Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:27 PM   #126
Megalobyte
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
I'm thinking it must be a bad wifi antenna. My 4s also on ios6, destroys my 5 in wifi range, speed and reliability. Has to be something wrong with the 5.

I get the idea to get a stronger router, but my 4s gets amazing signal and speed anywhere I go in or around my house. It's absolutely flawless performance. The 5, horrible. I doubt ditching my linksys dual band N router will change anything.
Megalobyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:34 PM   #127
fridayxiii
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
I too have super slow throughput on wi-fi. On my MacBook I get 24+ Mbps down, 16+ up. On my i5 I struggle to get 3Mbps down, but see 11-12 up.

I'm running WEP security and have reset both the modem/router unit and hard reset my iPhone too, but no joy. I don't really wanna make the trek to replace my phone but if that's what it takes...
fridayxiii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:38 PM   #128
Megalobyte
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by fridayxiii View Post
I too have super slow throughput on wi-fi. On my MacBook I get 24+ Mbps down, 16+ up. On my i5 I struggle to get 3Mbps down, but see 11-12 up.

I'm running WEP security and have reset both the modem/router unit and hard reset my iPhone too, but no joy. I don't really wanna make the trek to replace my phone but if that's what it takes...
I hear you. I thought I had a good phone. Good screen, all the buttons were firm and precise, little to no scuffing, guess I got ahead of myself.

I could see exchanging it and getting a phone with the same issue, but with an additional issue for good measure.
Megalobyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:52 PM   #129
fridayxiii
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalobyte View Post
I hear you. I thought I had a good phone. Good screen, all the buttons were firm and precise, little to no scuffing, guess I got ahead of myself.

I could see exchanging it and getting a phone with the same issue, but with an additional issue for good measure.
I'm in the exact same boat: no marring of the finish, all buttons are tight, no blurs or smudges in the display, I thought I had the perfect i5 dammit!

As good as LTE is I can't accept having defective wi-fi performance. On the phone now with the Apple Store in Tampa hoping to hear that they have replacement stock. : fingers crossed :
fridayxiii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 04:01 PM   #130
afurry13
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Save yourself the troubleshooting and get a replacement at the apple store. It is a hardware issue. I can confirm. My new phone is not experiencing this issue.
afurry13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 05:06 PM   #131
julius071
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Went to the apple store and I got the wifi to work but now that I'm home and I restarted my router and it still doesn't work!!! Grrr. Please help!
julius071 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 06:02 PM   #132
whoseawhat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Is it iOS6?

My 4S has had a lot of issues connecting to networks, as well. I have to manually select which WiFi network I want to use in the settings. It no longer auto-connects. I have tried forgetting and re-learning networks, turning WiFi off and on, etc.
whoseawhat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 06:12 PM   #133
nandopr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
When I connect using my Apple Extreme router it is very fast. When I visit my brother and connect to his dual band linksys router The speed is very slow using both bands.
nandopr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 06:34 PM   #134
Cscottrun
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have terrible wifi. Its to the point where I cant even connect in my own house. On my 4s I still have a perfect signal everywhere.

The good thing is that I am pretty sure I know what the problem is...my case. Usually im fluctuating between 2 and 3 bars. When I remove my case I always have full bars. I have no cellular signal problems, only wifi.

Here's the case I have. Anyone else have it and have any problems?

https://www.incipio.com/cases/iphone-cases/iphone-5-cases/iphone-5-dualpro-shine-hard-shell-case-with-silicone-core.html
Cscottrun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 07:37 PM   #135
buffsldr
macrumors 6502a
 
buffsldr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
So sloooooow
buffsldr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 07:48 PM   #136
Want300
macrumors 65816
 
Want300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
I noticed this yesterday. I have 100 Mbps download, so I usually get between 80 and 90 Mbps according to speedtest.net and others.

My iPhone 5 only gets 40-45 Mbps, which is still great, but I will run speedtests back and forth between my computer and my phone... each time the iPhone 5 is about half what my computer shows. I have gotten 54 Mbps down on LTE though...
__________________
AT&T 64 GB iPhone 5 | Sprint 16 GB iPhone 4S | 15" MacBook Pro - 2.4 GHz i7 | 32 GB iPad 2 Wifi | Apple TV
Want300 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 07:57 PM   #137
rlewis22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Interesting. Not having this problem. Consistently getting 29+ Mbps down.
rlewis22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:31 PM   #138
MareLuce
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
wepiii's tip>> I have fixed the issue on our phones by going into Settings/Wifi/Blue arrow next to your Wifi name/ and typing test into Client ID and then renewing lease.

Before wepiii's tip:

Network: WPA security to Time Warner cable with an ATT Microcell. I'm paying for 10Mbps download, 1Mbps upload speeds.

iPhones: one 4, one 5, both on iOS 6. Beside iPhone hardware, everything else is equal.


Speedtest Ping, Download, Upload
iPhone 4: 275ms, 10.15Mbps, 0.74Mbps
iPhone 5: 420ms, 5.13Mbps, 0.80Mbps

After applying wepiii's tip to iPHone 5:

iPhone 5: 25ms, 5.33Mbps, 0.72Mbps
re-ran test

wepiii's tip helped my Ping speeds a lot but not download.

Summary: My iPhone 5 WPA-connected download speed is half that of my iPhone 4.
Also:
Summary: My iPhone 5 WPA-connected download speed is half that of my iPad 2.

Everything is on iOS 6.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant2369 View Post
I was having the same issues. After all my research I kept seeing people posting that iPhone 5 has an issue with WPA2. I went into my time capsule (3rd gen) and disabled security then made it a hidden network. Manually joined and my issue was instantly fixed. I'm now getting just under 16Mbps (15.94) on a 18Mbps package. Prior with WPA2 enabled I was getting 1.5M or under and Pings in the 400-600s
This means it is not a hardware issue, right?

Last edited by MareLuce; Sep 23, 2012 at 08:56 PM. Reason: added iPad 2 results.
MareLuce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:39 PM   #139
UnbornApple
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Sorry, not happening on this iPhone 5.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	182.2 KB
ID:	362075  
__________________
lots of products because they are the best!
Check out my podcast The Mac Gist!
UnbornApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:42 PM   #140
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
It made the front page here at MacRumors....

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/09/23/...s-on-iphone-5/

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:50 PM   #141
er15
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
My ping is 34ms, Download is 22.60 MBps but Upload is 1.06mnbps.

Upload seems slow :/
er15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:14 PM   #142
lordhamster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
That case has a metallic look to it. It is quite possible a metallic paint could block a wifi signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cscottrun View Post
I have terrible wifi. Its to the point where I cant even connect in my own house. On my 4s I still have a perfect signal everywhere.

The good thing is that I am pretty sure I know what the problem is...my case. Usually im fluctuating between 2 and 3 bars. When I remove my case I always have full bars. I have no cellular signal problems, only wifi.

Here's the case I have. Anyone else have it and have any problems?

https://www.incipio.com/cases/iphone...cone-core.html
lordhamster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:35 PM   #143
mcdj
macrumors 603
 
mcdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Another anecdote in support of a problem with WPA2...

With WPA2 on my Airport Extreme, Im getting about 15mbps from my 50mb connection. With security off, I get 45mbps.

Interestingly, the same goes for my ipad 3.

Both devices running ios6.

Doesn't seem like a hardware issue to me.
__________________
Great cage! No bird...
50f/2

Last edited by mcdj; Sep 23, 2012 at 09:59 PM.
mcdj is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:50 PM   #144
fridayxiii
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Switching from WPA2 to WEP may help some, but it didn't help me. Been there, tried that. I also took my phone to two free wi-fi hotspots, used three different networks, and had the same throughput I did at home: crappy.

Looking forward to swapping out for a new i5 tomorrow. I still love the phone & have unlimited data on AT&T but want fully functional wi-fi for the times I'm not on LTE or exceed 5GB & get throttled.

Best o' luck to all!
fridayxiii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:53 PM   #145
myhaksown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I have an iPad 3 and when I upgraded to iOS 6 I noticed that it would connect to my time capsule but then disconnect when I did anything that required Internet. I have wpa2 set up on my time capsule. It was bad the first two days but seems to have calmed down since Wednesday. I'll bet it's 95% iOS 6 and 5% hardware.
myhaksown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:30 PM   #146
myhaksown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdj View Post
Another anecdote in support of a problem with WPA2...

With WPA2 on my Airport Extreme, Im getting about 15mbps from my 50mb connection. With security off, I get 45mbps.

Interestingly, the same goes for my ipad 3.

Boh devices running ios6.

Doesn't seem like a hardware issue to me.

I agree my iPad 3 wouldn't hold a connection for about 2 days after the iOS 6 launch (I got it when it was released Wednesday). After I read that you saw speed decreases I decided to check my iPad. I have a 19Mb/s home connection. I got speedtest.net's app (9.7MB) and it took almost a minute to download with a near 3MB/s connection. So I ran speed test on my MacBook and my iPad (normally they would match for speed on iOS 5) and found my iPad came in at ~50% slower then my my MacBook.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	875.6 KB
ID:	362169  
myhaksown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:31 PM   #147
Islink
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
here are my findings, since getting the iPhone5 my speeds had reduced from 15-17mbs to 2-5mbs, thinking maybe it was ios 6 i checked my wife's 4s it to was slow, keep in mind i've had no issues connecting to the internet and surfing, i re ran the test on my wife's phone and it was at 15mbs i saw her server was out of Chicago and mine aurora, so i switched my server to chicago and re ran the test i now was at 17mbs, then i switched to a comcast server (same as my internet provider) and i was at 22mbs upload and 11mbs download, conclusion: don't trust speed test.net to necessarily to have accurate readings across the board.
Islink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:37 PM   #148
myhaksown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Just turned off WPA on my time capsule and I got 26Mb/s on my second try. 19 Mb/s seems to be the norm with WPA off and 7Mb/s with it on. Good to know that it is a software issue.... My iPad is actually getting better speeds then my MacBook.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1039.PNG
Views:	7
Size:	834.2 KB
ID:	362183  
myhaksown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:42 PM   #149
myhaksown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islink View Post
here are my findings, since getting the iPhone5 my speeds had reduced from 15-17mbs to 2-5mbs, thinking maybe it was ios 6 i checked my wife's 4s it to was slow, keep in mind i've had no issues connecting to the internet and surfing, i re ran the test on my wife's phone and it was at 15mbs i saw her server was out of Chicago and mine aurora, so i switched my server to chicago and re ran the test i now was at 17mbs, then i switched to a comcast server (same as my internet provider) and i was at 22mbs upload and 11mbs download, conclusion: don't trust speed test.net to necessarily to have accurate readings across the board.
If you connect to the same place on two devices and get consistent readings on a device and you know what you should be getting then speedtest.net is a good test. You didn't test the second phone on the other servers so how can you know if the 5 is getting the right speeds? You have to have the same OS version (iOS 6) and same server.

--------------------------------------
I can download the same app twice once with and once without WPA2 if you want or I can just calculate the speed out. Photoshop touch took 5 minutes to download with WPA2 on and is about 55MB.

5(minutes)x60(seconds)=300(seconds) 55(MB)/300(seconds)=0.18(MB/s) or 1.5Mb/s

That's still below what it should have been (7Mb). MB is different from Mb. 1 Byte = 8 bits. Speed test measures in bits.

24Mb / 8 (convert to bytes) = 3MB 55MB/3MB=18 seconds

It should have taken 18 seconds based on what speed test reported when WPA2 was off.

Last edited by myhaksown; Sep 23, 2012 at 10:54 PM.
myhaksown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:45 PM   #150
Islink
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by myhaksown View Post
If you connect to the same place on two devices and get consistent readings on a device and you know what you should be getting then speedtest.net is a good test. You didn't test the second phone on the other servers so how can you know if the 5 is getting the right speeds? You have to have the same OS version (iOS 6) and same server.
im sorry i left that out, i did and the speeds on her phone were also 2-5mbs
Islink is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC