Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 25, 2012, 10:16 AM   #1
davidlv
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Activity Monitor & quad-core i7

Should the CPU tab of Activity Monitor show all 4 cores on a quad-core i7 MBP late 2011 2.2GHz?
On my Mac mini 2011 base model, the CPU tab shows 4 panes, 2 cores and 2 virtual cores, and on a 2009 MBP C2D, it show 2 panes, 1 for each core.
All I see on the quad-core is one pane. Is this normal? Activity Monitor doesn't show a version number, just 10.8.0.
Running OS X 10.8.2
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2011, 2.2GHz, 16GB Patriot RAM, 256GB Plextor M5P Xtreme SSD ; Mac Mini 2011 Base model 8GB RAM, 256GB Plextor M5S SSD

Last edited by davidlv; Sep 25, 2012 at 02:00 PM.
davidlv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:32 AM   #2
Fed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool.
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidlv View Post
Should Activity Monitor show all 4 cores on a quad-core i7 MBP late 2011 2.2GHz?
On my Mac mini 2011 base model, it shows 4 panes, 2 cores and 2 virtual cores, and on a 2009 MBP C2D, it show 2 panes, 1 for each core.
All I see on the quad-core is one pane. Is this normal? Activity Monitor doesn't show a version number, just 10.8.0.
Running OS X 10.8.2
I'm not sure about the default Mac app but iStat Menus is well worth the money.

I did just check my activity monitor, under 'CPU' it shows 4 for a 2 core i7.
Fed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 12:08 PM   #3
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidlv View Post
Should Activity Monitor show all 4 cores on a quad-core i7 MBP late 2011 2.2GHz?
On my Mac mini 2011 base model, it shows 4 panes, 2 cores and 2 virtual cores, and on a 2009 MBP C2D, it show 2 panes, 1 for each core.
All I see on the quad-core is one pane. Is this normal? Activity Monitor doesn't show a version number, just 10.8.0.
Running OS X 10.8.2
Yes, that is normal. There is a CPU window where you can view all 8 cores (4 physical, 4 virtual)
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 02:02 PM   #4
davidlv
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Yes, that is normal. There is a CPU window where you can view all 8 cores (4 physical, 4 virtual)
Well, thanks, but something isn't right, the CPU tab only shows 1 pane.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2011, 2.2GHz, 16GB Patriot RAM, 256GB Plextor M5P Xtreme SSD ; Mac Mini 2011 Base model 8GB RAM, 256GB Plextor M5S SSD
davidlv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 02:04 PM   #5
Ledgem
macrumors 6502a
 
Ledgem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidlv View Post
Well, thanks, but something isn't right, the CPU tab only shows 1 pane.
Double-click it to bring up all eight panes (four "real" cores, four virtual - the order seems to be a real core followed by a virtual core, repeating like that).
Ledgem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 02:19 PM   #6
davidlv
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledgem View Post
Double-click it to bring up all eight panes (four "real" cores, four virtual - the order seems to be a real core followed by a virtual core, repeating like that).
Thanks! Problem solved.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2011, 2.2GHz, 16GB Patriot RAM, 256GB Plextor M5P Xtreme SSD ; Mac Mini 2011 Base model 8GB RAM, 256GB Plextor M5S SSD
davidlv is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacPro Quad Core 32g Ram running slow Logic using only 9g in Activity Monitor julian6400 Mac Pro 3 Jun 27, 2013 04:55 AM
actywatchD & actywatchUA in Activity Monitor - Help kliq MacBook Pro 5 Jun 14, 2013 06:19 PM
2012 iMac with I7 shows only ONE core in Activity Monitor SDDave2007 iMac 11 Mar 30, 2013 03:45 PM
New quad core mini & fcp x Ajpat Mac mini 5 Oct 31, 2012 02:10 PM
2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 VS 2.6GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 birthmark MacBook Pro 8 Jun 22, 2012 03:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC