Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:34 AM   #26
cmbbba
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Having massive data usage also on VZW. Even with being on wifi all day, my data count keeps going up when I check myverizon account. Wonder if issue is on Apple side or VZW?
cmbbba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:38 AM   #27
rick98761
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeySee.... View Post
FWIW It may be an iOS6 issue not a phone issue. I have a similar issue on my 4S.
Well iOS 6 does have that new setting that allows it to switch to cell if the wifi signal is weak. It's nice for a constant connection when backing out of the garage, etc. I'm wondering if there is a bug in it?
rick98761 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:39 AM   #28
applesith
macrumors 68000
 
applesith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I think mine has been doing this too but I have unlimited data so I wont be bothered with turning LTE on/off every time I want to use my phone.
applesith is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:39 AM   #29
UCF Sam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Perhaps it is the new feature in iOS6 that switches data over to Cell if it detects a problem with wifi?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nX9UVKPw0_g
UCF Sam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:41 AM   #30
zorinlynx
macrumors 68000
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Since Friday, 216MB received, 39.1MB sent. I can account for a chunk of it with speed tests, and random web browsing on LTE. I haven't had any appreciable usage while on Wifi.

I think iCloud may be at fault for some of you. I'm suddenly pretty glad I don't use it much.
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:44 AM   #31
NavyDude065
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Try this

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmccally View Post
I've been having weird issues lately. My battery doesn't seem to work properly (losing 1% ever 2 minutes of use), wifi is a hit or miss, and my cellular signal is significantly worse than my 4S. It gets less bars in the same places.

Tonight I connect to wifi, and decided to run a long video on youtube. The ENTIRE TIME connected to wifi. I get a txt message saying I used 1gb of data in ONE day!!! (from verizon)

I checked my usage just 2 hours prior and was at 270mb. Now over 1gb. Something is terrible wrong, why would LTE be used if I was of wifi?!!?! I am getting charged for this! The only time I did anything data intensive was watching the youtube video WHILE connected to wifi.

Do I have a lemon? Does anyone notice odd reception, worse than usual battery life, wifi I believe is software, but now its using my data on my cell plan while connected to wifi (showing the wifi icon in the status bar). I reset the phone 2 times today. I did a full restore (not from backup) after noticing significantly worse battery than my iPhone 4S that was a year old.

----------

I am now at 1.7gb while my iphone is just sitting on the home screen......
I had the same problems, but now working correctly. Try this....

I had problems of sometimes slow wifi and wifi disconnected and tried all the posted possible solutions with no luck. My iphone 5 wifi is now working perfectly and this is what I did.

- I remained on WEP security, but WPA2 worked fine also.
- Changed my channel from 9 to 7, this gave me a speed increase.
- Disable the N side of my router, G only. Another speed increase.
- QoS settings, disabled WMM.

Also selected a static IP address with a DNS of
24.222.0.94, 24.222.0.95

If you restored from an older iphone ensure both devices are not using the same static IP address, this happened to me and it created connection problems.

These setting gave me an increase in wifi speed but not the random disconnects.

This fixed my random disconnects and been working perfectly ever since.

- backup iphone in itunes.
- Download the IOS 6 firmware for the iphone 5 from here

http://absinthejailbreak.com/all-app...-download-now/

Then click shift-restore (might be update) and select the firmware which will reinstall IOS 6 and erase all content and reset your iphone to factory.

restore your backup and then go into iphone settings>General>Reset and select Reset Network Setting. Once rebooted, Setting> Wi-Fi and select your wifi and enter security string. Then change to static and ensure the IP address isn't used by another wifi device connected to your home wifi network. I found using DNS of 8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4 gave me speed problems.

This did the trick for me and solved all my wifi problems. Good luck!!
NavyDude065 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:48 AM   #32
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick98761 View Post
Well iOS 6 does have that new setting that allows it to switch to cell if the wifi signal is weak. It's nice for a constant connection when backing out of the garage, etc. I'm wondering if there is a bug in it?
mmmm. I don't have that feature?
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:52 AM   #33
appswipe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Nothing an NFC tag couldn't fix. Just program an NFC tag to change your settings from LTE to WiFi only and put the sticker someone near your entry door so when you come home you just tap your phone on the sticker and it switches it from the "Car Mode" you were just using to "Home Mode". Oh wait...


Seriously though, I do wish there was some sort of "quick settings" we could access through either the notifications drop down or an optional page to the left of the search page.

Last edited by appswipe; Sep 26, 2012 at 08:58 AM.
appswipe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:54 AM   #34
scaredpoet
macrumors 601
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmccally View Post
I didn't purchase this device to play with the settings every time I want to browse the Internet.
If you're unwilling to do basic troubleshooting steps to figure out where the source of the problem may lie, or how serious that problem may be, then I guess your only recourse is to go back to Verizon and return your iPhone 5 for a refund.

Is it a hardware problem or software? Is it just your phone, or a problem with all 5s? Guess we won't find out because you have the phone and refuse to "play with the settings" to get even basic answers on the root cause. Oh well!

Maybe you can get a Droid, and see how far "not playing with the settings" gets you there.
scaredpoet is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:16 AM   #35
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeySee.... View Post
mmmm. I don't have that feature?

It was removed in the final build of iOS 6. I was wondering why I couldn't find it on my phone.


http://www.idownloadblog.com/2012/09...sing-in-ios-6/
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB iPad Air | TV
16GB Samsung GS4 | 16GB Nexus 4 | 16GB Nexus 7
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:26 AM   #36
Blackforge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylon View Post
It was removed in the final build of iOS 6. I was wondering why I couldn't find it on my phone.


http://www.idownloadblog.com/2012/09...sing-in-ios-6/
It may still be silently doing this from testing with an AT&T 4S running iOS6. We had users report about having problems getting to ActiveSync while on a certain WiFi network here at work. The device I was testing with eventually hit a timeout and just started working. However, it was then obviously working through cellular data, as other services that would normally be blocked started working as well.

So it may be that just the toggle was removed to be able to disable this.
__________________
2011 MacBook Pro 15" HR-AG 2.2 8GB 750GB 7200 Momentus XT
Blackforge is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:36 AM   #37
rcpiercy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcorban View Post
As someone who has worked in tech support, I have to say that there is almost nothing a user could say to me that would convince me their phone is using LTE when connected to wifi. It would get filed under "user error".
As someone who works in tech support, I'm right there with you. This problem is inexplicable and immensely frustrating.
rcpiercy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:46 AM   #38
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
iOS 6 is designed to drop to cellular when WiFi isn't working right. (This is a good thing - I have a lot of "fake WiFi" around me, like open hotspots that need me to enter a password or a different page or show signal that isn't really there.)

Some iPhone 5's have reported trouble maintaining a connection to WiFi running WPA2 security. Seems like a software or firmware problem.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:54 AM   #39
Mliii
macrumors 65816
 
Mliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to Mliii Send a message via Yahoo to Mliii Send a message via Skype™ to Mliii
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfl46 View Post
Perhaps, you should turn off LTE and cellular data while on Wifi and you won't have to worry about it connecting to 4G or LTE. If you don't want to, then deal with the overages. All it takes is a flip of the button.
I think OP's reasonable point is that it shouldn't be necessary to disable major functions of a brand new piece of hardware in order to get data over WiFi when that's been and is still supposed to be the default behavior of the phone.
And yes, a good idea to try turning it off to test it and see what happens to the data use. But as a daily necessity? I think not.
__________________
"...and the end of all our searching shall be to return to the place where we first started and know it for the first time" - TS Eliot
Mliii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:57 AM   #40
duke5021
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NJ
The joy of having an unlimited data plan from Verizon.

My data usage is definitely higher than it used to be, but I don't seem to be doing anything when connected to wifi or the phone is on lock. The only time I see the data spikes are on the LTE when I shut wifi off and tested it specifically.
duke5021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 10:04 AM   #41
BoxerGT2.5
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
No issues here and I use iCloud backup nightly.
BoxerGT2.5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 10:40 AM   #42
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackforge View Post
It may still be silently doing this from testing with an AT&T 4S running iOS6. We had users report about having problems getting to ActiveSync while on a certain WiFi network here at work. The device I was testing with eventually hit a timeout and just started working. However, it was then obviously working through cellular data, as other services that would normally be blocked started working as well.

So it may be that just the toggle was removed to be able to disable this.

Possibly. I'm visiting my folks for the week and due to where their router is located and the style of house, only half of the house gets a decent connection. The rest of the house gets a snotty connection and my iPhone struggles to use wifi and never bothers trying cellular. I have to manually turn off wifi to get an internet connection on those areas of the house. I wish it would automatically switch, but for me, it doesn't.
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB iPad Air | TV
16GB Samsung GS4 | 16GB Nexus 4 | 16GB Nexus 7
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:22 PM   #43
Blackforge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylon View Post
Possibly. I'm visiting my folks for the week and due to where their router is located and the style of house, only half of the house gets a decent connection. The rest of the house gets a snotty connection and my iPhone struggles to use wifi and never bothers trying cellular. I have to manually turn off wifi to get an internet connection on those areas of the house. I wish it would automatically switch, but for me, it doesn't.
From what I've seen it takes almost 5 minutes for it to failover. Possibly longer if you have intermittent connectivity.
__________________
2011 MacBook Pro 15" HR-AG 2.2 8GB 750GB 7200 Momentus XT
Blackforge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:44 PM   #44
Leonard1818
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I've been watching my data (and my wife's) like a hawk over the last few days. Too many variables have changed (me new phone, her getting my old phone but with iOS 6 on it, etc). I noticed a few "dumps" of 35+ MB on her line initially. I quickly turned off the stupid system location services on her phone and tweaked a few other thing (more for battery drain than anything). Since doing so, I don't see any real "unexplainable" data consumption. A couple things I've noted:

-- There's definately a discrepancy in the data usage counter in iOS 6 and what Verizon reflects. I don't necessarily know if it's a bug, but they certainly don't match. I don't really even care so long as the VZW number is lower lol.
-- The timestamp on my Verizon data tracking spreadsheet seems to be off. I can't reconcile actual data use with their records based on timestamp. I'm not sure if this is normal or what...
-- along the same lines as above...I still see random .01, .02, .05 MB use in the middle of the night when I should be on wifi. I ran a network monitoring tool that I use at work on my network and there have been no disconnects or lost packets. So there's definately an app or something on my phone using minute amounts of data every couple of hours through the night. I honestly don't know if it's always been this way or not since I used to have unlimited data.

The amount used is so low and infrequent, I'm not sure I care to pursue it right now. If it changes in frequency or amount, I'll probably start uninstalling apps one-at-a-time till I figure out which one is to blame. I'm not sure that Verizon would be any help as I don't think they know what is using the data, just that it's being used.
Leonard1818 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:19 PM   #45
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
-- There's definately a discrepancy in the data usage counter in iOS 6 and what Verizon reflects. I don't necessarily know if it's a bug, but they certainly don't match. I don't really even care so long as the VZW number is lower lol.
-
Generally the iPhone measurement is immediate, and the carrier measurement is delayed by 24-48 hours.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:22 PM   #46
nickmccally
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
The problem is, 4 days into my billing cycle I have used 1.7gb of data. I've never hit a full 1gb in my history of owning an iPhone.

I was on wifi watching a youtube video and got an alert I had used a significant amount of data. Verizon has stamped the time while my iPhone showed using WIFI data, I was in fact being charged for LTE data.
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPhone 4 (Verizon)
AppleTV
nickmccally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:27 PM   #47
lelisa13p
macrumors 65816
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bova80 View Post
not sure why OP is getting so defensive when someone suggested to try turning off LTE while on wifi just to see what happens. He wasn't saying do that all the time he just said to do it to test the theory.
Thank you. Testing was what I had in mind. And I'm a she.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmccally View Post
The problem is, 4 days into my billing cycle I have used 1.7gb of data. I've never hit a full 1gb in my history of owning an iPhone.

I was on wifi watching a youtube video and got an alert I had used a significant amount of data. Verizon has stamped the time while my iPhone showed using WIFI data, I was in fact being charged for LTE data.
And have you tried turn OFF the LTE? Do that and then call Verizon and lay out your case to have the charges reversed, at least. Have you Googled the problem to see if it's a known Verizon issue? It may be hardware related or provider related and unfortunately the detective work falls to you as the user. Sucks, but that's what happens.

BTW, I'm on AT&T and don't know Verizon's way of doing things.
lelisa13p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:28 PM   #48
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
My iPhone is doing the exact same thing. I made a thread too, the thing runs up my data usage
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:31 PM   #49
Leonard1818
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
Generally the iPhone measurement is immediate, and the carrier measurement is delayed by 24-48 hours.
You make a good point...

I'd like to contact VZW and confirm how long it takes... it kind of negates the entire date/time stamp column... I don't care what date/time verizon "recognizes" the data use... especially if it's not for a day or two later lol.
Leonard1818 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:37 PM   #50
nickmccally
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lelisa13p View Post
Thank you. Testing was what I had in mind. And I'm a she.

----------



And have you tried turn OFF the LTE? Do that and then call Verizon and lay out your case to have the charges reversed, at least. Have you Googled the problem to see if it's a known Verizon issue? It may be hardware related or provider related and unfortunately the detective work falls to you as the user. Sucks, but that's what happens.

BTW, I'm on AT&T and don't know Verizon's way of doing things.
Its an iOS 6 issue. Other reports of other companies. There is no way for me to pin point where it is coming from, because sometimes it eats my data, sometimes it works as it should. Turning off data is the only way to solve the issue and I obviously cannot do that for business purposes (which is why I have the a smartphone).
__________________
MacBook Pro
iPhone 4 (Verizon)
AppleTV
nickmccally is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC