Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:00 PM   #26
yustas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Will the iPhone 5 ATT&T's phone work in Europe?
yustas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:00 PM   #27
wildonrio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Now the question is, which signal takes dominance? The Verizon CDMA signal or the AT&T GSM signal when a Verizon activated (and in service) iPhone 5 is fed an AT&T nano-SIM.

Or does the iPhone let you select which carrier? I hunk this last statement is mostly true.
+1

Also, can I have Verizon phone signal with AT&T data at the same time?
wildonrio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:01 PM   #28
navindralr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
didn't this happen before with either the iPhone 4 or 4S? and then Verizon locked it? Or maybe it was Sprint? I'm pretty sure it was Verizon though.

Sorry, I don't really remember the specifics...
navindralr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:01 PM   #29
yhtomitn64
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by samiwas View Post
I think it was a joke. As in, Verizon users can now put in an AT&T SIM and talk and surf at the same time.

EDIT: never mind, I see that 5 more posts were made while I was typing this explaining it! :P
Yeah silly me for replying too quick. Ha ha.
yhtomitn64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:03 PM   #30
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Hopefully this isn't a mistake that gets "fixed" like last year's unlocked Sprint iPhones.
KPOM is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:03 PM   #31
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Do not cut down the VZW SIM card from an iPhone 4S!

The Verizon SIM card from an iPhone 4S is only a Vodafone.NL SIM card, which isn't the same thing as a normal Verizon SIM card used in the iPhone 5. You won't get service in the US at all if you use the 4S SIM card. Just activate the phone with the included Verizon SIM card, and that one would be the card you would use in the US.
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 5S 16GB White & Silver Sprint::2010 MacBook Air 13" 1.86 C2D::iPad mini Space Gray 16GB Wi-Fi::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:04 PM   #32
oneteam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cincinnati, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by macUser2007 View Post
Nope, you have to buy the AT&T model in order to use the iPhone 5 on T-Mobile's LTE network.
T-Mobile doe snot have LTE yet. If the Verizon iPhone works on AT&T HSPA+, I'd assume that it also works on T-Mobile HSPA+ re-farmed network.
oneteam is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:04 PM   #33
nickgwyn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Any word on Sprint? It is the same hardware as the Verizon iPhone 5.

Also, do you have to activate on VZW, or could you just buy it in a Verizon store, put in your cut down AT&T nano-SIM, and just use AT&T without ever signing up for Verizon?
nickgwyn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:04 PM   #34
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by navindralr View Post
didn't this happen before with either the iPhone 4 or 4S? and then Verizon locked it? Or maybe it was Sprint? I'm pretty sure it was Verizon though.

Sorry, I don't really remember the specifics...
Sprint. I think in that case it was only unlocked for non-US SIMs, but it was later locked in a software update. You can request Sprint to unlock it for non-US use.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:04 PM   #35
gsugolfer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by macUser2007 View Post
Nope, you have to buy the AT&T model in order to use the iPhone 5 on T-Mobile's LTE network.

It's beyond me why anyone goes with Verizon or AT&T. Both offer the same service as T-Mobile or Virgin, at almost double the price.

But hey, you get a subsidized phone....
http://www.virginmobileusa.com/check...phone-coverage
gsugolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:04 PM   #36
nickgwyn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildonrio View Post
+1

Also, can I have Verizon phone signal with AT&T data at the same time?
nope.
nickgwyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:05 PM   #37
djaisling
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by yhtomitn64 View Post
I used my Mom's upgrade who is on another account. I was under the impression I could just bring the phone to the Verizon store and activate it on my account. She was up for renewal and I wasn't so I used her upgrade and paid for the phone. When I brought it to the store they said I'm not up for renewal so I won't be able to use the phone on my account.

Is there a way I can get the phone on my account? I'm going to give her my 4S and I've already signed her up for a data plan on her account.

Any ideas? Can I cut down the SIM card from my 4S and stick it in the Iphone 5 and have it be on my account?

Normally this much easier when your on the same family account, since you guys are separate you need to call into Verizon and do what is called a device swap. You will need the account info for both accounts (password info, SSN, etc) and do her phone first. Put the 4S onto her account and make sure it gets activated with them. Then have them put the 5 on your number and activate that one. It should be simple enough, but that is the usual requirement.
djaisling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:08 PM   #38
Macboy Pro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
Correct me if I am wrong but this is awesome!
It means it as good as AT&T has been all along but only if you buy two, one for data and one for voice
Macboy Pro is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:09 PM   #39
yhtomitn64
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djaisling View Post
Normally this much easier when your on the same family account, since you guys are separate you need to call into Verizon and do what is called a device swap. You will need the account info for both accounts (password info, SSN, etc) and do her phone first. Put the 4S onto her account and make sure it gets activated with them. Then have them put the 5 on your number and activate that one. It should be simple enough, but that is the usual requirement.
Okay thanks I'll try that. Let's hope they don't have some special rule which will bar this from working. Sounds like the person at the Verizon store said I can't do it because I'm not allowed to use her upgrade. She wanted to give to me as a gift which seems fine to me (even though I paid for it...). We'll see. Verizon is still getting her to upgrade her plan so I really don't see the problem.
yhtomitn64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:10 PM   #40
Undecided
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Anyone should be able to unlock their phone temporarily when traveling abroad. This is ridiculous.
Undecided is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:11 PM   #41
applemotor
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Washington, The State
I thought the new nano sim was supposed to be 15%thinner, and a whole new design that would make the "cut down" trick not work.

Shenanigans?

Edit...quick check of wiki shows the thickness of nano-sim standard ETSI TS 102 221 V11.0.0 as about 15% thinner. But that could be shaved off the card body without getting into the encapsulation.

Last edited by applemotor; Sep 21, 2012 at 03:21 PM.
applemotor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:12 PM   #42
lowlymarine
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
Soooo that's including T-Mobile? I'm sure this will help with resell value!
Yes, but you're still going to be stuck with EDGE speeds as T-Mobile uses AWS for UMTS and HSPA+, which isn't supported by the iPhone 5 (or any iPhone, for that matter).
__________________
15-inch MacBook Pro (Late 2011); 8GB iPhone 3G; 60 GB iPod 5G
lowlymarine is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:12 PM   #43
ghostface147
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
This is great news, too bad it won't work in Peru. Nano-sims don't exist over there and I don't have the steady hands to go cutting up micro-sims.
ghostface147 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:13 PM   #44
shanmugam
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Blazer town!
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowlymarine View Post
Yes, but you're still going to be stuck with EDGE speeds as T-Mobile uses AWS for UMTS and HSPA+, which isn't supported by the iPhone 5 (or any iPhone, for that matter).
I think t-mobile's DC-HSDPA is supported ... unless it is also on different band like AWS
__________________
iPhone 5| iPad 4 | iPad mini | Nexus 7 | Kindle
Nov2012| Mac Mini| Core i7 2.3GHz QC | 330 240GB USB 3 | Viewsonic 21.5" 1920x1080
Sep2012|Toshiba 14" | i5 2.5Ghz 1366x768 |Win 7 | x-25M 120GB
shanmugam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:15 PM   #45
theBB
macrumors 68020
 
theBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by macUser2007 View Post
It's beyond me why anyone goes with Verizon or AT&T. Both offer the same service as T-Mobile or Virgin, at almost double the price.

But hey, you get a subsidized phone....
I was thinking about switching to Virgin until I learnt that it does not let you use its phones outside the US. Not only does it not offer its own international data or voice plan, but it also does not let its phones be used with a local SIM cards.
theBB is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:15 PM   #46
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
can you use an ATT phone on Verizon down the line?
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:15 PM   #47
Alveezy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hawaii
hahaha! i just got out of VZW's Live Chat and asked if the phone is unlocked and this is what they say...god damn it! always trying to squeeze some money out of you! why can't i use another carrier abroad? are you effing kidding me? an international plan? BS!

Thumb resize.

Last edited by Nermal; Sep 21, 2012 at 10:00 PM. Reason: timg
Alveezy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:16 PM   #48
gwelmarten
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England!
That's unexpectedly nice of them!
gwelmarten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:17 PM   #49
PaulMoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mossme89 View Post
Any news on the AT&T variant? Is it unlocked also?
I'd also like to know this...
PaulMoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 03:20 PM   #50
macosxuser01
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
This is pretty cool I must say. Just reason number 238 to switch to Verizon
macosxuser01 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon iPhone 5S: GSM Unlocked rumorman69 iPhone 22 Sep 20, 2013 11:52 PM
GSM SIM in unlocked Verizon iPhone profinite iPhone 5 Jul 8, 2013 04:46 AM
Unlocked Verizon Iphone 5 GSM 4G? BBtoIP5 iPhone 2 Oct 25, 2012 04:46 PM
Has anyone purchased a Verizon iPhone with it being Unlocked for GSM? bdzer iPhone 20 Sep 22, 2012 03:06 AM
Unlocked Verizon iPhone -> any GSM Carrier? jimsowden iPhone 22 Sep 21, 2012 03:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC