Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2005, 12:37 AM   #1
derajfast
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
boot from external HD

i just installed tiger on an external harddrive and it worked well, but once i restarted, it booted from my internal hdd......is there a way i can easily switch between the 2 without having to restart or change the settings from which disk to boot from first? i mean i know something as simple as clicking which i want to boot from probably doesnt exist, but is there anything that can make it easier?
derajfast is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 12:46 AM   #2
aznsal612
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by derajfast
i just installed tiger on an external harddrive and it worked well, but once i restarted, it booted from my internal hdd......is there a way i can easily switch between the 2 without having to restart or change the settings from which disk to boot from first? i mean i know something as simple as clicking which i want to boot from probably doesnt exist, but is there anything that can make it easier?
You have to hold specific key when you restart your computer.

last time I checked, I think it was the key "c". not sure.
aznsal612 is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 12:50 AM   #3
reberto
macrumors 65816
 
reberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznsal612
You have to hold specific key when you restart your computer.

last time I checked, I think it was the key "c". not sure.
I think that is to boot off of a CD. Try going to System Prefs/Start-up disk. I should show up there.
reberto is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 12:57 AM   #4
derajfast
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
so every time i want to boot from another drive i have to restart and hold down a key?
derajfast is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 01:01 AM   #5
faintember
macrumors 65816
 
faintember's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: the ruins of the Cherokee nation
Quote:
Originally Posted by derajfast
so every time i want to boot from another drive i have to restart and hold down a key?
I think so (that is if you want to boot from a secondary/external drive). I think you can do this by holding down "option" when booting. Holding down "c" boots from the cd, and you could do it that way. Put in your system cd, boot up holding "c", go to startup disk, and then select the external. There has to be an easier way than that, but i am unaware of it.
__________________
creation through destruction
faintember is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 01:03 AM   #6
derajfast
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
hmm so theres no program that lets me toggle between them or anything?
derajfast is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 01:06 AM   #7
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by derajfast
so every time i want to boot from another drive i have to restart and hold down a key?

Well, as reberto says, open up System Preferences and under Start Up Disk, you should be able to select your external drive to start from every time if that's what you want.

OSX looks for appropriate start up volumes on boot up anyway, so if you select the external but you have appropriate system files on your inbuilt hard drive and you unplug the external, it should still start up from the original internal drive however it may take a little longer as it goes searching for appropriate files.

Having said that, I've only had experience with the original 10.0 and not 10.4 and from what some people say around here, that feature may have been overwritten however I don't know why and I think that's unlikely.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 01:08 AM   #8
faintember
macrumors 65816
 
faintember's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: the ruins of the Cherokee nation
check this out
http://davespicks.com/writing/progra...keys.html#boot
__________________
creation through destruction
faintember is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 01:10 AM   #9
faintember
macrumors 65816
 
faintember's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: the ruins of the Cherokee nation
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
Well, as reberto says, open up System Preferences and under Start Up Disk, you should be able to select your external drive to start from every time if that's what you want.

OSX looks for appropriate start up volumes on boot up anyway, so if you select the external but you have appropriate system files on your inbuilt hard drive and you unplug the external, it should still start up from the original internal drive however it may take a little longer as it goes searching for appropriate files.

Having said that, I've only had experience with the original 10.0 and not 10.4 and from what some people say around here, that feature may have been overwritten however I don't know why and I think that's unlikely.
Sry for the double post, but, lets say if the internal hd failed, then what command would you use to boot from the external? Would you boot holding cmd-opt-shift-delete?
__________________
creation through destruction
faintember is offline   0
Old Aug 22, 2005, 01:14 AM   #10
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by faintember
Sry for the double post, but, lets say if the internal hd failed, then what command would you use to boot from the external? Would you boot holding cmd-opt-shift-delete?

I guess you would but sorry, I don't have an external nearby to try it out on.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2005, 05:55 AM   #11
cygni
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Ok, I am trying to do the very same thing (boot from an external usb hd).
I have tried everything on this thread and nothing is working. I can't even use the backed up data that I cloned (using carbon copy) before erasing my small internal HD. So I am totally lost as to what to do next.

Does anyone have advice as to what I can do to force a boot to an external usb HD? I found an article and feedback stating it's simply impossible. I am truly open to any reasonable suggestions and would very much appreciate any help.

running os x 10.3.9 on g3 ibook (flavored), 288mb ram, all orig. hardware. with a new western digital external 160gb hard drive. thanks!
cygni is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2005, 06:43 AM   #12
timnosenzo
macrumors 6502a
 
timnosenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ct, us
Quote:
Originally Posted by cygni
Ok, I am trying to do the very same thing (boot from an external usb hd).
I have tried everything on this thread and nothing is working. I can't even use the backed up data that I cloned (using carbon copy) before erasing my small internal HD. So I am totally lost as to what to do next.

Does anyone have advice as to what I can do to force a boot to an external usb HD? I found an article and feedback stating it's simply impossible. I am truly open to any reasonable suggestions and would very much appreciate any help.

running os x 10.3.9 on g3 ibook (flavored), 288mb ram, all orig. hardware. with a new western digital external 160gb hard drive. thanks!
pretty sure you can't boot from a USB drive
timnosenzo is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2005, 06:51 AM   #13
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosen
pretty sure you can't boot from a USB drive
Why...? I used to boot my old Pismo from an external USB1.1 disk...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2005, 07:50 AM   #14
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo
Why...? I used to boot my old Pismo from an external USB1.1 disk...
I didn't think you could boot from USB either but I suspect 'received wisdom' rather than fact is involved. Thearticle above seem to suggest that it's because the firewire ports become live through open firmware while the USB ones don't until later in the boot process.

Although it doesn't help you, cygni, the lesson for others is always to test booting from your new clone before you erase your current HD.

Apple seem to suggest that it might work but isn't expected to work
Link

Can you boot from your OS X restore/install disk and then access the data on your USB drive? It might not help with the booting issue but it might help.

If your drive isn't too big and you have a large iPod, you may be able to copy the structure on the USB drive over to a partition on the iPod and then boot from that if it's Firewire?
__________________
Oops.... the cat killed the rabbit
Applespider is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2005, 08:43 AM   #15
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applespider
Apple seem to suggest that it might work but isn't expected to work
Link
He-he... I like the good old Pismo better and better...

Thanks for the link. Explains the inconsistency...

Hmm... maybe I should try this with my current iBook one of these days... I have that old USB1.1 disk laying around somewhere...

To the OP (to get back on topic ): Does the external USB drive show up if you hold down the option key during boot, as faintember suggested earlier, (should give you a slow blue screen with one button for each bootable volume and some arrows, like this)?
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Aug 23, 2005, 01:44 PM   #16
cygni
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applespider
I didn't think you could boot from USB either but I suspect 'received wisdom' rather than fact is involved. Thearticle above seem to suggest that it's because the firewire ports become live through open firmware while the USB ones don't until later in the boot process.

Although it doesn't help you, cygni, the lesson for others is always to test booting from your new clone before you erase your current HD.

Apple seem to suggest that it might work but isn't expected to work
Link

Can you boot from your OS X restore/install disk and then access the data on your USB drive? It might not help with the booting issue but it might help.

If your drive isn't too big and you have a large iPod, you may be able to copy the structure on the USB drive over to a partition on the iPod and then boot from that if it's Firewire?
Yes, lesson learned. Sadly I do not have an ipod or firewire port, but I will try accessing the drive through my install disk and see what happens. Thank you!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitthrawnuruodo
To the OP (to get back on topic ): Does the external USB drive show up if you hold down the option key during boot, as faintember suggested earlier, (should give you a slow blue screen with one button for each bootable volume and some arrows, like this)?
for me the external doesn't show up, just the internal hard drive is displayed as an option. Maybe I could try installing classic and see if it gives more startup options. Thanks for the link!
cygni is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Boot SSD ThomRimmer iMac 10 May 22, 2014 06:12 PM
Resolved: Can't boot from external HD? ChrisMan287 PowerPC Macs 18 Dec 3, 2012 11:02 PM
Boot from external LJMoloney Mac Basics and Help 5 Nov 2, 2012 04:51 AM
Using external HD to boot from applejacker iMac 16 Oct 5, 2012 09:29 AM
Tried to boot from external harddrive! vjicecool MacBook Air 0 Jul 4, 2012 05:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC