Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 21, 2012, 04:30 PM   #76
icyfire
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Now the question is, which signal takes dominance? The Verizon CDMA signal or the AT&T GSM signal when a Verizon activated (and in service) iPhone 5 is fed an AT&T nano-SIM.

Or does the iPhone let you select which carrier? I hunk this last statement is mostly true.
The SIM card always takes preference over the native CDMA signal (that's how the 4s was set up). So if you stick in an ATT Sim, it will take preference. In fact, with the iPhone 5 I think you need a SIM card even to use it on CDMA because of LTE (all Verizon LTE phones require a SIM card)
__________________
2012 Macbook Air 13" Core i5 1.8ghz/8gb/128gb | 2009 Macbook Pro 13" Core2Duo | iPhone 5 (Verizon)
icyfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 04:32 PM   #77
name99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjohnstone View Post
There are no hardware differences.
The phones all use the same Qualcomm chip.
It's programming in the base band radio that determine what frequencies are enabled.
These statements are ignorant.
Yes the phones all have the same Qualcomm chip. But each feature on the chip is enabled by Qualcomm firmware, and if you don't pay for a feature, you don't get it. If Apple did not pay Qualcomm for CDMA on the ATT model, it's not going to be there, regardless of what the hardware can do.
name99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 04:33 PM   #78
MacTK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
Yes, that's the case. However, a lot of European LTE networks will operate on 800MHz and 2600MHz bands that are not supported by the Verizon or AT&T iPhone 5. For instance, in the UK, only EE's network will be supported, not Vodafone or o2 when they get their LTE networks up and running.
Thanks for the clarification. Band 7 and 8 are the important onces if they were included in the Iphone 5 way more people would be benefit from the phone and the LTE Networks.
But at least that means that you can buy a Verizon Iphone and can bring it over to Europe and you have HSPA+ and LTE in two countries.
MacTK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 04:38 PM   #79
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by macUser2007 View Post
Nope, you have to buy the AT&T model in order to use the iPhone 5 on T-Mobile's LTE network.

It's beyond me why anyone goes with Verizon or AT&T. Both offer the same service as T-Mobile or Virgin, at almost double the price.

But hey, you get a subsidized phone....
Did you even read the first post?

The Verizon iPhone 5 purchased from Apple retail and sold as a "Device Only" purchase is working on AT&T and T-Mobile. You just don't get LTE on AT&T or anything above 2G in most T-Mobile areas until the refarming is complete.

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/09/21/...m-3g-networks/
http://www.theverge.com/2012/9/21/33...5-gsm-unlocked

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 04:41 PM   #80
ghostface147
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
Are other Verizon LTE phones unlocked? Does AT&T have any of this spectrum, or does this same limitation apply to AT&T's bands?
No, this only applies to Verizon. As for other LTE phones, I would assume so......but I am not sure.
ghostface147 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 04:44 PM   #81
iMrNiceGuy0023
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
TMobile as well??

CDMA iPhones if someone lost it, I guess Apple rather have it still in use by the GSM finder, but banned on the CDMA network instead of it being just a music device
iMrNiceGuy0023 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:21 PM   #82
Frasern1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
This is awesome! I hope they don't "fix" this with a software update.
Frasern1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:30 PM   #83
dinopdx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Will the Cricket iPhone 5 be unlocked as well? If so, you can get one for only $499 next week, and cancel the prepaid plan without penalty.
dinopdx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:30 PM   #84
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by GorgonPhone View Post
nooo if it cant get 4G or do simultaneous voice and data what is the point?
The Nexus has been able to do voice and data simultaneously since last year on VZW.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:33 PM   #85
avanpelt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
Are other Verizon LTE phones unlocked?
A Verizon "global roaming" specialist told me this morning that all of their LTE handsets and tablets (including the third-gen iPad) are sold unlocked. Not sure if that's true, but that's what she said.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frasern1 View Post
This is awesome! I hope they don't "fix" this with a software update.
Agreed. I can't imagine it would go anywhere because I think this would be a pretty big draw for the Verizon iPhone 5. I'm thrilled with my decision to get the Verizon model over the other carriers.
avanpelt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:34 PM   #86
rjohnstone
macrumors 68030
 
rjohnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PHX, AZ.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsowden View Post
THis isn't a very detailed explanation. Can you be specific?
Sure... it's software.
The phones are all capable of working on the same networks and frequencies.
Enabling all of those features all at once would be a severe power drain, so Apple programmed the chips to only use protocols and frequencies based on what carrier was getting the phone and what region of the world it was expected to be used in.
In short... they're all identical inside, it's the based band programming that is different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name99 View Post
These statements are ignorant.
Yes the phones all have the same Qualcomm chip. But each feature on the chip is enabled by Qualcomm firmware, and if you don't pay for a feature, you don't get it. If Apple did not pay Qualcomm for CDMA on the ATT model, it's not going to be there, regardless of what the hardware can do.
Nothing "ignorant" about it and if you want to throw insults, at least understand what the real facts are first.
Qualcomm doesn't program the chip, Apple does.
__________________
"You can't really dust for vomit" - Nigel Tuffnel
Some Apple *****, some Android ***** and some Windows based *****.
rjohnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:36 PM   #87
Rot'nApple
macrumors 65816
 
Rot'nApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: I DID build that!
With the cat out of the bag, is this something that can be changed ie. Verizon requesting Apple to lock Verizon to Verizon?

With all the hoopla, can Verizon come in and ruin the party by being a jerk?

And would Straight Talk have nano sim card (doesn'T ST use ATT) that one can use instead of a cut down att sim attached via tape and shoved in with a paper clip?

Finally, If you have a Verizon iP5 and put in an att sim and was on their network does that data time come off your Verizon contract or ATT who you have no deal with?
/
/
/
Rot'nApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:36 PM   #88
chatin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2005
Don't trust Verizon.

Wish I could trust Verizon on iPhone 5. After the opt-in scandal and other Verizon overcharges, not to mention data / voice tradeoff, AT&T is the way to go for iPhone 5 in my area.
__________________
iPhone 5 Ultimate Edition
chatin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:37 PM   #89
shanmugam
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Blazer town!
Read the specs

http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html

GSM model A1428*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 4 and 17)

CDMA model A1429*: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1900, 2100 MHz); UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 13, 25)

GSM model A1429*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5)

there are three variety -

A1429 for Sprint, Verizon
A1428 for ATT

A1429 for Japan and AsiaPac

add to the chaos China and India are in different bands ...

wait till another three or four years then we will World-Mode LTE iPhone

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks
__________________
iPhone 5| iPad 4 | iPad mini | Nexus 7 | Kindle
Nov2012| Mac Mini| Core i7 2.3GHz QC | 330 240GB USB 3 | Viewsonic 21.5" 1920x1080
Sep2012|Toshiba 14" | i5 2.5Ghz 1366x768 |Win 7 | x-25M 120GB
shanmugam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:45 PM   #90
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by avanpelt View Post
A Verizon "global roaming" specialist told me this morning that all of their LTE handsets and tablets (including the third-gen iPad) are sold unlocked. Not sure if that's true, but that's what she said.
That would be consistent with the explanation I've seen elsewhere that Verizon is required to sell the phones unlocked as a stipulation of its license with the FCC for LTE Band C.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:48 PM   #91
icemantx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Don't you still need a Verizon calling plan?

Am I missing something or don't you still need a Verizon calling plan to use the Verizon iPhone? What would be the benefit of putting in an AT&T SIM on a Verizon phone? Wouldn't I have to have two plans which would mean double the cost of my phone to have a plan with both AT&T and Verizon?

Not sure I get why this is so killer if you are still on a contract with Verizon for 2 years regardless of being locked or not.
icemantx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:49 PM   #92
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemantx View Post
Am I missing something or don't you still need a Verizon calling plan to use the Verizon iPhone? What would be the benefit of putting in an AT&T SIM on a Verizon phone? Wouldn't I have to have two plans which would mean double the cost of my phone to have a plan with both AT&T and Verizon?

Not sure I get why this is so killer if you are still on a contract with Verizon for 2 years regardless of being locked or not.
can buy the ihone on no contract and then use a sim card
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:50 PM   #93
iozker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago IL
If you bought the GSM version of the iPhone 5, and you paid retail price, the phone is FACTORY UNLOCKED, I can confirm this, I'm on AT&T and my contract ends in June 2013, I preordered a 32gb iPhone 5 and asked if I could use it with other carries around the WOLRD, I even asked if it can work on tmobile, I spoke with 4 apple reps and 1 supervisor, I will take pictures and video as proof.
iozker is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 05:54 PM   #94
icemantx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
can buy the iphone on no contract and then use a sim card

So pay full price for VZ iPhone and it is unlocked?
icemantx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:03 PM   #95
shrtmkr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: the apple
I wonder if it is the same case on sprint as they are basically the same model.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanmugam View Post
http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html

GSM model A1428*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 4 and 17)

CDMA model A1429*: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1900, 2100 MHz); UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 13, 25)

GSM model A1429*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5)

there are three variety -

A1429 for Sprint, Verizon
A1428 for ATT

A1429 for Japan and AsiaPac

add to the chaos China and India are in different bands ...

wait till another three or four years then we will World-Mode LTE iPhone

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

There are two models. A1428, A1429

The ones that are being sold in Europe has also CDMA band but turned off by default.
shrtmkr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:06 PM   #96
DylPickle85
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Just got off the phone with the Verizon rep while awaiting mine in the mail today.

She confirmed that the Verizon iPhone 5 comes GSM Unlocked out of the box! That makes it a plug n play GSM World Phone for nano SIM cards. The video looks a bit sketch, will wait for a proper tutorial or cutting template to do it the right way and try out for myself :-D
DylPickle85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:09 PM   #97
manu chao
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by name99 View Post

This is an iPhone 5 discussion. Do T-Mobile offer iPhone 5 (yet --- they may well by next year)? Do Virgin? If not your, then snark is pretty damn stupid, isn't it?

This is like responding to a discussion about US phone plans by telling us that we should all switch to some South Korean carrier.
Why would a carrier have to officially sell a phone for a phone to be perfectly usable on its network? Maybe with CDMA but not with GSM, you buy your phone from whoever you want and use it on whoever carrier you want, provided it is not SIM-locked.
manu chao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:09 PM   #98
shanmugam
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Blazer town!
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrtmkr View Post
There are two models. A1428, A1429

The ones that are being sold in Europe has also CDMA band but turned off by default.
Gotcha, Thanks!
__________________
iPhone 5| iPad 4 | iPad mini | Nexus 7 | Kindle
Nov2012| Mac Mini| Core i7 2.3GHz QC | 330 240GB USB 3 | Viewsonic 21.5" 1920x1080
Sep2012|Toshiba 14" | i5 2.5Ghz 1366x768 |Win 7 | x-25M 120GB
shanmugam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:11 PM   #99
bahamutzero
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Do you have to activate VZW iPhone5 on their network first, in order to use it with other GSM networks, or it can be activated or bypassed via GSM?

I'm asking this because I live in Europe (and I'm using GSM) and have relatives in USA who use VZW. Do they have to activate it on VZW before sending the phone to me?
bahamutzero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:16 PM   #100
manu chao
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by icyfire View Post
The SIM card always takes preference over the native CDMA signal (that's how the 4s was set up). So if you stick in an ATT Sim, it will take preference. In fact, with the iPhone 5 I think you need a SIM card even to use it on CDMA because of LTE (all Verizon LTE phones require a SIM card)
In addition, every GSM-capable phone I have owned or borrowed to play with has a menu where you can select the carrier. On the iPhone it is under Settings -> Carrier, the default is Automatic but you can switch it to manual and then a list of all networks the phone currently sees becomes available and you can choose one. In the early days of international roaming, there sometimes were different rates with different carriers and smart people checked first which carrier in their target country had the cheapest roaming fees and then selected it manually.

It also still happens that if you are close to a border, the signal from a foreign carrier can be much stronger than that of your home country. Being able to manually select your home carrier can prevent expensive roaming surprises.

Last edited by manu chao; Sep 21, 2012 at 07:13 PM.
manu chao is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon iPhone 5S: GSM Unlocked rumorman69 iPhone 22 Sep 20, 2013 11:52 PM
GSM SIM in unlocked Verizon iPhone profinite iPhone 5 Jul 8, 2013 04:46 AM
Unlocked Verizon Iphone 5 GSM 4G? BBtoIP5 iPhone 2 Oct 25, 2012 04:46 PM
Has anyone purchased a Verizon iPhone with it being Unlocked for GSM? bdzer iPhone 20 Sep 22, 2012 03:06 AM
Unlocked Verizon iPhone -> any GSM Carrier? jimsowden iPhone 22 Sep 21, 2012 03:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC