Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 21, 2012, 11:45 PM   #1
iphonefan74
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
New iPhone has killed AT&Ts LTE network

The iPhone has totally screwed AT&Ts LTE! It would usually take a few seconds to download an app under 5MB. It literally took me 48 seconds to download a 3.4MB app earlier tonight. I uninstalled it, got on my wifi and it downloaded in a second. Not only that but my Speedtest results show it too. I would average between 5-7Mbps down and around 2-3 up. Been running different tests most the day and I am lucky to hit 3Mbps down and 1 up. Most are around 2 down and under 1 up. Screw you iPhone!
iphonefan74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:30 AM   #2
Calidude
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
That sucks. It hasn't even begun either. There's millions of iPhones still in transit.
Calidude is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 08:55 AM   #3
Dontazemebro
macrumors 68000
 
Dontazemebro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: I dunno, somewhere in West Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calidude View Post
That sucks. It hasn't even begun either. There's millions of iPhones still in transit.
This is the one thing I was worried about. There goes my 50Mbps + speed.
Dontazemebro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 09:39 AM   #4
LIVEFRMNYC
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I haven't been affected yet in NYC.
LIVEFRMNYC is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 10:08 AM   #5
LSUtigers03
macrumors 68000
 
LSUtigers03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIVEFRMNYC View Post
I haven't been affected yet in NYC.
Me either. I'm in Louisiana and I still average high 20's to low 30's down. Sometimes it's higher.
LSUtigers03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 06:07 PM   #6
ChrisTX
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
I'm on a Galaxy SIII, haven't been affected yet either in Houston, TX.
__________________
Thanks Steve for all of the awesome technology!
Proud owner of an early 2011 15" MacBook Pro, First gen 15" MacBook Pro, iPad 3, Apple TV, Prototype iPhone 5P, and numerous iPods.
ChrisTX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 09:20 PM   #7
iphonefan74
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
The first pic with the white SIII is from today in the Verizon store on LTE. The screenshot is from my SIII on AT&Ts LTE. Same server in LA even. This is even worse than 3G speeds, pathetic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	verizon.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	361452   Click image for larger version

Name:	att.png
Views:	55
Size:	460.1 KB
ID:	361453  
iphonefan74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 03:19 AM   #8
aneftp
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Something doesn't seem right.

U were inside a cell store for 51 minutes? Must have been long wait?

Ping time on bottom is over 400ms. I've never seem that long of a ping except when my Verizon gnex LTE was searching and switching between LTE and 3G.

Strange to get that slow of a LTE speed on att LTE. Usually the guarantee speed is 5-12mpbs even with congestion.
aneftp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 11:30 AM   #9
FX120
macrumors 65816
 
FX120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Seems fine here in Portland ...

20-30mbps down consistently in a variety of areas. Downloaded a 500mb update for my Xperia ion last night and it was lightning fast.
FX120 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 11:37 AM   #10
blackhand1001
macrumors 68030
 
blackhand1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
iOS is a data pig. It uses so much more data than android and I don't know why. The apps are always much larger than android apps as well. They must also try to maintain connections all the time as well.
__________________
Macbook 2008
HP Dv7t - 2.53 ghz, 9600m GT, WSXGA+, 120gb ssd, 250 gb 7200rpm
Core i7 3770k, 8gb ram, 2x 120gb sdd raid0, 500gb hdd, GTX 460
Moto X Dev Edition (VZW) Nexus 7

Last edited by blackhand1001; Sep 23, 2012 at 11:43 AM.
blackhand1001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:25 PM   #11
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Galaxy S3 has 3 antennas and plastic body.

Iphone 5 has only 2 antennas and metal body.

From high school physics I learned a metal enclosure can block signals.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:45 PM   #12
siurpeeman
macrumors 603
 
siurpeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: the OC
Send a message via AIM to siurpeeman
you ever think about blaming at&t for not being able to handle the huge influx of lte devices (new iphones) this weekend? if anything, your two pictures show that verizon was ready for it (as a bunch of users also got new iphones), and at&t was not.
__________________
grr...argh...
siurpeeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:48 PM   #13
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
tbayrgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
I thought the same thing--my LTE speeds were quite a bit slower in Tampa on Friday than I would typically see on my iPad but just ran this test--seems to have bounced back.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	190.2 KB
ID:	361853  
tbayrgs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 01:52 PM   #14
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
tbayrgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
Galaxy S3 has 3 antennas and plastic body.

Iphone 5 has only 2 antennas and metal body.

From high school physics I learned a metal enclosure can block signals.
??

He ran both tests on a GS3, just different networks.

I think his point was that the huge influx of new LTE iPhones onto AT&T's network has killed the bandwidth.

Good at high school physics. Reading comprehension, not so much.
tbayrgs is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 02:13 PM   #15
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Actually the poster's english is not good. He says his S3 is on at&t LTE and his screenshot has good speeds. Yet he said he was in a verizon store. Seems like his S3 and iphone are both on at&t, he just happens to be in a verizon store doing the screenshot. He should clarify.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 02:17 PM   #16
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
Actually the poster's english is not good. He says his S3 is on at&t LTE and his screenshot has good speeds. Yet he said he was in a verizon store. Seems like his S3 and iphone are both on at&t, he just happens to be in a verizon store doing the screenshot. He should clarify.
Please read the below quote again and own up to your mistake instead of blaming it on iphonefan74.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iphonefan74 View Post
The first pic with the white SIII is from today in the Verizon store on LTE. The screenshot is from my SIII on AT&Ts LTE. Same server in LA even. This is even worse than 3G speeds, pathetic.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 02:21 PM   #17
siurpeeman
macrumors 603
 
siurpeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: the OC
Send a message via AIM to siurpeeman
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
Actually the poster's english is not good. He says his S3 is on at&t LTE and his screenshot has good speeds. Yet he said he was in a verizon store. Seems like his S3 and iphone are both on at&t, he just happens to be in a verizon store doing the screenshot. He should clarify.
more clearly, the op's phone is a galaxy s3 on at&t's network. he compared his network speed with another galaxy s3, a display model inside a verizon store. no iphones were used to demonstrate network speed in either of the pics.
__________________
grr...argh...
siurpeeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 02:32 PM   #18
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
tbayrgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
Actually the poster's english is not good. He says his S3 is on at&t LTE and his screenshot has good speeds. Yet he said he was in a verizon store. Seems like his S3 and iphone are both on at&t, he just happens to be in a verizon store doing the screenshot. He should clarify.
Point proven.
tbayrgs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:26 PM   #19
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gotcha, I see.

Well, also it's 4 bars vs 3 bars, could be more of a coverage issue than anything.

Will also note that in my small town we have only 3G from at&t and lately we get 4-5 mbps average speed. On iphone 5 launch day our 3G speeds went down below 0.2 mbps and a ping greater than 250 ms. But by nighttime speeds returned. It could be a network/server issue, but it certainly was temporary.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:07 PM   #20
Southernboyj
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
I'm on Verizon. You jelly?

__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:16 PM   #21
LSUtigers03
macrumors 68000
 
LSUtigers03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
I'm on Verizon. You jelly?

Image
Nah I'll stick with AT&T.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-09-23-22-13-52.png
Views:	33
Size:	104.8 KB
ID:	362170  
LSUtigers03 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:21 PM   #22
Southernboyj
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUtigers03 View Post
Nah I'll stick with AT&T.
AT&T only has HSPA+ where I live.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:56 PM   #23
LSUtigers03
macrumors 68000
 
LSUtigers03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
AT&T only has HSPA+ where I live.
Then Verizon is a good choice because after having LTE I couldn't go back to HSPA+.
LSUtigers03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 11:07 PM   #24
iphonefan74
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Ok, I'm an idiot. Had no idea that AT&T pushed an update for the SIII a couple days ago that updated the PRL and new firmware for the LTE radio. Installed it last night and my speeds are back to normal. Carry on
iphonefan74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 01:07 AM   #25
Southernboyj
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUtigers03 View Post
Then Verizon is a good choice because after having LTE I couldn't go back to HSPA+.
I feel the same, my previous phone was an iPhone 4S on AT&T's network.

Honestly going from my iPhone 4 to 4S (HSPA to HSPA+) I didn't notice any speed difference. Going from a 4S over to Verizon's LTE network on my GS3 is like night and day.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon iPhone 5S on AT&T's LTE Network, can anyone confirm? Jay A whY iPhone 2 Sep 20, 2013 11:37 PM
AT&T, what an amazing 4G, 4G LTE network! BlockEight88 iPhone 79 Jul 24, 2013 09:06 PM
Will a AT&T IPhone 5 use LTE on a Candian Network corry20 iPhone 2 Mar 31, 2013 03:05 AM
AT&T LTE Network DOWN (Fixed) proathlete03 iPhone 33 Oct 26, 2012 09:23 AM
Whose LTE network will take the hardest hit with an LTE iPhone giper54 iPhone 26 Aug 27, 2012 10:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC