Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2012, 03:56 AM   #76
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Did you do that terminal command?

You pm'd me via Ebay but better if answers go public
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 07:04 AM   #77
nadeama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
When I first tried the GTX 660 in my Mac Pro with OS 10.8.2, I constantly got a kernel panic during bootup. It only worked after I first installed the Nvidia web drivers.

Should any installation of 10.8.2 work, or might there be some reason why the Apple drivers would not have been installed on my system? Do I need to download and install the 10.8.2 combo update? I'd like to try the card with Apple drivers to see if it fixes the display sleep problem.
nadeama is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 07:42 AM   #78
beto2k7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ::1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Did you do that terminal command?

You pm'd me via Ebay but better if answers go public
Attached a screenshot of command results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-10-04 at 6.41.05 AM.png
Views:	188
Size:	197.2 KB
ID:	366311  
__________________
2010 Mac Pro | 2 x 2.40 GHz| 24Gb RAM | 3x2TB RAID0 | GTX 570 | 27" ALCD |
iPad 2 16Gb wifi+3G |
iPhone 4S 32Gb Unlocked |
beto2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:18 AM   #79
ohmkumi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
sorry!! 2008 macpro 3,1
1. Can use eVGA GTX570 ?
2. no more power supply.
3. Can Run Windows. (want to play Battle Field3)

Thank for Answer.
ohmkumi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:40 AM   #80
jhero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Not near an Apple Store
15) is not entirely correct - GTX 670 on a MP 3,1 and even with new nvidia drivers, still no pcie2. Tried slot 1 and 2
__________________
| jhero | 1.5GHz PB G4 | 1.5GB DDR | 15"
jhero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:03 PM   #81
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohmkumi View Post
sorry!! 2008 macpro 3,1
1. Can use eVGA GTX570 ?
2. no more power supply.
3. Can Run Windows. (want to play Battle Field3)

Thank for Answer.
1) Yes, I have a EVGA GTX 570 2.5GB flashed from MVC, but a stock PC one works also.
2) The 570 fits perfect without external power supply.
3) I play BF3 on Ultra with 1920x1200 solution - works great!
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:08 PM   #82
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto2k7 View Post
So I put my old apple GT 120 inside:

1. GT 120 + apple drivers = display sleep works
2. GT 120 + nvidia drivers = display sleep works.
3. GTX 570 + apple drivers = display sleep works, slow graphics performance
4. GTX 570 + nvidia drivers = display sleep broken, better graphics performance.

Currently I'm using a display port to miniDisplay Port to connect my 24 Apple Cinema Display. So two options, either the adapter or the card itself. Will be contacting MacVidCars asap to get this solved out.
There's nothing MVC can do to fix this, assuming it's some kind of new driver bug. All you can do is wait and hope it gets fixed by NVIDIA. In the mean time, just turn your monitor on/off manually perhaps?
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:15 PM   #83
beto2k7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ::1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
There's nothing MVC can do to fix this, assuming it's some kind of new driver bug. All you can do is wait and hope it gets fixed by NVIDIA. In the mean time, just turn your monitor on/off manually perhaps?
No power button on an Apple Cinema Display.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro | 2 x 2.40 GHz| 24Gb RAM | 3x2TB RAID0 | GTX 570 | 27" ALCD |
iPad 2 16Gb wifi+3G |
iPhone 4S 32Gb Unlocked |
beto2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:16 PM   #84
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto2k7 View Post
No power button on an Apple Cinema Display.
Disconnect or plug the power cable out...
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:24 PM   #85
omegat3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadeama View Post
When I first tried the GTX 660 in my Mac Pro with OS 10.8.2, I constantly got a kernel panic during bootup. It only worked after I first installed the Nvidia web drivers.

Should any installation of 10.8.2 work, or might there be some reason why the Apple drivers would not have been installed on my system? Do I need to download and install the 10.8.2 combo update? I'd like to try the card with Apple drivers to see if it fixes the display sleep problem.
I had a similar experience with the EVGA GTX 660 2GB... kernel panics during bootup, but then worked once I installed the latest NVIDIA drivers from the web. Ran it for the full day in Bootcamp (Win7), but then when I booted back into OSX 10.8.2 I was getting Kernel Panics again about 30 minutes after boot-up, which would shut down the machine (Mac Pro 3,1 dual quad 2.8). Tried re-seating the card and re-installing the drivers. Finally gave up and am returning it, with the intention of trying a 660ti when one goes on sale. Is your machine stable outside of the display sleep issue? I had tried a GTX 560 earlier, but that card wouldn't properly wake from sleep properly.
omegat3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 12:41 PM   #86
beto2k7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ::1
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Disconnect or plug the power cable out...
yeah that's kind of annoying...I mean for a $550 card.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by omegat3 View Post
I had a similar experience with the EVGA GTX 660 2GB... kernel panics during bootup, but then worked once I installed the latest NVIDIA drivers from the web. Ran it for the full day in Bootcamp (Win7), but then when I booted back into OSX 10.8.2 I was getting Kernel Panics again about 30 minutes after boot-up, which would shut down the machine (Mac Pro 3,1 dual quad 2.8). Tried re-seating the card and re-installing the drivers. Finally gave up and am returning it, with the intention of trying a 660ti when one goes on sale. Is your machine stable outside of the display sleep issue? I had tried a GTX 560 earlier, but that card wouldn't properly wake from sleep properly.
other than the display sleep issue my machine is rock solid
__________________
2010 Mac Pro | 2 x 2.40 GHz| 24Gb RAM | 3x2TB RAID0 | GTX 570 | 27" ALCD |
iPad 2 16Gb wifi+3G |
iPhone 4S 32Gb Unlocked |

Last edited by beto2k7; Oct 4, 2012 at 01:12 PM.
beto2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 02:46 PM   #87
Vermootin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carmel CA
Send a message via Skype™ to Vermootin
Figured I would register here just to add that I'm running a 2009 4,1 Mac Pro with an EVGA 670 FTW 2Gig card that has worked with 10.8 all the way to 10.8.2.

Run Steam on the Mac side as well as CS6 and everything seems to work fine (aside from being limited to 2 screens).

Run Steam on the Windows 7 side and enjoy the "nView" 3 screen gaming on 3 Samsung 2343bwx screens at the odd 6144x1156 res. If there is other information I need to provide let me know.
Vermootin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 07:16 PM   #88
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto2k7 View Post
yeah that's kind of annoying...I mean for a $550 card.
... that is not officially supported. Right? I get that it's annoying, but you should probably just be glad that the card works as well as it does. Hopefully it'll be fixed in a subsequent release.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vermootin View Post
Run Steam on the Mac side as well as CS6 and everything seems to work fine (aside from being limited to 2 screens).
Try the latest driver from NVIDIA for 10.8.2, I hear it removes the 2 screen limitation.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 11:49 PM   #89
Vermootin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carmel CA
Send a message via Skype™ to Vermootin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath
Try the latest driver from NVIDIA for 10.8.2, I hear it removes the 2 screen limitation.
If it does I have not been able to unlock it. I'm currently running 10.8.2 and my unless there is something separate to activate by optional download or terminal command, the machine only sees the 2 DVI screens. The 3rd display port connection only comes up on the Windows side.

When you speak of getting the "latest drivers" I just assumed that you were talking about the ones that come packaged inside the Apple software updates.

or...

Are going for the FreeBSD Beta drivers directly off nVidia's site like here?

http://www.geforce.com/drivers/beta-legacy
Vermootin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 12:15 AM   #90
mac666er
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vermootin View Post
When you speak of getting the "latest drivers" I just assumed that you were talking about the ones that come packaged inside the Apple software updates.

or...

Are going for the FreeBSD Beta drivers directly off nVidia's site like here?

http://www.geforce.com/drivers/beta-legacy
Neither, dude, you actually get the drivers from here:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...02-driver.html

You should always start the search for the drivers from here:

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

Enjoy, more than one person has 3 screens running already under 10.8.2 with a single 6** card...
__________________
nMacPro 12 core D700s 3 screens
64 GB iPhone 5S; 128GB 4G iPad Air; 16GB 4G retiPad Mini;
15" i7 rMBP; mac mini 2,1;
mac666er is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 12:26 AM   #91
Vermootin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carmel CA
Send a message via Skype™ to Vermootin
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac666er View Post
Neither, dude, you actually get the drivers from here:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...02-driver.html

You should always start the search for the drivers from here:

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

Enjoy, more than one person has 3 screens running already under 10.8.2 with a single 6** card...


This calls for alcohol. brb
Vermootin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 04:34 AM   #92
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
So for a gtx670 I need 10.8 right?

I would prefer to keep 10.7.5 for now but this would maybe make me upgrade.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 05:00 AM   #93
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by beto2k7 View Post
other than the display sleep issue my machine is rock solid
Same problem here, but I usually use manual sleep. What I have a hard time understanding though is why nVidia drivers would invoke com.apple.powermanagement.externalmediamounted? I tried unplugging everything except ethernet and USB mouse, but it still came up with the pmset -g assertions command. Only thing left on my machine would be a SATA3 card on which my boot SSD is plugged to because that shows up on the desktop with an icon that looks like an external drive...

Edit: Actually, something is strange and I'm guessing it's down to the nVidia drivers. Yesterday on my Mac Pro the mouse froze and a second later the screens went into sleep, but not the computer. It was impossible to wake the screens again, no response from mouse or keyboard but the Mac Pro power light wasn't blinking and fans were running normally. I thought it was a random event of some kind but it just did the exact same thing again 2 minutes ago. This was both times during normal browsing and email. Yesterday afternoon I spent a few hours color grading and rendering/transcoding and it never happened.

Last edited by initialsBB; Oct 5, 2012 at 06:04 AM.
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:14 AM   #94
ohmkumi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
1) Yes, I have a EVGA GTX 570 2.5GB flashed from MVC, but a stock PC one works also.
2) The 570 fits perfect without external power supply.
3) I play BF3 on Ultra with 1920x1200 solution - works great!
Thank for Answer.
If Don't Use GTX570 From MVC . Can Use other GTX570 and Nvidia Driver? (http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...x7qlfkk7wplnsn)
ohmkumi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:46 AM   #95
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohmkumi View Post
Thank for Answer.
If Don't Use GTX570 From MVC . Can Use other GTX570 and Nvidia Driver? (http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-...x7qlfkk7wplnsn)
Yes, of course. The only difference will be that the card runs PCIe 1.0 speed.
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 11:58 AM   #96
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosbunny View Post
So for a gtx670 I need 10.8 right?

I would prefer to keep 10.7.5 for now but this would maybe make me upgrade.
Did you even read the first post of this thread? It's a FAQ thread for a reason, this has been answered many times and is covered in detail in the first post.

----------

OP updated with direct links for all driver versions that make PC cards work. I'll go through and update the rest later today, including my understanding of the OpenCL situation.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Yes, of course. The only difference will be that the card runs PCIe 1.0 speed.
Read question 16 in the FAQ, please.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 01:06 PM   #97
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Did you even read the first post of this thread? It's a FAQ thread for a reason, this has been answered many times and is covered in detail in the first post.
I'm sorry, I have read it, but english isn't my native language so I wanted to get this straight for myself. Thanks anyway.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 01:27 PM   #98
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosbunny View Post
I'm sorry, I have read it, but english isn't my native language so I wanted to get this straight for myself. Thanks anyway.
My reply was probably a bit harsh, sorry about that. I just skimmed through the FAQ and realized that this might not actually be spelled out in enough detail. I will update the post later today, thanks!

Basically, my recommendation usually boils down to:

- Use a Kepler card.
- Use Mountain Lion.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 01:56 PM   #99
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
My reply was probably a bit harsh, sorry about that. I just skimmed through the FAQ and realized that this might not actually be spelled out in enough detail. I will update the post later today, thanks!

Basically, my recommendation usually boils down to:

- Use a Kepler card.
- Use Mountain Lion.
No problem, you are doing a great job. Thanks for spending all this time!

I am sorry since my question probably was stupid, but I thought better safe than sorry before spending 400,-.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 02:09 PM   #100
nadeama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Okay, I've ran some tests regarding the display sleep issue. I won't go into the boring details, but the main result is this: display sleep works with the GTX 660 when I plug in my 27" LED Cinema Display, however it is broken when I plug in my 24" Cinema Display instead. So it seems to be some sort of compatibility issue between the 24" Cinema Display and either the GTX 660 itself or (probably more likely) the Nvidia products.

Is it even worth trying to report this to Nvidia since this is not a supported card on the Mac Pro?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by omegat3 View Post
I had a similar experience with the EVGA GTX 660 2GB... kernel panics during bootup, but then worked once I installed the latest NVIDIA drivers from the web. Ran it for the full day in Bootcamp (Win7), but then when I booted back into OSX 10.8.2 I was getting Kernel Panics again about 30 minutes after boot-up, which would shut down the machine (Mac Pro 3,1 dual quad 2.8). Tried re-seating the card and re-installing the drivers. Finally gave up and am returning it, with the intention of trying a 660ti when one goes on sale. Is your machine stable outside of the display sleep issue? I had tried a GTX 560 earlier, but that card wouldn't properly wake from sleep properly.
I've only had the GTX 660 for a couple of days now, but apart from the display sleep issue everything seems to be running fine so far.
nadeama is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequently Asked Questions About AMD PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards? fiatlux Mac Pro 0 Mar 27, 2014 04:10 AM
Mac-Compatible Nvidia Graphics Cards jblagden Mac Pro 4 Nov 15, 2013 12:15 PM
General: Frequently Asked Jailbreak Questions tymaster50 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 21 Jun 4, 2013 04:43 PM
Windows 8 EFI Grpahics Drivers for nvidia cards d00ski Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 2, 2013 11:06 AM
Full 10.7.5 11G63 installer boot w/ non-EFI NVIDIA? bbbc Mac Pro 2 Dec 6, 2012 06:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC