Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2012, 12:00 PM   #1
Captainobvvious
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Does using maps for GPS use data in iOS6?

I use the TomTom app now and the maps are all loaded onto the phone and thus doesn't use any of my data... Does iOS 6 do this or does using my phone as a turn by turn GPS suck up my data plan?

Thanks
Captainobvvious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 12:12 PM   #2
Zimmy68
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'm pretty sure.

I used the Maps turn by turn to drive to Cape Cod (a little less then 2 hours).
It worked great.

The next day I got a warning email from AT&T that I was about 90% of my data allowance.

I have never been more then 50 before.

I would be careful using it for long trips, or don't leave it running on long highways.
Zimmy68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 12:47 PM   #3
Captainobvvious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I will have to stick with the TomTom app then...

It would be nice if they would give us the option of loading the map data locally. I would love to be able to use Siri to control the Tom Tom app but it doesn't seem like that's going to be an option any time soon.

Oh well.
Captainobvvious is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:06 PM   #4
iKIKO
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
actually on ios 5 it had data cache. i traveled to europe last winter, and in the morning before got out from the hotel, i used to preload the map from all the area i knew i was going to be visiting. and it worked very well, the map were stored on the cache.

for the gps signal it doesnt need data, the data is for download the maps, but once you ''downloaded'' it doesnt need the data anymore
__________________
iPhone 5 32g Slate
iPad Mini 32g Slate
Macbook Pro 15 2.2 i7 / 16g Ram / 250 SSD
iKIKO is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:13 PM   #5
Captainobvvious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I would imagine that its both temporary and small.

Its nice and everything but I don't want to have to micromanage my maps... I travel a lot...

It would be so awesome to be able to locally store the maps.
Captainobvvious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 07:07 PM   #6
scott523
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
I was afraid of it using too much data. Looks like I'll have to keep my Garmin app on standby for my trip to Canada on Monday. Will update on how well that goes.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" Retina | 2.3GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD | Yosemite/Win7
iPhone 5S | 32GB | AT&T | iOS 8
iPad Air | 32GB | AT&T | iOS 8
scott523 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 07:10 PM   #7
faroZ06
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKIKO View Post
actually on ios 5 it had data cache. i traveled to europe last winter, and in the morning before got out from the hotel, i used to preload the map from all the area i knew i was going to be visiting. and it worked very well, the map were stored on the cache.

for the gps signal it doesnt need data, the data is for download the maps, but once you ''downloaded'' it doesnt need the data anymore
That's interesting. So if you were going to go on a long trip, could you just hop on wifi then move through the route to let the maps load? And will it stay on there forever? This should be an automated feature.
faroZ06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 07:10 AM   #8
iKIKO
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by faroZ06 View Post
That's interesting. So if you were going to go on a long trip, could you just hop on wifi then move through the route to let the maps load? And will it stay on there forever? This should be an automated feature.
Yeah thats how it works, not forever but at least for one day. I did it several times while traveled around europe. Zoomed in all the area i knew i was going to be traveling
__________________
iPhone 5 32g Slate
iPad Mini 32g Slate
Macbook Pro 15 2.2 i7 / 16g Ram / 250 SSD
iKIKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 07:35 AM   #9
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimmy68 View Post
I'm pretty sure.

I used the Maps turn by turn to drive to Cape Cod (a little less then 2 hours).
It worked great.

The next day I got a warning email from AT&T that I was about 90% of my data allowance.

I have never been more then 50 before.

I would be careful using it for long trips, or don't leave it running on long highways.
There is no way that this correlates. I have used it on 2 hour drives and never been warned. Its a minimal amount of data used.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
Warbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 07:42 AM   #10
Menel
macrumors 68040
 
Menel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captainobvvious View Post
I use the TomTom app now and the maps are all loaded onto the phone and thus doesn't use any of my data... Does iOS 6 do this or does using my phone as a turn by turn GPS suck up my data plan?

Thanks
It sucks up your dataplan in real time.

But by suck, I mean sips. New Apple/iOS6 maps are vertex based rather than bitmap. Data use, in theory, should be minuscule in comparison.
__________________
iPhone 5, iPad Air TMo, Mac mini i5
Menel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 08:38 AM   #11
faroZ06
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
How big is this TomTom app? If it has maps preloaded, it must be a big file.
faroZ06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 01:59 PM   #12
iMrNiceGuy0023
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by faroZ06 View Post
How big is this TomTom app? If it has maps preloaded, it must be a big file.
The Tom Tom app is a little over a gig
iMrNiceGuy0023 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 6

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maps/Google Maps vs 3rd Party GPS Apps lewisb1 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jan 8, 2014 09:39 AM
Does Google Maps on iPhone consume more data and battery life than Apple Maps? saintforlife iPhone 1 Jan 9, 2013 01:25 AM
Apple Maps GPS vs Google Maps GPS - My Thoughts thomamon iPhone and iPod touch Apps 6 Jan 4, 2013 03:22 PM
Amazon Maps? Better looking than iOS6 Maps? Carlanga iOS 6 10 Jul 3, 2012 05:47 PM
iOS6 Maps using TomTom map data jnl1211 iOS 6 0 Jun 11, 2012 06:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC