Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:43 PM   #51
lelisa13p
macrumors 68000
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Then the obvious solution is to exchange your iPhone. Make a genius appointment and be sure that you document this problem with Verizon and Apple in case something else happens.
lelisa13p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:44 PM   #52
kingsrule5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
My iPhone is doing the exact same thing. I made a thread too, the thing runs up my data usage
Ditto and posted in other threads as well.

This is going to be much worse for apple than scratchgate if people start getting overage charges from this.
kingsrule5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:48 PM   #53
zorinlynx
macrumors 68020
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
I just did some testing to determine if the phone will use cel data when Wifi is active.

I joined a Wifi network I control, and nullrouted the IP of my phone. So basically the phone was still on the Wifi network, but couldn't access the Internet.

At this point, nothing worked. No web pages would load. E-mail checking would hang. I waited a good several minutes; the phone didn't drop off wifi or ever use LTE to do anything.

I then removed the null routing and everything started working again.

Keep in mind that when the screen is off, the phone will eventually disconnect from Wifi to save battery. However when it wakes up it will immediately reconnect.

The only thing that seems to always use cellular data regardless of wifi state are MMS images. so if you are texting lots of images (especially the large ones taken by the phone) this may be the cause of your data usage.

Gonna do a bit more testing. I wish I could sniff LTE traffic to see when the phone sends it... maybe I should find someone with a scope, and then I can build a small antenna and hold it next to the phone to watch it transmit... That will tell us for sure!
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 02:55 PM   #54
lelisa13p
macrumors 68000
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
My iPhone is doing the exact same thing. I made a thread too, the thing runs up my data usage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsrule5 View Post
Ditto and posted in other threads as well.

This is going to be much worse for apple than scratchgate if people start getting overage charges from this.
Do you two use Verizon, too? Is this provider dependent?
lelisa13p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:02 PM   #55
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Quote:
Originally Posted by lelisa13p View Post
Do you two use Verizon, too? Is this provider dependent?
Yes I am using Verizon.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:09 PM   #56
kingsrule5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lelisa13p View Post
Do you two use Verizon, too? Is this provider dependent?
AT&T, with the number of issues being reported and the fact that this happened on my iphone 4s when I upgraded to ios 6 when the GM came out I think that it is an iOS issue in the handling of icloud backups and wifi when screen is locked.

If anybody has icloud backups turned off and is seeing this please post because so far this is the leading theory at least for myself and a few others
kingsrule5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:12 PM   #57
lelisa13p
macrumors 68000
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
I'll go on record without the problem, using AT&T and no iCloud use except for Find My iPhone.
lelisa13p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:17 PM   #58
eleite
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowardSmith View Post
it sounds like it switched over to LTE to complete your download. Maybe a problem with your WiFi antenna or even you WiFi connection.

I would say this could be a warning to everyone who downloads large files.
THIS. Happens all the time buddy. If you're going to DL large files it's always a smart idea to go WIFI only (disable your cell radio). Listen, technology isn't perfect, you've got all sorts of factors that can cause a signal flip (from your iPhone to the router you're connecting to).
__________________
former M$ purist and Apple hater, converted and enjoying since 2008
eleite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:20 PM   #59
Chris Blount
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcorban View Post
As someone who has worked in tech support, I have to say that there is almost nothing a user could say to me that would convince me their phone is using LTE when connected to wifi. It would get filed under "user error".
I agree. I'm having no issues with data usage. When I'm on wifi, I'm on wifi. No if ands or buts.

Might be a glitch in iOS 6 but if so, it hasn't affected me.
Chris Blount is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:23 PM   #60
chakraj
macrumors 65816
 
chakraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by eleite View Post
THIS. Happens all the time buddy. If you're going to DL large files it's always a smart idea to go WIFI only (disable your cell radio). Listen, technology isn't perfect, you've got all sorts of factors that can cause a signal flip (from your iPhone to the router you're connecting to).
lol, so now your new $900. phone cant use wifi and let LTE sit and so you have to turn it off, and your response is, technology is not perfect...lol

I guess its now dataGate.
__________________
Why am I here? “On action alone be thy interest,
Never on its fruits. Let not the fruits of action be thy motive, Nor be thy attachment to inaction.”
chakraj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:25 PM   #61
einmusiker
macrumors 68020
 
einmusiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Location: Location:
:Popcorn:
__________________
I <3 Macbook pro, I <3 GoOgle Voice, I <3 my Android phone.
waiting for the shtuff to hit the fan when people start using tons of data on LTE :Popping popcorn:
einmusiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:33 PM   #62
Peanut207
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by einmusiker View Post
:Popcorn:
Ummm it's not from using LTE, it's obviously a glitch that the carriers need to work out. Using LTE doesn't use any more data than using 3G. Might wanna fix your signature there buddy. Enjoy your popcorn.
Peanut207 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 03:51 PM   #63
pdutta2000
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I think this is an issue with iOS 6. I posted in another thread how my iphone 5 showed cell data while my wife's 4S didn't when we watched the same youtube video. I did the same test but switched LTE on and off on my phone only and sure enough my data usage went from 15MB to 247MB when watching a youtube video on with LTE on. With LTE off, I still showed data usage from 247MB to 257MB.

I think there are only 2 options here:

1. Apple is Auto-switching to cell data whenever possible. I have Verizon Fios 50/50 connection with Apple routers so my wifi is FAST. No cell signal will ever be faster than my Wifi so the fact that I'm not warned about the switch is bad. The fact that my wife's 4S was able to play the you tube video at the same time using Wifi only tells me that Apple has an issue with this "feature" because my wifi was clearly working fine thus no need to switch.

or

2. Apple has a bug with their Cell Usage screen. It's incorrectly tracking Wifi usage as Cell Data usage. I haven't been able to verify with Verizon yet as I just switched carriers but others have posted that their carrier data usage is lower than the iOS 6 usage.

Either way, Apple needs to fix this. With all the shared plans out there, getting an accurate number for Cell Data is vital now.
pdutta2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:04 PM   #64
eleite
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chakraj View Post
lol, so now your new $900. phone cant use wifi and let LTE sit and so you have to turn it off, and your response is, technology is not perfect...lol

I guess its now dataGate.
1st, it's not a $900 phone, it cost me $45 after selling my iPhone 4S.

2nd, i'm saying that wifi dropping out is not necessarily a problem with the iPhone. have you ever used any wireless device and seen it lose its wifi connection? your indirect suggestion that devices should never drop signal means either A) you're technically ignorant or B) you're just another Apple hater

The i5 can't do *everything* over wireless radio, at some point it is a PHONE, remember that?
__________________
former M$ purist and Apple hater, converted and enjoying since 2008
eleite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:09 PM   #65
kingsrule5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by eleite View Post
1st, it's not a $900 phone, it cost me $45 after selling my iPhone 4S.
That is your out of pocket cost, the value of the phone without upgrade to purchase it is about $900 for a 64gb.
kingsrule5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:20 PM   #66
chakraj
macrumors 65816
 
chakraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by eleite View Post
1st, it's not a $900 phone, it cost me $45 after selling my iPhone 4S.

2nd, i'm saying that wifi dropping out is not necessarily a problem with the iPhone. have you ever used any wireless device and seen it lose its wifi connection? your indirect suggestion that devices should never drop signal means either A) you're technically ignorant or B) you're just another Apple hater

The i5 can't do *everything* over wireless radio, at some point it is a PHONE, remember that?
No I am saying if you have selected wifi on, then it should not use your data network until you are out of wifi range. Since you don't understand that simple concept and you are so quick to throw around personal insults I think you may be technically ignorant, but that's OK, we need all kinds in this world. don't beat yourself up.
__________________
Why am I here? “On action alone be thy interest,
Never on its fruits. Let not the fruits of action be thy motive, Nor be thy attachment to inaction.”
chakraj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:35 PM   #67
dmccloud
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
There have been several reports that iOS 6 is combining WiFi and LTE usage together instead of keeping them separate.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro (Late 2013) - 2.6/16/1TB
MacBook Air (2013); iPad Air 64GB w/ LTE
iPhone 5s (64GB)
dmccloud is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:46 PM   #68
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I think all versions of the iPhone have this issue but can't prove it. AT&T are horrible of breaking down data usage Verizon app and online seems to be more precise on data usage. Try turning cell data off in settings when on wifi. Only way to be 100% not using data while on wifi
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 05:13 PM   #69
silroc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
the thing that made me suspicious on the first day i got the phone

was that suddenly my wifi was fast as hell on the iphone 5, but not so on my iphone 4.

i was like damn, i hope this sucker is not using LTE instead of wifi...


to be continued......
__________________
Apple Products - Nano Gen 3, Iphone 5, Macbook, iPad 2
silroc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 05:49 PM   #70
shawnwich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Just checked and this is happening to me too.

Checked by cellular data usage and then watched a youtube video. Went back to usage and it added 10 MB.

WHATS GOING ONNNNN

I have a verizon iphone.
shawnwich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 05:59 PM   #71
Joewat64
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomhower View Post
Being I don't have LTE to confirm lots of folks are saying the phone will connect to the fastest connection. With the speed of a lot of LTE connections it's very possible it's faster than your wifi so your phone is using LTE over the slower wifi. Not sure if there is a setting somewhere to defeat the behavior other than turning LTE off.
If that's the case which it's not your icon in the top tool bar would switch to LTE and not show the wifi signal.
Joewat64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:01 PM   #72
shawnwich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
just tried resetting network settings to no avail.
shawnwich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:02 PM   #73
Ricezilla
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by negrohero9 View Post
Shoulda got a sprint iPhone 5 then you wouldnt have to worry about the amount of data you use...even if it was accidental
This is the reason why we need the down button back.
Ricezilla is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:17 PM   #74
Joewat64
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
I think people are making assumptions without any real facts
Joewat64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:26 PM   #75
shawnwich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joewat64 View Post
I think people are making assumptions without any real facts
no, this is really happening. lol.

ITS REALLY EASY TO CHECK.

check your current data usage in statistics
connect to wifi
watch a youtube video
go back to statistics (you have to go back a menu, and then back into statistics to get the number to refresh)
notice number increase.

----------

Just talked to Apple Support, and she said I need to manually toggle this. I told her that i never had to do this before, and she said this has always been the case.




i argued with her and she told me to go to an apple store.
shawnwich is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 wifi and LTE issues -- anyone else? DrMotownMac iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Jul 16, 2013 01:43 AM
Verizon iPad 3 Using LTE Data not Wifi Dunbar iPad 13 Sep 24, 2012 08:38 PM
How much LTE data do you already use on your iPhone 5? MacPro23 iPhone 11 Sep 21, 2012 12:03 PM
Verizon iPhone 5 during a call: no data *at all* or just no *LTE* data? wildonrio iPhone 2 Sep 15, 2012 12:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC