Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:42 PM   #1
confusedasdf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Why does my iphone 5 say 3G even though it's an LTE area?

I had a blackberry and switched to an iPhone on Verizon. I'm on the unlimited plan, which i think i was on for the blackberry. Am i supposed to switch to the 2GB plan? My city has LTE coverage but it just says "Verizon 3G". I tried resetting network settings and turning it to airplane mode, but nothing happened and it just returned back to 3G.
confusedasdf is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:44 PM   #2
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Call Verizon up, It seems as though something isn't right with the account to allow for LTE access. SIM Card firmly seated, etc?
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 5S 16GB White & Silver Sprint::2010 MacBook Air 13" 1.86 C2D::iPad mini Space Gray 16GB Wi-Fi::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:56 PM   #3
confusedasdf
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
i'm going to call them up tomorrow. could this possibly be because of the unlimited plan i am on right now or is just a technical issue? i transferred an upgrade in order for me to upgrade to the iphone from the blackberry and kept the same plan i was on the blackberry for the iphone.
confusedasdf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:36 AM   #4
dbeard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I have the same issue with 4glte verizon

I just activated 2 iphone 5's last night. Both say 3g
called tech, 1st lady told me Chicago was not yet 4glte, I requested a tech as I did not switch carriers to pay more for the same. tech resent info, I reset my phone, did the latest update and connected to my wifi. Still 3g only.

not happy at all
dbeard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:42 AM   #5
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Is there any way to check and see if another LTE phone on a different line is getting LTE in your area? If they aren't either, then it's probably because there's no coverage by you.

Just because a carrier says a city has LTE, doesn't meant the WHOLE city is blanketed with it. Sprint users are finding that out that hard way.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 03:23 PM   #6
Stuntman06
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Metro Vancouver, B.C, Canada
I noticed that sometimes, particularly indoors, I only get HSPA+. Other times I get LTE. It could be the area or that walls block the LTE signal.
__________________
<\
\>tuntman
Stuntman06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 04:16 PM   #7
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
maybe you're just not in the part of town that has LTE. ala sprint users. Could just go to your nearest Verizon store or try to reinsert your sim.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 06:52 AM   #8
Braypa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I have Verizon and commute by train in NJ and have found that my iPhone 5 goes from no service to 3G to LTE depending on the town we are traveling through. It's normal to see 3G at times.
Braypa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T Really Slow LTE Speeds in Chicago Area or is it my iPhone? KevBuckeye iPhone 53 Jan 8, 2013 03:27 PM
All iPads: iPad 4 LTE only shows "3G" in LTE covered area haruhiko iPad 7 Nov 26, 2012 02:07 AM
Verizon iPhone 5 LTE speed in Boston area? Bruins Fan iPhone 20 Oct 22, 2012 11:44 PM
LTE , on or off? If you don't have LTE in area Arnezie iPhone 4 Sep 24, 2012 09:31 AM
AT&T LTE indicator not appearing in LTE-covered area thetaco25 iPhone 14 Sep 21, 2012 01:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC