Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:03 AM   #1
Rushli0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Avengers & Handbrake

So first off, let me say that I was very disappointed that the only way to get a legit Digital copy was to buy the 3D Blu-ray combo pack. I don't own a 3D TV so I wasn't going to get that version.

So instead I buy the Blu-ray/DVD combo in the hopes to rip the DVD. I get home throw in the disc and open Handbrake. Search for the source, Handbrake thinks a minute and then crashed with a KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS error. I tried a couple more times just to be sure and it crashed every time.

For fun I attempted using another software (MacX DVD Ripper) to see if that would work, and it crashed that too.

In doing some research, most forums pointed to bad ram. But I stuck in another DVD (Gothika) and it worked fine. So something is up with the Avengers DVD.

Anyone else have a similar issue or know how to get around this?
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:11 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Some form of copyright protection? I've had that with a couple of 3D / Digital combo movies and TV series...They just won't rip. I'm fortunate enough to own a 3D TV setup, but there are 2 movies that won't rip (can't remember which ones) even when using the standard DVD
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:18 AM   #3
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
The 3D combo pack was/is the same price as the non-3D version at Amazon.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:28 AM   #4
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
My friend made me aware of this when I talked to him about it. But Amazon still hasn't shipped his yet (estimated for early Oct). So there's that.
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 10:32 AM   #5
ohio.emt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ohio
Send a message via AIM to ohio.emt Send a message via MSN to ohio.emt Send a message via Yahoo to ohio.emt
Someone on the handbrake forums got it to work using title specific scan.

https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=25405
__________________
8GB iPhone 2G
128GB iPhone 6+ Silver, 128GB iPad Air Silver,
160GB ATV, ATV 2 & 3, 2011 Mac Mini
ohio.emt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 12:19 PM   #6
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushli0n View Post
My friend made me aware of this when I talked to him about it. But Amazon still hasn't shipped his yet (estimated for early Oct). So there's that.
He should call them. Mine arrived on release day.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:01 PM   #7
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohio.emt View Post
Someone on the handbrake forums got it to work using title specific scan.

https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=25405
Excellent. I'll give this a whirl when I get home. Appreciate the help!
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:15 PM   #8
twlott
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
You could use a PC and use Slysoft software and that will work for you.
twlott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:45 PM   #9
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
The best movies always seem to have special copy protection.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 01:58 AM   #10
Mackan
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
But you can still rip a 3D Blu-ray (or 3D rip) to 2D via Handbrake, right?
Mackan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2012, 09:10 AM   #11
iHailCarlo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Learn something new everyday, thanks guys. Title specific ripping should make it tons easier. Had a hard time ripping 2012 the other day, just did not want to cooperate. I know not a great movie, but fun to watch.
iHailCarlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 01:38 PM   #12
bigmacair
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: U.S.A
avengers headache w handbreak

Ok so im not a rookie at ripping using handbreak but avengers is really starting to annoy me. After maybe 25 times my macbook air crashs using handbreak but just this single disk only.

from some of what i read upgrading the memory to 4GB is whats recommended to rip avengers. went to best buy and had them bump me to 4gb, to my surprise im having same issue! when in fact this time i tried it was slower. best buy enterprise technicians say problem might be my drive funny because every movie works except avenger. tried several discs so far all do not work.


Can someone please let me out of this nightmare im having with avengers?

11" MBA (2011), 1.6ghz i5, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD
bigmacair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 02:20 PM   #13
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmacair View Post
Ok so im not a rookie at ripping using handbreak but avengers is really starting to annoy me. After maybe 25 times my macbook air crashs using handbreak but just this single disk only.

from some of what i read upgrading the memory to 4GB is whats recommended to rip avengers. went to best buy and had them bump me to 4gb, to my surprise im having same issue! when in fact this time i tried it was slower. best buy enterprise technicians say problem might be my drive funny because every movie works except avenger. tried several discs so far all do not work.


Can someone please let me out of this nightmare im having with avengers?

11" MBA (2011), 1.6ghz i5, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD
Visit this site https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=25405
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 03:19 PM   #14
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Guys, I think you should invest in getting used to ripping your DVD with MakeMKV first since it can detect fake titles. I did this with my DVD copy of my 3D Blu-ray purchase since I need to get the subtitles off of it, and it managed to find the proper title without any issues. It's an extra step, but it can save you a lot of time with titles such as these that are a bit problematic.

The only downside however is that the Forced subtitle track will not be tagged as "Forced" on the MKV file and when you put it in Handbrake you will have to manually select it and burn it into the film. This is also true for Blu-rays.
ProudLoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 10:57 PM   #15
macseven77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago
I purchased the 3D combo pack and used MakeMKV and Handbrake to rip a copy of the normal blu ray disc and didn't have any issues. Just thought I would add.
macseven77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 02:41 AM   #16
Pamani
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
My local target has the 3d como pack on sale for 19.99 this week.
__________________
Work: 15" MacBookPro8,2 , 2.3 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 750 GB HD
Home: 2011 Mac Mini 2.3 GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 128 GB SSD, 500 GB HD
Pamani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 08:25 AM   #17
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmacair View Post
Ok so im not a rookie at ripping using handbreak but avengers is really starting to annoy me. After maybe 25 times my macbook air crashs using handbreak but just this single disk only.

from some of what i read upgrading the memory to 4GB is whats recommended to rip avengers.

Handbrake repeatedly crashes when I try to rip Avengers and I have 8GB RAM.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 03:02 PM   #18
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by designs216 View Post
Handbrake repeatedly crashes when I try to rip Avengers and I have 8GB RAM.
Again, it's been resolved. See this post https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=25405
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 04:55 PM   #19
thezoostation
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
My problem is that Handbrake refuses to even see the disc. I have the same problem with Tintin, POTC On Stranger Tides, and other recent Disney movies. When I try using Ripit, they just rip and rip, with the files growing bigger and bigger, and never stop.
thezoostation is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 10:44 AM   #20
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thezoostation View Post
My problem is that Handbrake refuses to even see the disc. I have the same problem with Tintin, POTC On Stranger Tides, and other recent Disney movies. When I try using Ripit, they just rip and rip, with the files growing bigger and bigger, and never stop.
I think you are experiencing the same problems I did. Just try doing a Title Specific rip, which is detailed here: https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=15874
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 11:19 AM   #21
ThunderSkunk
macrumors 68000
 
ThunderSkunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Durango, Co
The fact that everyone still has to go through this, and each individually, to watch movies we all paid good money for, on our own equipment, because the movie industry is fighting to keep everyone on glorious 1990s set top box technology than get with the flicking program, is what makes me want to share my digital library with others for free in a big way.
ThunderSkunk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2012, 09:52 AM   #22
DP812
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderSkunk View Post
The fact that everyone still has to go through this, and each individually, to watch movies we all paid good money for, on our own equipment, because the movie industry is fighting to keep everyone on glorious 1990s set top box technology than get with the flicking program, is what makes me want to share my digital library with others for free in a big way.
Seriously! If you're going to make things more frustrating for people, they're going to turn to the easier options, which are piracy.

I can just picture the meetings these empty-headed suits have.

"So, how can we discourage people from pirating our products?"
"Well, why don't we make the official releases they pay money for frustrating as all hell?"
"Genius!"
DP812 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 07:34 AM   #23
98EXL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: not on the moon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushli0n View Post
So first off, let me say that I was very disappointed that the only way to get a legit Digital copy was to buy the 3D Blu-ray combo pack. I don't own a 3D TV so I wasn't going to get that version.
I had to chime in: first, there are two ways to get a legit digital copy. Buy one, or make one. Two, you will have a 3D TV at some point in time, regardless of what you think now, unless you are a < 40" kind of person.
__________________
Late 2013 15" rMBP 2.0 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 256 flash
Late 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB + 240 GB SSD's
Airport Extreme (Tower of Doom)
too many iOS devices, more than one man should own
98EXL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 10:28 AM   #24
Avatar74
macrumors 65816
 
Avatar74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98EXL View Post
I had to chime in: first, there are two ways to get a legit digital copy. Buy one, or make one. Two, you will have a 3D TV at some point in time, regardless of what you think now, unless you are a < 40" kind of person.
I just bought a 55 inch LED-backlit LCD... It's not 3D.
__________________
"Nature abhors a moron." - H.L. Mencken
Avatar74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2012, 11:07 AM   #25
Rushli0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98EXL View Post
I had to chime in: first, there are two ways to get a legit digital copy. Buy one, or make one. Two, you will have a 3D TV at some point in time, regardless of what you think now, unless you are a < 40" kind of person.
I ripped my DVD to get a copy. I was referring to one that is seen by iCloud as being "legit".

As for 3D, I'll stick to my original comment.
__________________
13" Unibody Macbook, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HD iPad 2, 16 GB, WiFi Apple TV 2 & 3 Airport Extreme (Late 2009) iPod touch, 32 GB, 5th Gen
Rushli0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV & Handbrake and Subtitles VideoBeagle Apple TV and Home Theater 10 Nov 19, 2013 02:39 AM
Avengers DVD crashing Handbrake Broadbent Mac Applications and Mac App Store 37 Mar 15, 2013 01:18 PM
Handbrake Defaults for ATV2 & iPhone 4S godslabrat Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Oct 27, 2012 09:31 PM
Problems opening Handbrake & VLC Big Stevie Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 6, 2012 11:27 AM
Apple TV 3 & Handbrake Audio Tracks fridgeymonster3 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Oct 1, 2012 09:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC