Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:31 PM   #26
Mundty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Very happy about this news, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to support anything except very recent hardware which is a bit disappointing. Right now my 2009 MacBook Pro is the only laptop I own, and I don't plan on getting a Mac Pro until they update the line. So sadly I'll be playing this exclusively on PC for little while longer.
__________________
iPhone 5 Apple TV 3rd Gen 13" MacBook Pro Mid-2009 Mac Pro 2013 (coming soon)
Mundty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:33 PM   #27
5bjoshua
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
It's a cider port...so will pale in comparison to the native windows version.

SSDs make dual booting so effortless now as well so i doubt i'll play this under OS X...
5bjoshua is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:33 PM   #28
Xenomorph
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirshnoc View Post
"The Mac beta client will be available for anyone who has purchased Guild Wars 2 on the PC."

They're assuming that all Mac owners also own PCs?
...yes?

The Macs that can run the game under Mac OS X can also run the game just fine under Windows.

The term "PC" is misleading. I'm tired of seeing games & programs for "Mac & PC". The platforms are Mac OS X (or "OS X") or Windows.

Virtually all PCs can run Windows, and many can run Mac OS X.
All current Macs run Mac OS X and Windows.

Games for "PC" almost always work on a Mac, and many users play "Mac" games on their PC.
Xenomorph is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:33 PM   #29
atari1356
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirshnoc View Post
"The Mac beta client will be available for anyone who has purchased Guild Wars 2 on the PC."

They're assuming that all Mac owners also own PCs?
You don't have to own a PC at all. You can just purchase the digital download version (rather than buying it in a store) - and in the process you set up a username/password.

Just log in with that username/password to download the Mac beta. (you don't even have to download the PC version)
atari1356 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:37 PM   #30
Ferazel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirshnoc View Post
"The Mac beta client will be available for anyone who has purchased Guild Wars 2 on the PC."

They're assuming that all Mac owners also own PCs?
No they assume that if you're interested in the Mac version you can purchase a license from them and use that same license on either a Mac client or a Windows client. This is the same model that Blizzard and Steam uses and it works fine. Do you feel some obligation to purchase a Mac version specifically?
Ferazel is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:56 PM   #31
sesnir
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Runs great on my 2011 21 inch iMac (couldn't get wine to give me playable performance, but now I get 60 fps - the same performance I was getting in Windows via bootcamp), and runs better than expected on my 2011 Air (I got 15 fps with Wine, and got 20-25 with this cider port).
__________________
Tangent Worlds - iOS Developer
sesnir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:04 PM   #32
decimortis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Here
I know I don't have an i5 (late 2010 MBA) but I'm giving it a shot anyways.
I have a dedicated PC at home that I've been playing GW2 on, but I use Macs exclusively at work, so I'll just use it for the TP, crafting and anything else where I don't have to move.

D.
__________________
rMBP 15: 2.4GHz/8GB RAM/256GB/Mac OS X 10.10.1
iPhone 5S: Space Grey 64GB
decimortis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:09 PM   #33
karsten
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
how strict is the core i5 enforcement? i'm on a 2.8 quad 2008 MP with a 6870 which i'm sure could handle it.
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:09 PM   #34
pineapple216
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Great news!

I've played the orginal Guild Wars for like 6 years now, and find it a very immersive and great game.

That ArenaNet makes it available for Mac shows they care about gaming on Mac.

I'm even willing to buy a new Mac for this, actually...
(Unfortunatly it won't run on my 4 year old Unibody MacBook )
pineapple216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:21 PM   #35
NAG
macrumors 68030
 
NAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /usr/local/apps/nag
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirshnoc View Post
"The Mac beta client will be available for anyone who has purchased Guild Wars 2 on the PC."

They're assuming that all Mac owners also own PCs?
They had a lot of people who were running the game in Bootcamp (and a few people with a virtual machine or WINE).

As far as Cider, they kind of had no choice here. The game engine doesn't have an OpenGL version for one. The cost to port it over without using a wrapper would have been nuts (and likely prevent them from giving the Mac version away).

I'm just happy we didn't get the Cider port only as a desperate grab for more players (e.g. Warhammer). A Mac version about a month after the PC launch is actually pretty good turn around (admittedly beta but still). In my opinion this gives me the impression that they actually care about Mac more than quick money grab on the way out the door.
NAG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:47 PM   #36
karsten
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
"Due to potential changes, system requirements may change over time and you may be required to upgrade your current system (or obtain a new system) to continue to play the game."

http://en.support.guildwars2.com/app...tail/a_id/1119

that's kind of lame, are the requirements hard-coded in before the game even runs or something?
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:48 PM   #37
TauCeti808
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hmm, on the GW2 page, under Mac requirements, they state it also would run on OS X with AMD 64!

As far as I know even a Hackintosh configuration with a AMD CPU is far from mainstream.

I am curious what ArenaNet is doing else? Secret Dev Lab for exotic OS X configurations?

// probably they just copied the CPU requirements from the PC - obviously they do not know how much room of speculation arises if you are putting AMD and OS X in context

Last edited by TauCeti808; Sep 18, 2012 at 02:54 PM. Reason: Copy&Paste artifact
TauCeti808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:49 PM   #38
NAG
macrumors 68030
 
NAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /usr/local/apps/nag
Quote:
Originally Posted by karsten View Post
"Due to potential changes, system requirements may change over time and you may be required to upgrade your current system (or obtain a new system) to continue to play the game."

http://en.support.guildwars2.com/app...tail/a_id/1119

that's kind of lame, are the requirements hard-coded in before the game even runs or something?
People have reported running it on Macbook Airs so I don't think they're going to say "Nope, we won't let you play." Essentially it is a you can try but don't expect it to work well statement.
NAG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:08 PM   #39
decimortis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Here
Well I can confirm at least that it loads on unsupported machines.
Loaded it on my MacBook Air (specs in the signature) and it brought me to the character selected screen without warnings.

I haven't actually loaded into the game yet, so nothing to report there, but I fully expect it to run everything on max settings with 60 FPS. I shall complain if it doesn't. I shall Q.

D.
__________________
rMBP 15: 2.4GHz/8GB RAM/256GB/Mac OS X 10.10.1
iPhone 5S: Space Grey 64GB
decimortis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:10 PM   #40
doobybiggs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
SWEET!

now I just need apple to release my new iMac!!

Come on where is the release news on the new iMac haha
doobybiggs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:19 PM   #41
TLewis
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: left coast, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quu View Post
Dynamic Events are separate to Hearts and as the name suggests they happen dynamically and regardless of if you're around or not. So lets say you're out doing a heart quest and then ping on your screen you see a hoard of centaur are attacking a nearby town. It says "New event nearby!" now you can go to that area on your map where undoubtably other players will be fighting already and you can join in just by running up and playing or you can continue to do your quest. Sometimes if an event is in the same area as your heart quest you can even complete both quests just by doing one objective because the two overlap.
It's important to note that many dynamic events are often part of a dynamic event CHAIN. Too many players simply finish a dynamic event and then wander off to do something else. Often, if you stick around for a short while, the just-completed dynamic event will set in motion another dynamic event (although someone may have to do something to trigger it, like talk to an NPC).

One small example is in a low-level Norn area:
  1. There's a quest to obtain meat for some guy's smokehouse. Once you finish that, he remarks that he needs a ram's head to mount near his smokehouse.
  2. One of his kids, listening nearby, gets the idea that he'll help get the head for his father, and then starts talking to various nearby players, asking for help. If you talk to the kid and agree, you trigger off the next dynamic event.
  3. Once that's done, the kid runs back to his father, with the ram's head. The father mounts the head to the wall, and the kid runs back to the other kids.
  4. ... who, in the meantime, while you've been off doing the other events, have been trying to perform a ritual to summon a single bear for them to wrestle (yeah, these are strong, viking-type kids who like to do things like that). Unfortunately, this triggers off the next dynamic event, where they end up summoning a metric *ssload of bears, who have to be killed. At the end, there are bear carcasses littered everywhere.
If you want more details, there's a good youtube video that explains this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CyqGJHTjes (the author has a strong, non-english accent, so be aware of that)
TLewis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:32 PM   #42
TLewis
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: left coast, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by karsten View Post
"Due to potential changes, system requirements may change over time and you may be required to upgrade your current system (or obtain a new system) to continue to play the game."

http://en.support.guildwars2.com/app...tail/a_id/1119

that's kind of lame, are the requirements hard-coded in before the game even runs or something?
No, that just means that future versions may or may not require better hardware to get a decent framerate.

You're free to install and run GW2 on lots of different systems, but you may not enjoy the experience if you do not meet the minimum recommended hardware requirements.
TLewis is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:33 PM   #43
adversus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via ICQ to adversus Send a message via AIM to adversus Send a message via MSN to adversus Send a message via Yahoo to adversus Send a message via Skype™ to adversus
Been playing since the last couple stress tests and have already taken one character to 80 in the Live game.

On Windows 7 64-bit Professional in Bootcamp, I run at max settings (everything cranked except for I think AA is on medium) and I get smooth play on my Mac Pro with 3GB of RAM, Radeon 5870 1GB.
__________________
I own stuff.
adversus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:34 PM   #44
Lark.Landon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: So Cal
GW2 sounds fun. I'd like to give it a shot.. o_o
Lark.Landon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 04:27 PM   #45
guzhogi
macrumors 68020
 
guzhogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wherever my feet take me…
Quote:
Originally Posted by atari1356 View Post
Slightly disappointing that it's emulated and not a native port... but I like the game a lot. Will give the Mac beta a try later.
Thanks, couldn't remember the name. It is disappointing it's not a native port. Macs could be great gaming computers if people & companies ported natively. I'm no gamer so I don't have much experience, but I'm sure someone would bring something up about Apple's OpenGL drivers.
guzhogi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 05:19 PM   #46
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
If I dislike MMOs, will I enjoy this? Never played GW1.

For the record, I felt like Diablo III was decent but not great. I liked the flexible spell system, but the game lacked variety in almost everything––spells, environments, events. It was also too short (and don't get me started on the story.)
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 05:19 PM   #47
Jovian9
macrumors 68000
 
Jovian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Planet Zebes
Quote:
Originally Posted by majkom View Post
that would be perfect, what are your specs? which mac model do you own? thx
Alright. I downloaded this and played for about an hour on max settings. It runs a little bit more sluggish than when in bootcamp but better than when in parallels.

I typically go into bootcamp (windows 7 64 ultimate) and have everything on high with no issues. Sometimes if I'm wanting to just pop on for a few minutes I'll use parallels 7 to grab my bootcamp install and run GW2. It runs okay on that (enough to do some quests at least).

On the Mac side I have everything up but am seeing lower fps and an occasional slowdown, but nothing gamebreaking. I could lower settings and be fine as I'm not someone who "needs" to have the highest settings on my games. I'll continue to test and provide some more accurate comparisons (such as FPS in the world and in the city on windows vs mac either tonight after work or tomorrow).

I have the 27" 2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 2TB Hard Drive (no SSD), 2GB AMD Radeon HD.

I'll also test on my 2010 i3 iMac when I get a chance (just the mac side though as I do not have bootcamp on that).
__________________
Xbox Live = Phaedon = NNID
Jovian9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 05:44 PM   #48
MacPod
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Downloading it now, rMBP. Will post how it goes!
MacPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 05:55 PM   #49
XandeR803
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovian9 View Post
Alright. I downloaded this and played for about an hour on max settings. It runs a little bit more sluggish than when in bootcamp but better than when in parallels.

I typically go into bootcamp (windows 7 64 ultimate) and have everything on high with no issues. Sometimes if I'm wanting to just pop on for a few minutes I'll use parallels 7 to grab my bootcamp install and run GW2. It runs okay on that (enough to do some quests at least).

On the Mac side I have everything up but am seeing lower fps and an occasional slowdown, but nothing gamebreaking. I could lower settings and be fine as I'm not someone who "needs" to have the highest settings on my games. I'll continue to test and provide some more accurate comparisons (such as FPS in the world and in the city on windows vs mac either tonight after work or tomorrow).

I have the 27" 2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 2TB Hard Drive (no SSD), 2GB AMD Radeon HD.

I'll also test on my 2010 i3 iMac when I get a chance (just the mac side though as I do not have bootcamp on that).
Is that at native rez on your 27" iMac?
XandeR803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 06:17 PM   #50
floobie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada
Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro (probably in sig... don't remember).

Looks good, totally playable, as far as I can tell. Running at 1680x1050. Textures and stuff are maxed. Shaders, shadows, reflections and stuff on about medium. FXAA on. Getting about 30fps. Will see how dramatically it drops with a lot of action on screen.

It obviously doesn't run as well as it does in Bootcamp (Windows 7 64 Pro). But, for the luxury of not having to reboot to play, I'm quite happy to sacrifice a bit of performance.
__________________
Late - 2013 13" Macbook Pro Retina i5, 8gb DDR3, 256gb; Late 2012 27" iMac, i7, 16gb DDR3, Geforce GTX 680MX 2gb, 1TB Fusion Drive; iPhone 5S 32gb White
floobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Guild Wars 2 Mac Client Washac Mac and PC Games 141 Oct 15, 2014 12:42 PM
OS X: Network problem playing Guild Wars 1 on Mac Noetics Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 28, 2014 05:44 AM
OS X: guild wars 2 mac beta fps fluctuates anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 26, 2012 08:58 AM
OS X: Guild Wars 2 Mac beta FPS? anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 0 Nov 18, 2012 09:05 PM
Guild Wars 2 - native OSX client beta available robo456 Mac and PC Games 36 Sep 21, 2012 11:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC