Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:33 PM   #76
Glideslope
macrumors 68030
 
Glideslope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by lelisa13p View Post
I'll go on record without the problem, using AT&T and no iCloud use except for Find My iPhone.
I'll second. No iCloud except Find My Phone. Seems far greater with Verizon.

Maybe a conspiracy between Verizon and Samsung? Remember, "How to sell against the iPhone"? Nah.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsrule5 View Post
AT&T, with the number of issues being reported and the fact that this happened on my iphone 4s when I upgraded to ios 6 when the GM came out I think that it is an iOS issue in the handling of icloud backups and wifi when screen is locked.

If anybody has icloud backups turned off and is seeing this please post because so far this is the leading theory at least for myself and a few others
Seriously. You're onto something. Check iCloud people.
__________________
" A leader leads by example. Not by force." Sun Tzu
Glideslope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:34 PM   #77
shawnwich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Hm...how many of the people who are affected by this issue used one of the beta's or the GM?
shawnwich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:38 PM   #78
Dunbar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I had the same problem on my LTE iPad 3. I blew through 2GB of data in like a week on wifi nearly the whole time. I did some testing both my iPad 3 and iPhone 4 were using mobile data when connected to wifi. It was about 3X worse when connected to my Linksys WRT54G wifi router (I have two wifi connections at home.) My solution was to turn off iPad mobile data at home and switch to a Samsung Galaxy S3 phone BTW, Verizon iPad 3 and iPhone 4 on AT&T both iOS5.

The way I tested it was to reset the data counter and then stream audio for a few hours connected to wifi (video would work too.) Check to see how much mobile data has been used. Obviously it should be using little to none if you're connected to wifi.
Dunbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 07:08 PM   #79
shawnwich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunbar View Post
I had the same problem on my LTE iPad 3. I blew through 2GB of data in like a week on wifi nearly the whole time. I did some testing both my iPad 3 and iPhone 4 were using mobile data when connected to wifi. It was about 3X worse when connected to my Linksys WRT54G wifi router (I have two wifi connections at home.) My solution was to turn off iPad mobile data at home and switch to a Samsung Galaxy S3 phone BTW, Verizon iPad 3 and iPhone 4 on AT&T both iOS5.

The way I tested it was to reset the data counter and then stream audio for a few hours connected to wifi (video would work too.) Check to see how much mobile data has been used. Obviously it should be using little to none if you're connected to wifi.
Did you try talking to apple about it?
shawnwich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 07:26 PM   #80
Dunbar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwich View Post
Did you try talking to apple about it?
No, I did search the Apple support site and didn't see any info on this problem. I never went over my 2GB data plan on my iPhone 4 thanks to AT&T's slow 3G network so I had no reason to suspect there was a problem until I got the LTE iPad. My Galaxy S3 doesn't do this BTW so it seems like an iOS problem.
Dunbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 07:38 PM   #81
jester0723
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia
My Verizon iPhone says I've used about 2GB of cell data in the settings, but Verizon says I've used 1. I haven't had wifi on much - only when in the basement of buildings where I didn't have 3g or LTE.

I think there might be some issue with how the iPhone counts the data as I've given it a few days to show up on Verizon's usage monitor and it's stayed around 1.
__________________
Macbook Pro Summer '11 :: iPad Mini 64gb - black :: iPhone 5 32gb - black/slate
jester0723 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:12 PM   #82
jclardy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
So, I remember there was a feature on the old iOS 6 betas where it would use cellular data if the wifi connection was spotty. Looking on my iPhone 5 I can no longer find it.

I don't remember what it was called but it sounds like this could be the culprit, unless Apple decided to remove the feature.
__________________
Swift Fox Software | Amounts - Expense Tracker | Rocket Chimp | TargetTap Lite | TargetTap
jclardy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 08:14 PM   #83
tigres
macrumors 68040
 
tigres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclardy View Post
So, I remember there was a feature on the old iOS 6 betas where it would use cellular data if the wifi connection was spotty. Looking on my iPhone 5 I can no longer find it.

I don't remember what it was called but it sounds like this could be the culprit, unless Apple decided to remove the feature.
They removed it in the GM.
__________________
Quicker than two shakes of a lambs tail
tigres is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:10 PM   #84
rubined
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I just spent 2 hours on phone with apple and Verizon. They are aware of the problem. My phone even showed tethering usage when we don't even have a mobile hot spot plan!

What the phone was showing as usage was more than 10x what Verizon actually Howrd as billable data on their end.

They are aware of the situation.
The scary part is they said they removed the on of switch for the phone automatically choosing the fastest connection but it still may be baked into the os. Meaning it might go to lte even if you don't want it to. I hope it's not true.

Last edited by rubined; Sep 26, 2012 at 09:11 PM. Reason: Forgot something
rubined is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:21 PM   #85
kingsrule5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I created a thread to try and track this issue and see if we can't narrow down a possible cause.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1455775
kingsrule5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 05:01 AM   #86
Daftbrush
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daftbrush View Post
This may explain the problem I have.

My phone doesn't seem to stay connected to the wifi when locked and being charged meaning I don't get iCloud backups overnight.

I've also use a considerable amount of data even though I'm connected to wifi, although if this is being disconnected in favour of LTE without my knowledge when charging and locked might be why. I'm going to switch off LTE until more details on this emerge.
An Update: Yesterday by 11AM (after an overnight charge and un-plugged at 7:30AM) I had 94% left. I turned off LTE and today at 11AM (same over night charge and unplug time) it's still at 100%.

Still no iCloud over night back up - even after switching off cellular data.
Daftbrush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 05:41 AM   #87
HowardSmith
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chakraj View Post
lol, so now your new $900. phone cant use wifi and let LTE sit and so you have to turn it off, and your response is, technology is not perfect...lol

I guess its now dataGate.
Apple can not control cr^p WiFi connections and it may have nothing to do with your $900 phone. The phone is simply following the users comand and downloading the file. It is the USERS responcibilty to control his device.
HowardSmith is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 06:44 AM   #88
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
I have had my iPhone 5 for 24 hours now and somehow already have over 200MB data usage. On my 4S, it took about a week to reach that much, or at least 4 or 5 days. I spent most of the day on wifi, and hardly did any web browsing or anything while on LTE/3G. Used to do much more on 3G on my 4S and still took much longer to use that much data. So what's going on? Where is all if this data usage coming from? Or is it just reporting the usage inaccurately?
Tyler23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 08:23 AM   #89
Egon84
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: King's Mtn, NC
I noticed this problem too. Just got off the phone with verizon because somehow i've used 300mb this past weekend. Not much help there other than using 4G uses more data faster, which makes no sense.

If we look at data connections as highways 3G was a 1 lane highway and LTE is an 8 lane highway. Looking at the same webpage on different connections doesn't mean we put more cars(packets) on the highway. The amount of data just isn't backed up and slow because of a single lane for traffic. A megabit is a megabit regardless of whether it is transported by a horse and buggy or a mach 1 rocket.

Personally, I am not to stressed out about this since I have usually used 0.2GB a month but been to worried about overages to drop my data to 1GB. I'd rather use what I am actually paying for. Right now I am at a little over .5GB for the month.

Something however is not right with the way that the iPhone 5 switches signals between LTE and wi-fi, and contrary to the general consensus, just because the technology in the phone is newer doesn't mean we need to trade off the practices that the mobile carriers made us establish in the first place. I fear an unopposed acceptance of this practice of cellular data working with wi-fi without our knowing will open the possibilities of being taxed by the carriers for our data that is provided outside the carrier network. If you listen to the CEO's of the carriers, they are certainly not looking how to charge less money from us.
Egon84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:03 AM   #90
aajeevlin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I have been watching the thread (since I'm getting an iPhone 5 in a few weeks). I just noticed this morning, that when my phone is connected to wifi, when I wake up the phone from sleep it's actually showing "3G" then very quickly it will switch to wifi. So I'm not sure if this has been happening all long, but since most of us has unlimited data it was never an issue? Just want to offer some observation.
aajeevlin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:07 AM   #91
chiefpavvy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aajeevlin View Post
I have been watching the thread (since I'm getting an iPhone 5 in a few weeks). I just noticed this morning, that when my phone is connected to wifi, when I wake up the phone from sleep it's actually showing "3G" then very quickly it will switch to wifi. So I'm not sure if this has been happening all long, but since most of us has unlimited data it was never an issue? Just want to offer some observation.
Yep, I noticed this too, although mine is EDGE (no 3G or HSPA+ here yet).

I also notice that iOS fails to switch an active download(s) over to WiFi if the signal drops or is acquired while transferring over cellular. So if you were doing a bunch of app updates for example (say, a few hundred MB or so) and your WiFi drops out...it will continue updating over cellular and not switch back to WiFi until AFTER the downloads are finished, even when a WiFi connection is ready.

Conspiracy with the big carriers to charge massive overages and rake in lots of cash or just a "bug" somewhere?
chiefpavvy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:40 AM   #92
paulie6978
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
im 1 day into my billing period adn it says ive used 850mb of data..... im thinking it didnt reset on my account
when does it usually reset?

Also my wifi has bene in and out. sometimes it will swithc right to LTE or 3g. is this a bug???

Last edited by paulie6978; Sep 27, 2012 at 09:42 AM. Reason: add
paulie6978 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:42 AM   #93
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulie6978 View Post
im 1 day into my billing period adn it says ive used 850mb of data..... im thinking it didnt reset on my account
when does it usually reset?
Usually 2-3 days after the billing period starts.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:44 AM   #94
outphase
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parts Unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by aajeevlin View Post
I have been watching the thread (since I'm getting an iPhone 5 in a few weeks). I just noticed this morning, that when my phone is connected to wifi, when I wake up the phone from sleep it's actually showing "3G" then very quickly it will switch to wifi. So I'm not sure if this has been happening all long, but since most of us has unlimited data it was never an issue? Just want to offer some observation.
That's how the iPhone has always worked. When the phone is on and active, it'll connect to wifi. When it is locked and not plugged in, it will stay on cellular. If it is locked and plugged in, I think it stays connected to wifi.
outphase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:46 AM   #95
tigres
macrumors 68040
 
tigres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
I too suspect that when iPhone sleeps on iOS6- it's dropping wifi; and picking up cellular.

Can anyone here test this theory? I don't even trust the counter on the phone.
__________________
Quicker than two shakes of a lambs tail
tigres is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:56 AM   #96
paulie6978
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by outphase View Post
That's how the iPhone has always worked. When the phone is on and active, it'll connect to wifi. When it is locked and not plugged in, it will stay on cellular. If it is locked and plugged in, I think it stays connected to wifi.
my 4s always stayed on wifi if it was connected. with my 5 i always have to go into settings and reconnect to wifi if it goes to sleep or after a little while of using it

BS
paulie6978 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 10:17 AM   #97
misterjay
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Hi guys.

I lost faith in checking the data usage of my iPhone 5 so I downloaded the "AT&T" app and logged into it via iPhone 5. Also on the website aswell, it shows that i only used 117mb of data while on the iPhone through cellular data usage, it says that I used over 350mb.

Guess I'm not too worried afterall but oh well, what a annoyance.
misterjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 10:19 AM   #98
black743
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
I downloaded the Avengers movie straight to my phone over wifi the other night while I slept. I didn't show any usage over cellular....so obviously it kept the wifi connection during the download.
__________________
Joe
13" MacBook Pro ~ "New" iPad ~ 11" Macbook Air ~ iPad Mini ~ iPhone 5s ~ iPod Nano ~ Time Capsule ~ TV
black743 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 10:38 AM   #99
Mrg02d
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by appswipe View Post
Nothing an NFC tag couldn't fix. Just program an NFC tag to change your settings from LTE to WiFi only and put the sticker someone near your entry door so when you come home you just tap your phone on the sticker and it switches it from the "Car Mode" you were just using to "Home Mode". Oh wait...


Seriously though, I do wish there was some sort of "quick settings" we could access through either the notifications drop down or an optional page to the left of the search page.
You are a naughty boy!
Mrg02d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 10:46 AM   #100
kingsrule5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterjay View Post
Hi guys.

I lost faith in checking the data usage of my iPhone 5 so I downloaded the "AT&T" app and logged into it via iPhone 5. Also on the website aswell, it shows that i only used 117mb of data while on the iPhone through cellular data usage, it says that I used over 350mb.

Guess I'm not too worried afterall but oh well, what a annoyance.
I have been doing the same and found that the ATT app and the AT&T text service were very different. App says 102MB or so but checking via text (dial *3282#) and that says over 1GB. The online reporting is delayed/incorrect. Even my phone usage shows over 1GB. Also I would rather plan like I am high so not to go over.
kingsrule5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 wifi and LTE issues -- anyone else? DrMotownMac iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Jul 16, 2013 01:43 AM
Verizon iPad 3 Using LTE Data not Wifi Dunbar iPad 13 Sep 24, 2012 08:38 PM
How much LTE data do you already use on your iPhone 5? MacPro23 iPhone 11 Sep 21, 2012 12:03 PM
Verizon iPhone 5 during a call: no data *at all* or just no *LTE* data? wildonrio iPhone 2 Sep 15, 2012 12:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC