Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:42 PM   #1
Southernboyj
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Cm10 m1

I am running CyanogenMod 10 M1 series on my Verizon Galaxy S3.
I did everything needed to get Google Wallet up and running on it.
The app works perfectly. However, I went to try it out today and McDonalds and when I put my phone up to the PayPass reader.. nothing happened.
My friend was running the exact same build as me and nothing happened for him either so it isn't a hardware issue.

Anyone else on CM10 M1 having this issue? Maybe NFC just isn't working on this build of CM10? Because I know Bluetooth has some issues.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:47 PM   #2
sarcosis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
McDonalds isn't on the list of launch partners. That would explain why it wouldn't work. Did you check on the Google wallet site to see if that store is supported?
__________________
Mac Mini i5 10GB Ram 128 Samsung 840 Pro| Droid Ultra 16GB | XBox One
Twitter: @Sarcosis
sarcosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:48 PM   #3
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
I am running CyanogenMod 10 M1 series on my Verizon Galaxy S3.
I did everything needed to get Google Wallet up and running on it.
The app works perfectly. However, I went to try it out today and McDonalds and when I put my phone up to the PayPass reader.. nothing happened.
My friend was running the exact same build as me and nothing happened for him either so it isn't a hardware issue.

Anyone else on CM10 M1 having this issue? Maybe NFC just isn't working on this build of CM10? Because I know Bluetooth has some issues.
I've read about issues on CM10 and NFC but I don't know any specifics. I don't have anywhere to test it myself.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:55 PM   #4
blackhand1001
macrumors 68030
 
blackhand1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarcosis View Post
McDonalds isn't on the list of launch partners. That would explain why it wouldn't work. Did you check on the Google wallet site to see if that store is supported?
It works at mcdonalds. I think there has been some woes in the last day or two with google wallet. Try resetting the app and re adding your card.
__________________
Macbook 2008
HP Dv7t - 2.53 ghz, 9600m GT, WSXGA+, 120gb ssd, 250 gb 7200rpm
Core i7 3770k, 8gb ram, 2x 120gb sdd raid0, 500gb hdd, GTX 460
Moto X Dev Edition (VZW) Nexus 7
blackhand1001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 07:26 PM   #5
Southernboyj
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarcosis View Post
McDonalds isn't on the list of launch partners. That would explain why it wouldn't work. Did you check on the Google wallet site to see if that store is supported?
It definitely works at McDonalds, there are tons of YouTube videos of people using it there.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackhand1001 View Post
It works at mcdonalds. I think there has been some woes in the last day or two with google wallet. Try resetting the app and re adding your card.
I didn't try that, kinda hard to test it a bunch since I have to be at McDonalds, making a purchase.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
I've read about issues on CM10 and NFC but I don't know any specifics. I don't have anywhere to test it myself.
I know CM10 has issues with Bluetooth. I really want a Nexus device so I don't have to deal with unofficial builds.. I just wish the Galaxy Nexus was on-par with the Galaxy S3's hardware.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 09:09 PM   #6
Southernboyj
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
One other question.. before I flashed CM10 I created a Nandroid backup of my phone running touchwiz.. at the time it had a locked bootloader.

If I restore via Nandroid will that put Touchwiz back on my phone and relock the bootloader?
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 10:55 PM   #7
Stropaganda
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
One other question.. before I flashed CM10 I created a Nandroid backup of my phone running touchwiz.. at the time it had a locked bootloader.

If I restore via Nandroid will that put Touchwiz back on my phone and relock the bootloader?
It don't think it will relock the bootloader or erase root, but it will restore the ROM, which will be exactly how it was before you flashed CM10. You can get titanium backup again and restore all your apps and system data that you have backup data for.
Stropaganda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:12 PM   #8
Southernboyj
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stropaganda View Post
It don't think it will relock the bootloader or erase root, but it will restore the ROM, which will be exactly how it was before you flashed CM10. You can get titanium backup again and restore all your apps and system data that you have backup data for.
How hard is it to relock the bootloader? I ask because if I'm selling the phone.. I'd like to restore it to factory settings.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:15 PM   #9
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
How hard is it to relock the bootloader? I ask because if I'm selling the phone.. I'd like to restore it to factory settings.
Have a look at this and let us know if you have any issues any need help http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1790399

It's called a 1-click method so I'd imagine it's not so hard.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:19 PM   #10
Southernboyj
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Have a look at this and let us know if you have any issues any need help http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1790399

It's called a 1-click method so I'd imagine it's not so hard.
Thats an unrooting/locking method for a GNex. I have a Galaxy S3.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:22 PM   #11
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
Thats an unrooting/locking method for a GNex. I have a Galaxy S3.
Oh sorry my bad I got things mixed up.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 11:22 PM   #12
Stropaganda
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
How hard is it to relock the bootloader? I ask because if I'm selling the phone.. I'd like to restore it to factory settings.
I think there is a way to restore it to factory settings in settings in the section "Backup & reset" (at least there is on the Nexus), but I don't think that relocks the bootloader. For that, I have no idea. It won't have your data though. If you don't care after that and your buyer doesn't care, then there is no problem.
Stropaganda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 09:47 PM   #13
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southernboyj View Post
I am running CyanogenMod 10 M1 series on my Verizon Galaxy S3.
I did everything needed to get Google Wallet up and running on it.
The app works perfectly. However, I went to try it out today and McDonalds and when I put my phone up to the PayPass reader.. nothing happened.
My friend was running the exact same build as me and nothing happened for him either so it isn't a hardware issue.

Anyone else on CM10 M1 having this issue? Maybe NFC just isn't working on this build of CM10? Because I know Bluetooth has some issues.
Was your screen on?
Common mistake. The screen must be on for NFC to work.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac Surface Pro 3 i5 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display Nexus 5 Nexus 7
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 10:43 PM   #14
Southernboyj
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Southernboyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mobile, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
Was your screen on?
Common mistake. The screen must be on for NFC to work.
Yeah it was on, went to a different McDonalds today.. worked. Guess was a hardware issue on their end.
__________________
The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'.. So I installed OS X.
Southernboyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC