Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 23, 2014, 12:35 AM   #1
pesos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
iphone 6 - one phone to roam them all?

I'm here in Japan getting by on an iTouch and pocket wifi - will probably be here another 10-11 months.

I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas about whether the iPhone 6 will cover the proper LTE bands to function in both Japan (Softbank) and the US (Verizon)? If so my fiancée and I would like to pick it up when it comes out here, and then take the phones to Verizon next year.

If it doesn't, I suppose we'll just wait until we move. There was some speculation here but I'm guessing Verizon probably didn't move as fast as expected to make this a possibility? http://www.gottabemobile.com/2013/08...anks-to-intel/
__________________
iPhone 5; iPod Touch 5g; Apple TV G2, Surface 2, Surface Pro 3
"I hate all operating systems equally, but some I hate more equally than others."
pesos is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 12:41 AM   #2
luckydcxx
macrumors 6502a
 
luckydcxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I think it would be great if they could incorporate all LTE bands around the world into 1 phone. Then no matter the carrier or place you are in the world it will work.

I know this is a difficult engineering feat because of the complexity of LTE but I think it would be awesome.
__________________
Write the code. Change the world.
luckydcxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 03:19 AM   #3
617aircav
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pesos View Post
I'm here in Japan getting by on an iTouch and pocket wifi - will probably be here another 10-11 months.

I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas about whether the iPhone 6 will cover the proper LTE bands to function in both Japan (Softbank) and the US (Verizon)? If so my fiancée and I would like to pick it up when it comes out here, and then take the phones to Verizon next year.

If it doesn't, I suppose we'll just wait until we move. There was some speculation here but I'm guessing Verizon probably didn't move as fast as expected to make this a possibility? http://www.gottabemobile.com/2013/08...anks-to-intel/
nobody can possibly know until the phone is announced.
617aircav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2014, 08:46 AM   #4
pesos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 617aircav View Post
nobody can possibly know until the phone is announced.
Thank you captain obvious!

I am curious what people who know about such things think - it seems to make basic sense that from a supply/repair point of view a single LTE handset is a lot simpler to deal with than 2 or 3 or 5... Wondering how realistic that is and what can be gleaned from what competitors with recent releases have done.
__________________
iPhone 5; iPod Touch 5g; Apple TV G2, Surface 2, Surface Pro 3
"I hate all operating systems equally, but some I hate more equally than others."
pesos is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2014, 09:40 AM   #5
I7guy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: West Coast/East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by pesos View Post
Thank you captain obvious!

I am curious what people who know about such things think - it seems to make basic sense that from a supply/repair point of view a single LTE handset is a lot simpler to deal with than 2 or 3 or 5... Wondering how realistic that is and what can be gleaned from what competitors with recent releases have done.
My opinion is going to have several models similar to the 5s, but with a touch more consolidation.
I7guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2014, 12:50 AM   #6
pesos
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Now that the QUALCOMM chip is confirmed, does anyone with technical knowledge of the LTE bands know if this one chip could enable Apple to sell the same phone in Japan and the US?
__________________
iPhone 5; iPod Touch 5g; Apple TV G2, Surface 2, Surface Pro 3
"I hate all operating systems equally, but some I hate more equally than others."
pesos is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Virgin Mobile only network that you can't roam in Canada? pauly1 iPhone 9 Feb 23, 2014 10:09 AM
Contour ROAM won't show up stract MacBook Pro 1 Jan 10, 2014 05:40 PM
iPhone: Force Roam on Data Only! mstgkillr Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 5, 2013 02:47 PM
Does " Find my phone"leave a log on my iPhone when it's been use to locate the phone? rms8910 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Nov 21, 2012 11:24 AM
Swapping black iPhone 5 for white iPhone 5 thru apple (over the phone) iproductsuser iPhone 14 Sep 27, 2012 05:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC