Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2012, 12:43 AM   #1
nickmccally
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
iPhone 5 using LTE data while on WIFI!

I've been having weird issues lately. My battery doesn't seem to work properly (losing 1% ever 2 minutes of use), wifi is a hit or miss, and my cellular signal is significantly worse than my 4S. It gets less bars in the same places.

Tonight I connect to wifi, and decided to run a long video on youtube. The ENTIRE TIME connected to wifi. I get a txt message saying I used 1gb of data in ONE day!!! (from verizon)

I checked my usage just 2 hours prior and was at 270mb. Now over 1gb. Something is terrible wrong, why would LTE be used if I was of wifi?!!?! I am getting charged for this! The only time I did anything data intensive was watching the youtube video WHILE connected to wifi.

Do I have a lemon? Does anyone notice odd reception, worse than usual battery life, wifi I believe is software, but now its using my data on my cell plan while connected to wifi (showing the wifi icon in the status bar). I reset the phone 2 times today. I did a full restore (not from backup) after noticing significantly worse battery than my iPhone 4S that was a year old.

----------

I am now at 1.7gb while my iphone is just sitting on the home screen......
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPhone 4 (Verizon)
AppleTV
nickmccally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:09 AM   #2
lelisa13p
macrumors 68000
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Did you try turning OFF the LTE to see if anything changes?
lelisa13p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:18 AM   #3
nickmccally
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I didn't purchase this device to play with the settings every time I want to browse the Internet. I guess I must have a hardware issue this seems pretty extreme to count wifi data as data over the network.
nickmccally is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:20 AM   #4
calvol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I hope this is not an antenna issue. Does it matter how you hold it?
calvol is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:24 AM   #5
nickmccally
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I'm not sure if this relates but I called Verizon twice because mobile hotspot wasn't showing up. Had to reset network twice. Starting to think something really is just wrong with the hardware. I have had it in a case so haven't been handling it too much with my bare hands.
nickmccally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:26 AM   #6
CBR900RR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Middle of Pacific
Send a message via ICQ to CBR900RR
Did you set up as new phone or restore from back up?
__________________
Free FXsound ringtone
CBR900RR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:28 AM   #7
nickmccally
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I already said this is a clean install not a backup.
nickmccally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:34 AM   #8
Icealicy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I don't use wifi much although today I did. I have had my iPhone since launch and it says I've used 8 GB of data. Something is honestly wrong because there is no way I have used 8 GB. Let alone even 3 GB wow.

Edit: my usage statistics on my phone is saying this. I have not checked what AT and T is saying but I will later.
Icealicy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:36 AM   #9
nickmccally
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icealicy View Post
I don't use wifi much although today I did. I have had my iPhone since launch and it says I've used 8 GB of data. Something is honestly wrong because there is no way I have used 8 GB. Let alone even 3 GB wow.

Edit: my usage statistics on my phone is saying this. I have not checked what AT and T is saying but I will later.
My iPhone is saying 1.7 Verizon is saying 1.1. In my account history I have never ever hit 1.1gb. I have hit this only 3 days into the billing cycle.
nickmccally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:48 AM   #10
niteriderxp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Well I am on WiFi at home and at work.
The other day I noticed my data usage has spiked.

Also, I am noticing that when it comes out of standby it shows LTE instead of Wifi.

Sometimes it just stays on LTE at work even though there is WiFi.
I saw this at work, wondering if its because my work uses WPA2-ENT auth.
niteriderxp is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:01 AM   #11
boomhower
macrumors 65816
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Being I don't have LTE to confirm lots of folks are saying the phone will connect to the fastest connection. With the speed of a lot of LTE connections it's very possible it's faster than your wifi so your phone is using LTE over the slower wifi. Not sure if there is a setting somewhere to defeat the behavior other than turning LTE off.
__________________
2013 Macbook Pro 13 Retina iPad Mini iPhone 6 Gen 3 Apple TV
boomhower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:16 AM   #12
HowardSmith
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmccally View Post
I've been having weird issues lately. My battery doesn't seem to work properly (losing 1% ever 2 minutes of use), wifi is a hit or miss, and my cellular signal is significantly worse than my 4S. It gets less bars in the same places.

Tonight I connect to wifi, and decided to run a long video on youtube. The ENTIRE TIME connected to wifi. I get a txt message saying I used 1gb of data in ONE day!!! (from verizon)

I checked my usage just 2 hours prior and was at 270mb. Now over 1gb. Something is terrible wrong, why would LTE be used if I was of wifi?!!?! I am getting charged for this! The only time I did anything data intensive was watching the youtube video WHILE connected to wifi.

Do I have a lemon? Does anyone notice odd reception, worse than usual battery life, wifi I believe is software, but now its using my data on my cell plan while connected to wifi (showing the wifi icon in the status bar). I reset the phone 2 times today. I did a full restore (not from backup) after noticing significantly worse battery than my iPhone 4S that was a year old.

----------

I am now at 1.7gb while my iphone is just sitting on the home screen......
You, yourself say that you are having "odd reception" and if you are downloading something and your WiFi is not providing data, even though you have the WiFi icon on the screen, it sounds like it switched over to LTE to complete your download. Maybe a problem with your WiFi antenna or even you WiFi connection.

I would say this could be a warning to everyone who downloads large files.
HowardSmith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:51 AM   #13
Daftbrush
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
This may explain the problem I have.

My phone doesn't seem to stay connected to the wifi when locked and being charged meaning I don't get iCloud backups overnight.

I've also use a considerable amount of data even though I'm connected to wifi, although if this is being disconnected in favour of LTE without my knowledge when charging and locked might be why. I'm going to switch off LTE until more details on this emerge.
Daftbrush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:27 AM   #14
negrohero9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: D[M]V
Shoulda got a sprint iPhone 5 then you wouldnt have to worry about the amount of data you use...even if it was accidental
negrohero9 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:31 AM   #15
mattopotamus
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icealicy View Post
I don't use wifi much although today I did. I have had my iPhone since launch and it says I've used 8 GB of data. Something is honestly wrong because there is no way I have used 8 GB. Let alone even 3 GB wow.

Edit: my usage statistics on my phone is saying this. I have not checked what AT and T is saying but I will later.
well, usage is everything...both wifi and LTE. Did you restore from a backup? That could be where the large number came from.
mattopotamus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:32 AM   #16
silver25u
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
See related thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1450572
silver25u is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:34 AM   #17
boomhower
macrumors 65816
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by negrohero9 View Post
Shoulda got a sprint iPhone 5 then you wouldnt have to worry about the amount of data you use...even if it was accidental
Unless your in a few select LTE areas it's pointless as it's so darn slow. I've had Sprint, at their speeds unlimited is just pointless.
__________________
2013 Macbook Pro 13 Retina iPad Mini iPhone 6 Gen 3 Apple TV
boomhower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:39 AM   #18
iapplelove
macrumors 68000
 
iapplelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Coast USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomhower View Post
Being I don't have LTE to confirm lots of folks are saying the phone will connect to the fastest connection. With the speed of a lot of LTE connections it's very possible it's faster than your wifi so your phone is using LTE over the slower wifi. Not sure if there is a setting somewhere to defeat the behavior other than turning LTE off.
I was thinking the same for a moment however I thought once on wifi it bypasses cellular no matter the speeds. op as much of a pain as it is I would say since its so new just swap phones and start with a fresh one
__________________
15" MBP 2012 ,8gb ram,500gb hd/iphone 6 Plus 128gb/ipad Air 64gb/ipod nano/apple tv 3rd gen
iapplelove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:43 AM   #19
bova80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
not sure why OP is getting so defensive when someone suggested to try turning off LTE while on wifi just to see what happens. He wasn't saying do that all the time he just said to do it to test the theory.
bova80 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:43 AM   #20
negrohero9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: D[M]V
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomhower View Post
Unless your in a few select LTE areas it's pointless as it's so darn slow. I've had Sprint, at their speeds unlimited is just pointless.
I do have my iPhone 5 on Sprint and I am getting LTE speeds...not slow at all. Guess it just depends on where you live. I'm getting 27 down, 21 up but idk it could just be the area I live in.
negrohero9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:46 AM   #21
boomhower
macrumors 65816
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by negrohero9 View Post
I do have my iPhone 5 on Sprint and I am getting LTE speeds...not slow at all. Guess it just depends on where you live. I'm getting 27 down, 21 up but idk it could just be the area I live in.
The very first sentence I wrote is, unless you live in one of the select LTE areas. If memory serves there's a whopping seven or so cities.
__________________
2013 Macbook Pro 13 Retina iPad Mini iPhone 6 Gen 3 Apple TV
boomhower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:47 AM   #22
nfl46
macrumors 601
 
nfl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Perhaps, you should turn off LTE and cellular data while on Wifi and you won't have to worry about it connecting to 4G or LTE. If you don't want to, then deal with the overages. All it takes is a flip of the button.
nfl46 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 07:39 AM   #23
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
FWIW It may be an iOS6 issue not a phone issue. I have a similar issue on my 4S.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:26 AM   #24
rcpiercy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I'm having the exact same issue as OP. The only thing I've intentionally gotten over LTE (aside from web browsing and maps) was a 10MB podcast, which magically showed up as 311.19MB. There are massive chunks of data on my pre-bill statement that are timestamped when I am at home or school connected to WiFi. I'm currently sitting at 1.517GB used since Friday. Even more strange is that the phone itself is showing 116MB up and 3.6GB down in the cellular usage statistics (and it was reset at 1.30PM on 9/21) so I guess I'm lucky?!?
I spoke with Verizon phone support and all she could say (even after I'd clearly explained this 5 times) is that when the phone is connected to WiFi, it downloads over WiFi. To which I kindly responded (5 times) that I know how the phone is supposed to work, and in a perfect world where I don't have to call tech support numbers, that is how it should work, but that is not what is happening-- hence I am calling technical support. Then I asked if when people call and say their phone won't turn on, do you say, "phones turn on"? I'm pretty sure her head exploded. Apple wasn't much better over the phone.
I turned LTE data off which has put a stop on all data charges and I made a Genius Bar appointment for tomorrow. I suspect part of the problem is that when the phone goes to sleep, it disconnects from WiFi, but this doesn't explain these massive data charges (haven't streamed any video to the phone, listened to a couple of podcasts at home with the screen turned off).
I've printed out this thread, my usage statistics and a couple of threads over at the Verizon website (to ensure they either won't think I'm crazy, or will think that I am more crazy, not sure yet) -- I will share how the Genius Bar appointment goes here, tomorrow. Very frustrated.
rcpiercy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:33 AM   #25
dcorban
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
As someone who has worked in tech support, I have to say that there is almost nothing a user could say to me that would convince me their phone is using LTE when connected to wifi. It would get filed under "user error".
__________________
The Americans can always be trusted to do the right thing, once all other possibilities have been exhausted.
dcorban is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 wifi and LTE issues -- anyone else? DrMotownMac iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Jul 16, 2013 01:43 AM
Verizon iPad 3 Using LTE Data not Wifi Dunbar iPad 13 Sep 24, 2012 08:38 PM
How much LTE data do you already use on your iPhone 5? MacPro23 iPhone 11 Sep 21, 2012 12:03 PM
Verizon iPhone 5 during a call: no data *at all* or just no *LTE* data? wildonrio iPhone 2 Sep 15, 2012 12:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC