Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

whiteangel

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 29, 2004
Manchester
I am not sure if this is the correct place to post, but here goes...

I have a degree in software engineering, and am now finishing up the thesis for my masters in 'Computational methods and imaging in medicine'. Basically just a course that combines computer science and medicine. My supervisor is currently trying to find funding for me to do a phd in medical imaging, but as I am writing my thesis now I find it awfully boring and not fun at all. I am totally bored of my research project as well.

So I am back to square one about what I want to do in life. I can always be a software engineering, do a phd and try to do research in some big drug companies, or I could do something that I always am intrigued and interested in but never had a chance to learn or try, and that is graphics design!

I love computers and technology stuff. I spend the time I should be researching my thesis scouring the net for wallpapers, and themes and everything else. I try to make my own simple wallpapers with photoshop from the simple tutorials I found on the web. But I really really really wish to be able to create my own work, and I don't know how ! I don't know how do people make those beautiful icons, those beautiful drawings that don't seem to be hand drawn. You must also know that I can't really draw ... :( I can copy .... but I can't draw my own cartoon characters.... or maybe I never sat down to do it as I always felt I should spend my time on my work....however inefficiently I do my work..

So erm... to cut a long story short, I want to try my hand in graphics and I wish to know where to start. Hopefully I may be good enough one day to do it for a living, or I could just do it for fun and do something not so fun for money.