Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2012, 03:11 AM   #26
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReillyGJ22 View Post
Does anyone know if this will work going in the "opposite direction"? I just installed the mac client last night, and while certainly playable, I'd like to give it a shot on my BC partition. If I can skip the long download process, that would be a big help.
In a word, yes,you have to MOVE the files, using copy the game will not run.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 10:15 PM   #27
royal shrimp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: california
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReillyGJ22 View Post
Does anyone know if this will work going in the "opposite direction"? I just installed the mac client last night, and while certainly playable, I'd like to give it a shot on my BC partition. If I can skip the long download process, that would be a big help.
yes, it does work in the opposite direction. but remember, only copy the GW2.dat file, no other files as they may have been altered by the mac client.
royal shrimp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:07 PM   #28
stevelam
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelam View Post
anyone tried this with an RMBP?
ok i just tested it myself. even at 1440x900 its slow. oh well.
stevelam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 01:41 PM   #29
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelam View Post
ok i just tested it myself. even at 1440x900 its slow. oh well.
how slow is slow? what fps and settings?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:17 AM   #30
MacGamerHQ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lyon, France
Playing perfectly on my hackintosh

Hey guys,

For those on the fences, I started playing on my windows partition, getting very decent frame rates (around 45, with almost all specs maxed out).

Now, on the OSX client, I get around 35 fps.

I have to test more in detail but with virtually the same specs, I lost some fps. However, I am playing exclusively on OSX as switching to Windows just to to play annoys me as hell!

Overall, the game is working without issues, mouse and keyboard working perfectly!
MacGamerHQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:58 AM   #31
stevelam
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamerHQ View Post
Hey guys,

For those on the fences, I started playing on my windows partition, getting very decent frame rates (around 45, with almost all specs maxed out).

Now, on the OSX client, I get around 35 fps.

I have to test more in detail but with virtually the same specs, I lost some fps. However, I am playing exclusively on OSX as switching to Windows just to to play annoys me as hell!

Overall, the game is working without issues, mouse and keyboard working perfectly!
what resolution are you playing at? and what mac are you using? i'm on an RMBP and tried the game at 1440. definitely didn't seem like i was getting 35FPS.

on the windows side of my RMBP, i play at 1920x1200 with medium or max visual settings and it plays very smoothly. i can even play at 2880x1800 with all low settings and it still looks great and runs pretty well.
stevelam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 04:13 PM   #32
blackbear219
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I haven't had any problems with the Mac client. I "auto detect" my best graphics settings...on high everything it chugs a little bit but on auto detect it runs smooth as butter. It even seems to load a little bit faster on the Mac client. It is just a beta, so I am sure it will get better as well.

I'm playing on a 3.1ghz i5 iMac with 16GB of ram.

I really enjoy not having to boot into bootcamp any more to play this game. Plus, it drives my wife crazy when I forget to boot back into MacOS when I'm done
blackbear219 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:36 PM   #33
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamerHQ View Post
Hey guys,

For those on the fences, I started playing on my windows partition, getting very decent frame rates (around 45, with almost all specs maxed out).

Now, on the OSX client, I get around 35 fps.

I have to test more in detail but with virtually the same specs, I lost some fps. However, I am playing exclusively on OSX as switching to Windows just to to play annoys me as hell!

Overall, the game is working without issues, mouse and keyboard working perfectly!
That sounds like a very reasonable MacOS hit if it's Apples to Apples.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:38 PM   #34
Cuyahoga
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Just splurged and got it--currently downloading. This will be my first MMORPG ever. Kind of nervous since I'm extremely casual and very off & on when it comes to playing games...hence why I greatly prefer staying in OS X, even if there's a performance penalty.

I have a 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 (2.8GHz quad) with a GTX570 (1.28GB). I'll post how it goes whenever it finishes.
Cuyahoga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:57 PM   #35
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuyahoga View Post
Just splurged and got it--currently downloading. This will be my first MMORPG ever. Kind of nervous since I'm extremely casual and very off & on when it comes to playing games...hence why I greatly prefer staying in OS X, even if there's a performance penalty.

I have a 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 (2.8GHz quad) with a GTX570 (1.28GB). I'll post how it goes whenever it finishes.
Well there is no subscription so you can play it when you feel like it and not feel like you are wasting money. However, I would recommend that you find a good casual guild to join. This allows you to obtains some consistent in-game fellowship. It's much superior to being a strictly solo player. You can find help, assistance, and sometimes a bank full of stuff that you'll have some access to.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:38 AM   #36
MacGamerHQ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lyon, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelam View Post
what resolution are you playing at? and what mac are you using? i'm on an RMBP and tried the game at 1440. definitely didn't seem like i was getting 35FPS.

on the windows side of my RMBP, i play at 1920x1200 with medium or max visual settings and it plays very smoothly. i can even play at 2880x1800 with all low settings and it still looks great and runs pretty well.
I'm playing at native resolution on my Cinema display (1440). That's why I think I can't have all maxed out with good fps!

I normally updated my signature so you should see there my system!
Cheers

Last edited by MacGamerHQ; Sep 26, 2012 at 03:45 AM.
MacGamerHQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:19 PM   #37
Cuyahoga
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Do you guys know how to monitor the fps on the Mac version without having the options menu open? The Windows instructions for using "-perf" in the command line don't seem applicable. Thanks!
Cuyahoga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 12:30 PM   #38
ctbear
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelam View Post
what resolution are you playing at? and what mac are you using? i'm on an RMBP and tried the game at 1440. definitely didn't seem like i was getting 35FPS.

on the windows side of my RMBP, i play at 1920x1200 with medium or max visual settings and it plays very smoothly. i can even play at 2880x1800 with all low settings and it still looks great and runs pretty well.
I have a rMBP as well (base), and it runs at about 50-60% performance compared to bootcamp, same setting and resolution.
Certainly not ideal for a "half-competitive" game, so I have been playing through bootcamp only (doesn't take the SSD long to restart anyways).
If you insist to play on OSX, make sure your 650m is activated when you start the game. Use gfxCardStatus to check.
ctbear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:00 AM   #39
MacGamerHQ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lyon, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctbear View Post
I have a rMBP as well (base), and it runs at about 50-60% performance compared to bootcamp, same setting and resolution.
Certainly not ideal for a "half-competitive" game, so I have been playing through bootcamp only (doesn't take the SSD long to restart anyways).
If you insist to play on OSX, make sure your 650m is activated when you start the game. Use gfxCardStatus to check.
-50% performance is VERY SURPRISING. Are you sure it's a fair comparison? Same settings? Same resolution? Same card (maybe in Mac it pick ups the integrated card)? Same driver update on the card?
Just asking....
__________________
Runs MacGamerHQ.com, the only Mac Gaming Blog left alive!
MacGamerHQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:16 AM   #40
DragonXRose
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium
Question about system requirements

Hello,

i'm really considering to buy this game but i don't want to spend money on it unless i'm sure it'll run on my laptop.
These are my specs:
MacBook Pro
13-inch, medio 2010
Processor 2,66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Videocard NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G56)

What do you guys think? will it work or should i pass up on this (and wait till i can buy an iMac)?
DragonXRose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:43 AM   #41
SlickShoes
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonXRose View Post
Hello,

i'm really considering to buy this game but i don't want to spend money on it unless i'm sure it'll run on my laptop.
These are my specs:
MacBook Pro
13-inch, medio 2010
Processor 2,66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Videocard NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G56)

What do you guys think? will it work or should i pass up on this (and wait till i can buy an iMac)?
It would work okay in Windows on mostly low settings at 1280x800, but with the OSX performance hit I think that laptop will struggle with the game.

If someone that has that laptop can comment I will be glad to be proved wrong but I would imagine you are looking at around 10-15fps max.

I play on mostly low settings 1440x900 on a 2011 MBP with 6750m 1GB and get 25-30fps when playing in OSX.
SlickShoes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 12:19 PM   #42
ctbear
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamerHQ View Post
-50% performance is VERY SURPRISING. Are you sure it's a fair comparison? Same settings? Same resolution? Same card (maybe in Mac it pick ups the integrated card)? Same driver update on the card?
Just asking....
Well the best I can do is make sure the in-game settings are identical. I have no way to update the nVidia drivers on OSX, but on my Win7 bootcamp I am running the latest WHQL drivers.
I use gfxCardStatus on OSX to make sure the 650m is activated before game starts.
ctbear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:45 PM   #43
Cuyahoga
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Mac Pro 3,1 (2008)
2.8Ghz quad
12GB memory
Nvidia GTX570 (1280MB)
10.8.1

Windows 7
1920 x 1200
Everything on high (not ultra)
~50fps. Get's down to 30fps at times, but never any stuttering.

OS X
1920 x 1200
Everything on Low, except character animation (med.)
~20fps. Playable in a pinch, but practically a different game visually than in Win7. Surprisingly, decreasing the resolution didn't really help...just made it even uglier.

I'm surprised to hear some people having OK luck in OS X with stock GPU's. I'm guessing GW2 is very CPU-intensive, and having an i7 is much better than an older Xeon.
Cuyahoga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 07:57 AM   #44
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
It sounds like this will run fine on my 2011 iMac 27" but I have some questions about the gameplay.

How well is single player leveling up supported? It is possible or is grouping required to get anything done? I like to explore and quest solo a lot of the time even though I also like groups and pvp. I don't like "needing" a group though to get to level cap. Speaking of which, what is the level cap?

Any other info about the gameplay would be great. I'm coming from playing WoW which I still enjoy very much. I might consider GW2 also though once they formally release an official (non-beta) Mac version.

Thanks!
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 08:48 AM   #45
SlickShoes
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
It sounds like this will run fine on my 2011 iMac 27" but I have some questions about the gameplay.

How well is single player leveling up supported? It is possible or is grouping required to get anything done? I like to explore and quest solo a lot of the time even though I also like groups and pvp. I don't like "needing" a group though to get to level cap. Speaking of which, what is the level cap?

Any other info about the gameplay would be great. I'm coming from playing WoW which I still enjoy very much. I might consider GW2 also though once they formally release an official (non-beta) Mac version.

Thanks!
You can do everything solo other than the dungeons there is no need to group up for anything at all, everyone that hits a mob gets credit for a kill, gathering nodes everyone sees there own etc there is no real need to communicate with anyone.

Level cap is 80 currently.
SlickShoes is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 01:23 PM   #46
basketball762
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Would I be able to play this on my early 2011 13 inch MacBook Pro? It has a 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5, 4 GB of RAM, and has Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB. I know this list this specs/computer as playable but will it be able to run smoothly and not choppy? I don't wanna lay down $60 to get this game only to find out it plays horrible on my computer.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB
Macbook Pro
basketball762 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 02:28 PM   #47
macnewguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Tested on 2012 MBA 2.0ghz i7 8G HD4000?

Has anyone tried the Mac Beta Client on the 2012 MBA 2.0ghz with i7 and 8 GB of RAM? I had mine BTO off the Apple Store website and am curious if anyone has tried to run it on the same hardware configuration.

I also have a 2010 iMac with HD 5750 which I'm sure will be able to run it admirably however I have been using my new MBA as my primary computer lately.

Would love to see it run (even on low) when they release the final build.
macnewguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 06:32 PM   #48
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
You can do everything solo other than the dungeons there is no need to group up for anything at all, everyone that hits a mob gets credit for a kill, gathering nodes everyone sees there own etc there is no real need to communicate with anyone.

Level cap is 80 currently.
Thank you very much for the info, appreciate it.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 11:50 PM   #49
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuyahoga View Post
Mac Pro 3,1 (2008)
2.8Ghz quad
12GB memory
Nvidia GTX570 (1280MB)
10.8.1

Windows 7
1920 x 1200
Everything on high (not ultra)
~50fps. Get's down to 30fps at times, but never any stuttering.

OS X
1920 x 1200
Everything on Low, except character animation (med.)
~20fps. Playable in a pinch, but practically a different game visually than in Win7. Surprisingly, decreasing the resolution didn't really help...just made it even uglier.

I'm surprised to hear some people having OK luck in OS X with stock GPU's. I'm guessing GW2 is very CPU-intensive, and having an i7 is much better than an older Xeon.
It's definitely your CPU holding you back. According to the geekbench browser the 2008 MacPro with 4x2.8GHz scores around 5700, which is about the same my old machine did, which was an Intel E8500@4050Mhz.
I now have an i5@4.3GHz (Geekbench 12000) and even in windows my FPS is doubled. I used a GTX285 and I still use the same card. I can keep 30+ FPS in large WvW battles at mostly high settings and FXAA in Mac OS, and 60 FPS+ everywhere else, except in Lions Arc where it is around 40 FPS. The GTX570 should be roughy 30% faster than the GTX285 and I'm sure you could bump settings to high in Mac OS without loss of FPS.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 01:11 PM   #50
Avatarshark
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Digital Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelam View Post
anyone tried this with an RMBP?
It should be fine. They listed a list of machines it runs fine. Since your is a retina it should be more than fine.
Avatarshark is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Network problem playing Guild Wars 1 on Mac Noetics Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 28, 2014 05:44 AM
OS X: guild wars 2 mac beta fps fluctuates anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 26, 2012 08:58 AM
OS X: Guild Wars 2 Mac beta FPS? anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 0 Nov 18, 2012 09:05 PM
Guild Wars 2 Arrives on Mac With Beta Client Release MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 126 Oct 21, 2012 12:02 AM
Guild Wars 2 - native OSX client beta available robo456 Mac and PC Games 36 Sep 21, 2012 11:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC