlocked internationally, and locked down domestically. Oh well.
usarioclave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 11:15 PM   #80
kevincredible
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by usarioclave View Post
I just stuffed a cut-down international sim card into the cricket phone, and it roamed to AT&T and T-Mobile fine. I stuck a cut down AT&T sim, and the phone was stuck on "searching."

I think that means that it's unlocked internationally, and locked down domestically. Oh well.
I just cut down my UK Vodafone SIM card and put it in a Cricket iPhone 5 whilst in the US...it seems to be searching for a carrier constantly so it can't be used in roaming mode whilst in the US. The Cricket cust support says that it will work outside of the US. I will be going there in a few days so we'll see.
kevincredible is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 11:32 AM   #81
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by usarioclave View Post
I just stuffed a cut-down international sim card into the cricket phone, and it roamed to AT&T and T-Mobile fine. I stuck a cut down AT&T sim, and the phone was stuck on "searching."

I think that means that it's unlocked internationally, and locked down domestically. Oh well.
Is that phone an iPhone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I just cut down my UK Vodafone SIM card and put it in a Cricket iPhone 5 whilst in the US...it seems to be searching for a carrier constantly so it can't be used in roaming mode whilst in the US. The Cricket cust support says that it will work outside of the US. I will be going there in a few days so we'll see.
Ah... it sounds not good... have you tried that abroad? I have ordered an iPhone 5 from cricket, too and I also have to use it overseas, waiting for your answer...

Last edited by ouchyoung; Oct 4, 2012 at 12:39 PM.
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:39 PM   #82
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by usarioclave View Post
Just talked to in-store, online, and phone CSRs and the iPhone 5 is internationally unlocked.

They didn't know if it was domestically unlocked, a la verizon.
Who did you talk to? Apple or Cricket? :-) Thanks!
ouchyoung is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 11:30 AM   #83
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
iPhone 5 from Cricket is not able to roam domestic?

Just called the customer service and the representative told me that this phone is not even able to roam domestic because the iPhone only works on their own network, and they don't have their network covered everywhere, the roaming devices will work on their partner network, like Sprint... WTF!
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2012, 03:10 PM   #84
kevincredible
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by ouchyoung View Post
Just called the customer service and the representative told me that this phone is not even able to roam domestic because the iPhone only works on their own network, and they don't have their network covered everywhere, the roaming devices will work on their partner network, like Sprint... WTF!
I am now in the UK and put in a Vodafone UK GSM nano sim card. It still keeps saying Searching... The SIM is not faulty as it works in an officially unlocked iPhone here.

Not sure what to do with this "Searching..." status in the carrier bar. Anyone else have any luck
kevincredible is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2012, 05:17 PM   #85
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I am now in the UK and put in a Vodafone UK GSM nano sim card. It still keeps saying Searching... The SIM is not faulty as it works in an officially unlocked iPhone here.

Not sure what to do with this "Searching..." status in the carrier bar. Anyone else have any luck
Ah... Not good, it seems it‘s locked even outside the US. Have you called the Cricket customer service for solutions? They promised me that the phone shall be unlocked outside the US when I was placing the order via telephone. Hmm... Maybe you can call Cricket for a solution.

And I will return my phone which still remains in original seal.

BTW, somebody said that you may need a full reset of the device for using it with another carrier, have you tried with that?

To reset: by holding the sleep and home button for about 10sec, until the Apple logo comes back again.

Or this:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4137


Crossing my figures waiting for your reply...

Last edited by ouchyoung; Oct 8, 2012 at 04:54 PM.
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2012, 07:11 PM   #86
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by usarioclave View Post
Does anyone know if Cricket will have their GSM side unlocked?
It's LOCKED! All the sales and CSRs are trained to answer that way. And it's proven by a guy here

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-O View Post
the 4s is currently SIM unlocked for international roaming. i would imagine the 5 will be also.
Then you are disappointed. The iPhone 5 from Cricket is locked on both GSM and CDMA
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 04:12 PM   #87
narendemon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I am now in the UK and put in a Vodafone UK GSM nano sim card. It still keeps saying Searching... The SIM is not faulty as it works in an officially unlocked iPhone here.

Not sure what to do with this "Searching..." status in the carrier bar. Anyone else have any luck
hi.. i ve heard tht the iphone 5s get unlocked if u restore it in the itunes.. can u just try tht out n let us know if ur cricket iphone 5 is working in UK.. i was gonna buy the phone from cricket today, after seeing this post im having second thoughts.. so pls try doing a restore n let us know if it works..
awaiting ur response with fingers crossed
narendemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 06:25 PM   #88
kevincredible
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by narendemon View Post
hi.. i ve heard tht the iphone 5s get unlocked if u restore it in the itunes.. can u just try tht out n let us know if ur cricket iphone 5 is working in UK.. i was gonna buy the phone from cricket today, after seeing this post im having second thoughts.. so pls try doing a restore n let us know if it works..
awaiting ur response with fingers crossed
I have tried a restore and wiped the phone. Went through setup and activation process and the phone is still saying "Searching...".

I actually don't think the phone is locked for GSM worldwide because it would have said something like "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported. Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier store." Mine doesn't say that when I put the SIM card in it.

Also when I go into Settings > General > About, under carrier it says Vodafone UK 13.0. So it's reading the SIM.

I've spoken to numerous Cricket support staff and they all say that it's unlocked for GSM networks.

Anyone else have any luck??

Last edited by kevincredible; Oct 8, 2012 at 06:28 PM. Reason: Additional comments
kevincredible is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 08:18 PM   #89
natalie1981
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I have tried a restore and wiped the phone. Went through setup and activation process and the phone is still saying "Searching...".

I actually don't think the phone is locked for GSM worldwide because it would have said something like "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported. Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier store." Mine doesn't say that when I put the SIM card in it.

Also when I go into Settings > General > About, under carrier it says Vodafone UK 13.0. So it's reading the SIM.

I've spoken to numerous Cricket support staff and they all say that it's unlocked for GSM networks.

Anyone else have any luck??
Try toggling off the 3g see if it could get into 2g network. Then toggle on/off airplane mode.

Anyone have any idea if I could get this online? I know only a few cities are supported but if I put in a supported city as my billing address, would it be possible to ship to a non-supported city?
__________________
Cellphone Reviews
natalie1981 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 08:30 PM   #90
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I have tried a restore and wiped the phone. Went through setup and activation process and the phone is still saying "Searching...".

I actually don't think the phone is locked for GSM worldwide because it would have said something like "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported. Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier store." Mine doesn't say that when I put the SIM card in it.

Also when I go into Settings > General > About, under carrier it says Vodafone UK 13.0. So it's reading the SIM.

I've spoken to numerous Cricket support staff and they all say that it's unlocked for GSM networks.

Anyone else have any luck??
That's wired... But I think your phone should have been activated at the first time, correct?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie1981 View Post
Try toggling off the 3g see if it could get into 2g network. Then toggle on/off airplane mode.

Anyone have any idea if I could get this online? I know only a few cities are supported but if I put in a supported city as my billing address, would it be possible to ship to a non-supported city?
I can answer your second question, YES! I did that, they shipped me the device to a city they don't sell iPhone 5.
ouchyoung is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 09:02 PM   #91
natalie1981
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ouchyoung View Post
That's wired... But I think your phone should have been activated at the first time, correct?

----------


I don't think it needs to be activated. If indeed the GSM is unlocked, just pop in an international sim and you're good to go, at least, that's what happened to a sealed Verizon iPhone 5 I bought.

Quote:
I can answer your second question, YES! I did that, they shipped me the device to a city they don't sell iPhone 5.
Thanks for the reply, that's good to know but do I have to pay the first month's line rental for Cricket or could I just cancel immediately?
natalie1981 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 11:01 PM   #92
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by natalie1981 View Post
I don't think it needs to be activated. If indeed the GSM is unlocked, just pop in an international sim and you're good to go, at least, that's what happened to a sealed Verizon iPhone 5 I bought.


Thanks for the reply, that's good to know but do I have to pay the first month's line rental for Cricket or could I just cancel immediately?
I meant his phone has been activated already, as he brought his phone to UK from US.

It's not able to be waived, you have to pay for it.
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 12:08 AM   #93
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I have tried a restore and wiped the phone. Went through setup and activation process and the phone is still saying "Searching...".

I actually don't think the phone is locked for GSM worldwide because it would have said something like "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported. Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier store." Mine doesn't say that when I put the SIM card in it.

Also when I go into Settings > General > About, under carrier it says Vodafone UK 13.0. So it's reading the SIM.

I've spoken to numerous Cricket support staff and they all say that it's unlocked for GSM networks.

Anyone else have any luck??
I just searched around the net and found that many Chinese encountered this problem since iPhone 4, the device can read information from the SIM card, and you can see the phone number in iTunes and on the phone, but you can not just connect to the cellular network. Or you cannot make any phone call even if it has been reporting a good signal status.

However, Somebody finally figured out the reason, reported that it's due to the individual compatibility between the specific combination of card and iPhone, they replaced the SIM card with another one (the sells would like to lend their own card to you for testing in China :-)), even from the same carrier, the phone worked normally at once the new card was popped in. And after requesting a new SIM with the same number, their phones recovered without any modification.

And somebody succeeded with this by another method: popping out and popping in the SIM card time and time again...

Maybe you should bring your phone to a Vodafone store, or another carrier? I think they should be glad to help you for trying that out :-)

Crossing my fingers waiting for you answer ...

Last edited by ouchyoung; Oct 9, 2012 at 12:36 AM.
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 12:39 AM   #94
narendemon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ouchyoung View Post
I just searched around the net and found that many Chinese encountered this problem since iPhone 4, the device can read information from the SIM card, and you can see the phone number in iTunes and on the phone, but you can not just connect to the cellular network. Or you cannot make any phone call even if it has been reporting a good signal status.

However, Somebody finally figured out the reason, reported that it's due to the individual compatibility between the specific combination of card and iPhone, they replaced the SIM card with another one (the sells would like to lend their own card to you for testing in China :-)), even from the same carrier, the phone worked normally at once the new card was popped in. And after requesting a new SIM with the same number, their phones recovered without any modification.

And somebody succeeded with this by another method: popping out and popping in the SIM card time and time again...

Maybe you should bring your phone to a Vodafone store, or another carrier? I think they should be glad to help you for trying that out :-)

Crossing my fingers waiting for you answer ...
wat do u mean by getting a compatible sim.. all sim cards r just the same..
is nt it ??
i was gonna buy the cricket phone n bring in to india n use it here :-/
hope kevincredible finds a solution soon... i gotta plan to catch in a few days !
narendemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 12:58 AM   #95
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by narendemon View Post
wat do u mean by getting a compatible sim.. all sim cards r just the same..
is nt it ??
i was gonna buy the cricket phone n bring in to india n use it here :-/
hope kevincredible finds a solution soon... i gotta plan to catch in a few days !
Yes, they are supposed to be all the same, but I think there would be some minor differences among those cards, which may lead to worse or better connections between phone and card, that's why somebody succeeded to make phone call with popping out and popping in the cards.
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 01:14 AM   #96
narendemon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
dammit.. wer am i gonna get such a sim card.. the iphone 5 is nt even launched officially in my country yet !.

do u know atleast if the phone can be unlocked manually ?
i mean every iphone in the past was unlocked eventually after jailbreaking...
narendemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 02:52 AM   #97
narendemon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
okay.. i called cricket wireless customer care now .. n they said the phone is GSM unlocked for international carrier .. and u will be able to use it overseas ..
narendemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 04:43 AM   #98
kevincredible
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
I activated the phone with Cricket in the US already and I brought it to the UK. That's when it didn't work and kept saying "Searching..." when I put in the Vodafone UK SIM card.

I then restored the phone and went through the setup and activation process. That's when I experienced the same issues.

Will be going to Vodafone and check with them. Will also try other networks here.

Last resort, I will be taking it to my Apple store for them to diagnose it.
kevincredible is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 06:04 AM   #99
narendemon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
okay.. hoping to get a word from u soon...
also try reset network settings n stuffs..

they told me its gsm unlocked for international carriers.
so it had to work... see if u have inserted the sim properly ,
n also try switching from airplane mode n then to normal mode..
narendemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 09:53 AM   #100
ouchyoung
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevincredible View Post
I activated the phone with Cricket in the US already and I brought it to the UK. That's when it didn't work and kept saying "Searching..." when I put in the Vodafone UK SIM card.

I then restored the phone and went through the setup and activation process. That's when I experienced the same issues.

Will be going to Vodafone and check with them. Will also try other networks here.

Last resort, I will be taking it to my Apple store for them to diagnose it.
You great man!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by narendemon View Post
okay.. i called cricket wireless customer care now .. n they said the phone is GSM unlocked for international carrier .. and u will be able to use it overseas ..
Just activate it before going back...
ouchyoung is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mass Production of 4.7-Inch iPhone 6 Set for July, 5.5-Inch Version Beginning in September MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 269 Apr 18, 2014 11:39 PM
Boost Mobile to Offer iPhone 5s and 5c with $100 Discounts Beginning November 8 MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 20 Nov 3, 2013 12:49 AM
Cricket to Offer iPhone 5s and iPhone 5c Starting October 25 MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 8 Oct 20, 2013 08:07 PM
RadioShack to Offer No-Contract Virgin Mobile iPhone 5 Beginning Tomorrow MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 19 Jul 5, 2013 01:09 PM
Apple Staffing Up for iPhone 5 Pre-orders Beginning on Morning of Friday, September 14? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 205 Sep 17, 2012 10:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC