Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:11 PM   #126
LePigeonBleu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to LePigeonBleu
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMtheGAM View Post
I am in Southern CA and my M-CELL is working. All iPhones including the 5 connect just fine
damn. thanks!

mine right now is the "Location Verification" stage of reactivating. i'm in Chicago, but they said it's everywhere.

liars.

m
__________________
iMac MacBook Pro Retina iPhone 5 iPad mini
LePigeonBleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:28 PM   #127
meganator
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I woke up this morning and mine was workin suddenly. AT&T said they were rolling out updates so it should hit everyone's fairly shortly.
meganator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:30 PM   #128
kiantech
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I must be lucky because my iPhone 5 jumped onto my microcell immediately.
kiantech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 03:15 PM   #129
trlyka
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by robdam1001 View Post
I don't think it matters which phone you have. The issue is/was with the M-cells. I have an ip5, 2 4s's and 1 ip4. None of them were able to connect to the M-Cell last night.
Ok, good to know, thanks. I just put on a brand new cat 5 cable, but now it's not connecting again. I think I'll try to reactivate since that seems to be working for most.
__________________
Late 2011, 17" Macbook Pro, 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD, Anti-Glare iPad iPhone 5 (retired 3GS and 4)
trlyka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 06:22 PM   #130
Xibalba
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
For what it's worth, my iPhone 5 is working on my Microcell at home and I did nothing at all - no reboot nor any changes in administration settings on the Microcell webpage. My number is the primary number on my account and thus the Microcell. I was out of town last night and upon arriving home early this morning was surprised to see my new iPhone 5 automatically connect to the Microcell.

Thus, I assume that AT&T either pushed out an update to the Microcell or rather I believe that AT&T finally caught up with the nano-SIM registration/activation issue. (It was documented earlier yesterday that people were getting their iPhone 5 to work with a cut-down iPhone 4 SIM). It's definitely not a hardware incompatibility issue between iPhone 5 and the AT&T 3G Microcell.

I hope you all are having the same success - with no home cell coverage at all, I was quite disturbed initially to not have the Microcell work with the new iPhone 5. Good Luck to all!


Edit: After reading some on the AT&T forums, some people had success with simply rebooting their iPhone 5 and others got success with taking out and then re-inserting the SIM card. These are both quick and simple things to at least try if you are still not connecting.

Last edited by Xibalba; Sep 22, 2012 at 06:33 PM.
Xibalba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 07:01 PM   #131
LePigeonBleu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to LePigeonBleu
i had to disconnect my microcell, wait a while, reconnect it, and wait for it to activate.

that worked. the downtime for it, as at&t said, must be done.

m
__________________
iMac MacBook Pro Retina iPhone 5 iPad mini
LePigeonBleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 09:11 PM   #132
RHELF
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Looks like you guys have it mostly figured out already and I don't remember seeing this mentioned here, but I saw on another forum and this worked for me:

Deactivate Microcell from AT&T website then reactivate which will force a software download to the microcell. Then switch your Iphone 5 into airplane mode then switch out of it. M-Cell popped up immediately after for me.

Hope this helps anyone that hasn't gotten it working yet!
__________________
2010 MBP I7/15" 2.66 GHz/8GB RAM/750GB HDD(7200rpm)/ Hi-Res Gloss
iPhone 5 16GB Ipad Wifi 16GB Apple TV 2nd Gen
RHELF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 10:23 AM   #133
LapsangSouchong
macrumors 65816
 
LapsangSouchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: the burrows
Well, I've decided it just got fixed. On friday, it did not work. I tried many of the "tricks". To no avail. Today I walked into work and my ip5 connected with no problem. It's just fixed.
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it would cut itself.
Air, Imac, Black/Slate iPhone 5 (GSM)
LapsangSouchong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 10:31 AM   #134
jbachandouris
macrumors 68000
 
jbachandouris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate NY
I de-activated it over the weekend, but was unable to reactivate as that process was turned off by AT&T until today. I called to have them reactivate it. 10 minutes later both the Microcell and the iPhone 5 both worked.

I did not switch to airplane mode. My phone was on standby. I pushed the power button to look at the screen and it said 'ATT m-cell' without any further help from me.
__________________
iPhone 6+ 128GB, iPad Air 2 128GB,
MacBook Pro 13", Mid 2012,
Time Capsule, Apple TV
jbachandouris is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 08:13 AM   #135
AnetDailey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Still having problems

Anyone still not able to connect to MicroCell with their iPhone 5? The first time I contacted support I was told to wait 24-48 hours. I have since turned my phone off/on, gone to airplane mode and back numerous times, unplugged the MicroCell, contacted at&t support and at their suggestion disabled LTE. Still no luck. Has anyone else had to disable LTE? I'm not going to be very happy having to do that every day when I get home, not that it seemed to do any good.
AnetDailey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 04:41 PM   #136
pixpixpix
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Inconsistent in connecting to Microcell

My iPhone 5 has connected to the Microcell but does not do so reliably. Often it picks up a poor tower signal instead, even though the Microcell is in the same room. Switching back and forth to airplane mode does not seem to help.
pixpixpix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 04:53 PM   #137
portishead
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Mine has worked fine since day 1 (err Friday). No dropped calls or anything else to report yet.
portishead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:48 PM   #138
Blueline29
macrumors 68000
 
Blueline29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Windermere, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnetDailey View Post
Anyone still not able to connect to MicroCell with their iPhone 5? The first time I contacted support I was told to wait 24-48 hours. I have since turned my phone off/on, gone to airplane mode and back numerous times, unplugged the MicroCell, contacted at&t support and at their suggestion disabled LTE. Still no luck. Has anyone else had to disable LTE? I'm not going to be very happy having to do that every day when I get home, not that it seemed to do any good.
Disabling LTE is the only way I can get it to connect to the Microcell as well. Yesterday (the first day I was home after receiving the 5 on Friday), inexplicably, it connected to the m-cell OK on its own without me adjusting a thing; today disabling LTE is the ONLY thing that will allow it to happen. I've also gone through the m-cell deactivation/reactivation, toggling airplane mode God knows how many times, rebooted both phone and m-cell, etc. etc. etc. Very aggravating, but I have to have the microcell or I will (no lie) drop 80% of my calls. Utterly ridiculous.
Blueline29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 12:07 AM   #139
JH4DC5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Does the microcell signal have priority over the LTE signal on the iPhone? I get a lousy 0/1 bar of LTE at my house. I'm hoping that my phone will just stay connected to the microcell rather than bouncing back and forth between the microcell signal and LTE.

any input would be appreciated! i've got a microcell on the way
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7-2720QM / Samsung 830 256 GB SSD / Crucial 8 GB ram / Hi-res
iPhone 5 / iPad Air LTE / Rockboxed iPod 5G
JH4DC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 12:14 AM   #140
Nikhil72
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York City
Send a message via AIM to Nikhil72
What I did was turn off Hand Off in the microcell settings, and that seemed to the trick where the phone would occasionally alternate between microcell (5 bars) and "4G" (and now LTE) which had around 2-3 bars but ended up in tons of dropped calls. With that disabled, it just stays connected to my M-cell.
__________________
13" MacBook Air 2012 2GHz-512GB-8GB; 64GB iPad mini LTE; 64gb iPhone 5S - GOLD!
Nikhil72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 12:16 AM   #141
SAMtheGAM
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH4DC5 View Post
Does the microcell signal have priority over the LTE signal on the iPhone? I get a lousy 0/1 bar of LTE at my house. I'm hoping that my phone will just stay connected to the microcell rather than bouncing back and forth between the microcell signal and LTE.

any input would be appreciated! i've got a microcell on the way
I can confirm that the phone will use the microcell over the weak LTE signal. It stays connected to the microcell too.

My only issue with the microcell is that despite disabling automatic handout of calls to the macro network the iPhone 5 will still hand out the call to macrocell or loose the M-CELL alpha tag but stay connected to M-CELL. Not quite sure which is occurring. This seems to happen when I am actually on a call.
SAMtheGAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:12 AM   #142
JH4DC5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMtheGAM View Post
I can confirm that the phone will use the microcell over the weak LTE signal. It stays connected to the microcell too.

My only issue with the microcell is that despite disabling automatic handout of calls to the macro network the iPhone 5 will still hand out the call to macrocell or loose the M-CELL alpha tag but stay connected to M-CELL. Not quite sure which is occurring. This seems to happen when I am actually on a call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhil72 View Post
What I did was turn off Hand Off in the microcell settings, and that seemed to the trick where the phone would occasionally alternate between microcell (5 bars) and "4G" (and now LTE) which had around 2-3 bars but ended up in tons of dropped calls. With that disabled, it just stays connected to my M-cell.
thanks for the help guys!
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7-2720QM / Samsung 830 256 GB SSD / Crucial 8 GB ram / Hi-res
iPhone 5 / iPad Air LTE / Rockboxed iPod 5G
JH4DC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:16 AM   #143
morgdaddy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
This worked for me on iPhone 4S

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlake02 View Post
FINALLY!

I think they're pushing out a fix because more people are having luck (myself now included).

I unplugged the MCell for 1 minute or so. Turned on Airplane mode during this time.

Turned the MCell back on. Waited until it was fully up and running. Turned off Airplane mode. At first, no luck. Waited ~2 minutes and BAM.. MCell on iPhone5.

Good luck!
I followed these instructions on my iPhone 4S after updating to ios 6 and this worked for me. Please note, the microcell doesn't show up right away after turning off Airplane mode. It did take a couple of minutes. Thanks!
morgdaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 12:32 AM   #144
SAMtheGAM
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhil72 View Post
What I did was turn off Hand Off in the microcell settings, and that seemed to the trick where the phone would occasionally alternate between microcell (5 bars) and "4G" (and now LTE) which had around 2-3 bars but ended up in tons of dropped calls. With that disabled, it just stays connected to my M-cell.
My iPhone 5 still kept on handing calls off to the nearest tower despite having auto handout disabled. It would standby on the micro cell. I called AT&T and spoke to data support and he confirmed that auto hand out was "enabled in his system despite it showing "disabled" on my end. He changed the setting to disabled on his end and now my call no longer hands off to the nearest tower and stays on micro cell.
SAMtheGAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 08:40 PM   #145
benhollberg
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Anyone having problems with conference calling and call waiting on the iPhone 5 with an AT&T Microcell? With the iPhone 5 I am having major trouble with conference calling when using the Microcell.

When I start a conference call, either I start it while on a call or I receive a call while on a call, almost everytime it starts to cut out. Like it has bad reception even though I am most of the time in the same room as the Microcell. I never had this problem with the iPhone 4S or earlier, even when I had iOS 6 on them. I conference call everyday and this problem is really giving me problems.

Has anyone else seen this problem or had it? Thanks.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 08:07 AM   #146
Jnardis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm still having problems connecting. Everything was working fine the first 3 days and now when I woke up yesterday I can't connect. Did all of the above and still no luck...
Jnardis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 05:45 PM   #147
Metzga
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
My voicemail is not working...

...I have had my microcell for over 2 years and now that we upgraded to iOS 6 on our iPhone 4S and 5 we do not receive voicemails anymore. Our phones connect to the microcell and we can make and receive calls just fine but if someone leaves a message, our phones don't register that we have a new voicemail. We get this message when we leave our house, weird.

I unplugged the microcell and also pushed the reset button on the back but it does not seem to help. Anyone else with this issue? Also, we have no LTE in Central Oregon, yet.

Thanks for the help!!!!
Metzga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 08:38 PM   #148
SAMtheGAM
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metzga View Post
...I have had my microcell for over 2 years and now that we upgraded to iOS 6 on our iPhone 4S and 5 we do not receive voicemails anymore. Our phones connect to the microcell and we can make and receive calls just fine but if someone leaves a message, our phones don't register that we have a new voicemail. We get this message when we leave our house, weird.

I unplugged the microcell and also pushed the reset button on the back but it does not seem to help. Anyone else with this issue? Also, we have no LTE in Central Oregon, yet.

Thanks for the help!!!!
I still get voicemail on my iPhone 5 & 4S on iOS6 when connected to my microcell.
SAMtheGAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 10:24 PM   #149
Ezra1107
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Regular cell connection not working

Has anyone had a problem with their iPhone5 not connecting to the regular AT&T network after connecting to their Microcell? I was able to connect to my Microcell last night, but after I left the house today my phone would not connect with the AT&T cell network. I even went to visit an AT&T store and they told me it may be a hardware problem, and I should call Apple. We tried all the tricks of rebooting, resetting network settings, reseating the sim card, no thing worked.

When I got home the phone stayed on "searching...", and after calling Apple support, they suggested I do a factory reset which is what I have done. Once the software restored I was able to connect to my MicroCell again, but now I'm worried that when I leave the house again it will not be able to connect to any cellular network.

I was just curious if anyone has experienced anything like this? I'm not sure if the MicroCell caused the issue or something else happened.
Ezra1107 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 05:04 PM   #150
Cartaphilus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My iPhone 5 wouldn't work with my ATT Microcell despite trying all the solutions suggested on MacRumors. Today I spoke with a knowledgeable rep who deregistered my cell phone number with the Microcell, and then re-added it. I had attempted to do that myself, but the Microcell management page doesn't allow users to delete the principal number--in my case, mine.

So now it works fine, and I thought I'd add my experience to the data set.
Cartaphilus is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 and AT&T Microcell problems Tomgolon iPhone 10 Aug 25, 2014 09:53 AM
AT&T MicroCell now working pixpixpix iOS 7 0 Sep 21, 2013 10:34 PM
AT&T iphone 5 with Microcell Stayfly2407 iPhone 4 Sep 27, 2012 01:26 PM
AT&T Microcell and iPhone 5 sdsvtdriver iPhone 3 Sep 25, 2012 10:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC