Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2002, 03:27 PM   #1
Kal-EL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Mac Zone Memory For Intel Motherboard?

I was looking thorough the latest issue of the Mac Zone catolog(Vol. 125d for those that get it, the holiday issue) and I went to the last inside page(right before the inside back cover) and was looking at the prices for memory. Each block of memory has the usual headings: 168Pin DIMM, PC100, 72PinSIMM, etc., with the exception of the last block of memory. The heading reads: New Intel D845BG Motherboard. That block offers 128, 256, & 512MB memory modules. Being that I though this was strange, I called the Mac Zone 800 number and inqured about the memory. The representative said to me:
"There are no Intel motherboards in Macs."
"But it is listed in Mac Zone..." I said.
"That must be a mistake."
A mistake perhaps, or perhaps an error on the part of Mac Zone publishing something they shouldn't have until after Jan? Perhaps now, the reps have been given the standard"There are no Intel motherboards in Macs" to cover something up?
I also went to their website and in the search field entered the item# for the 128MB module. It brought me to a ordering form for that particular module and said it could be used in both mac/pc(nothing unusual as a lot of memory is cross platform), but said nothing in the listing about Intel.
Am I grasping at straws here, or does anyone think there's something to this?
__________________
I own 11 Macs, a browncoat, and have an Apple sitcker on my Jeep...
We've done the impossible, that makes us mighty---Malcolm Reynolds

Last edited by Kal-EL; Nov 16, 2002 at 03:47 PM.
Kal-EL is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2002, 03:33 PM   #2
rice_web
macrumors 6502a
 
rice_web's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Either...

(1) MacZone is stupid

or.... (suspense builds)

(2) OS X on Intel is actually a possibility.

I'll bank on number one.
rice_web is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2002, 03:39 PM   #3
vniow
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: I accidentally my whole location.
It's probably a screw-up since even if Apple were to release x86 Macs, Mac Zobe probably wouldn't know about it.

And I just checked Intel's site and there is no motherboard with that designation.

I don't think they'll release an x86 Mac anytime soon (if ever) but the amount of 'slip-ups' and 'leaks' about this particular subject concerns me.


Edit: but there is a D845BG Intel MB

Last edited by vniow; Nov 16, 2002 at 03:42 PM.
vniow is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2002, 03:45 PM   #4
Kal-EL
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Correction, it is the D845BG motherboard

I mistyped in my previous post and have corrected it
__________________
I own 11 Macs, a browncoat, and have an Apple sitcker on my Jeep...
We've done the impossible, that makes us mighty---Malcolm Reynolds

Last edited by Kal-EL; Nov 16, 2002 at 03:48 PM.
Kal-EL is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2002, 05:45 PM   #5
york2600
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portland, OR
This is clearly a mistake. The only company that is stupid enough to still use PC100 is Apple. PC100 is horribly slow. If Apple was going to use PC boards A) they probably wouldn't use Intel since they've been talking about how much Intel processors suck for so long B) Even if they were using Intel processors they wouldn't be Intel branded boards C) They would have RamBUS or DDR Ram. If they didn't it would be the biggest joke of a PC since the clamshell iBook.

-Tim
york2600 is offline   0
Old Nov 17, 2002, 03:49 PM   #6
MacCoaster
macrumors 6502a
 
MacCoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Washington, DC / Rochester, NY / Lexington, NC
Send a message via AIM to MacCoaster
Those are just regular Kingston PC2100 DDR RAM.

They will work in the Power Mac G4 DDRs.
__________________
The Mac Coaster
Quad Core Q6600 PC, 23" Apple Cinema HD LCD, White MacBook C2D 2.16 GHz, Athlon64 PC, AthlonXP PC, iPod photo 60 GB
MacCoaster is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where are you purchasing your memory for Intel Imac sarcoptic Mac Pro 46 Feb 2, 2006 08:39 AM
A new spin on Mac OS X for Intel wrldwzrd89 General Mac Discussion 28 Sep 2, 2004 11:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC