Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:56 PM   #51
Tech198
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia, Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlituna View Post
Since the carriers don't have access to Apple's systems, these updates have to be sent by Apple.
Didn't answer my question... This answer still says it comes from Apple, just carriersn't have access to it.

I'm saying i thought Carrier Updates came from mobile carries period. Without Apple even knowing...

Your phhne is connected to your mobile carrier, not Apple for 3G access

All Apple would be for Activation, and "Check for Updates" done explicitly done by the user.


Quote:
Originally Posted by charlituna View Post
Sure you have. Happens with every iOS update. It needs to have you restart to flush out the old settings and load the new ones.

Yes, but i've never seen a carrier update message saying to "restart your phne"

Athough, that is assumed anyway.
__________________
13" MBPR, i5, 256Gig SDD, 8 Gig Ram, Apple TV, iPhone 5S 16Gig, iPad 4th Gen 16Gig, Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 1TB HD
"There are no stupid questions, just stupid people."
Tech198 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:57 PM   #52
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
Here, I took this image:

Image

And performed the same horrible editing to it:

Image

Can you see the difference?

Can anyone tell me why the picture in this news article was butchered in a similar way?
You can't be serious.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 08:57 PM   #53
Bill Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
Serious question. Why is the picture is so messed up? Look at the fonts. What happened to it? It's just a crop of a screenshot from iOS, how could it have been ruined in the process?

A more detailed description of what happened... it seems some vertical rows of pixels are missing.
Vertical "rows" are called columns, FYI.

Not criticizing; just thought it was funny.
__________________
Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro / 2.66GHz / 8GB RAM / 240GB SSD
64GB iPhone 6 Minus
Bill Gates is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:00 PM   #54
BornAgainApple
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
Here, I took this image:

Image

And performed the same horrible editing to it:

Image

Can you see the difference?

Can anyone tell me why the picture in this news article was butchered in a similar way?
No one else but you cares, so drop it and move along.
BornAgainApple is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:01 PM   #55
mallwitt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Yet another reason I'm sticking with my iPhone 4 and iOS 5.1.1 for a bit.

First Apple's Maps application is not so great, now this data usage problem. I expect I'll eventually upgrade, but I think I'll wait until maps is more usable and issues like this have been resolved.

Before jumping all over me for the Maps thing, I actually use the transit directions in Maps; couple it's loss with the inaccurate location data and still no turn by turn (I still have yet to see any good reason why Siri's reading functionality couldn't have been implemented), and no good transit "plugins" (and no explanation of how those work with the new framework), the whole thing becomes a net loss for us iPhone4 owners to go to iOS6. I'll wait.
__________________
Why QA loves me "That's cool, was it supposed to do that or is it just a fortunate bug?"
mallwitt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:01 PM   #56
matthiasgoodman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to matthiasgoodman
While I don't know that this is related, a VPN that we use recently had an update to reduce data usage and increase performance on LTE. It turns out that LTE on Verizon Wireless uses a large header and therefor programs that expect an MTU of 1472 will end up using two packets when they expect to use one because the packet had to be fragmented. I really don't think this is a fix for the other issues everyone is mentioning.

Last edited by matthiasgoodman; Sep 30, 2012 at 09:01 PM. Reason: Typos
matthiasgoodman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:02 PM   #57
Tech198
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia, Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
Vertical "rows" are called columns, FYI.

Not criticizing; just thought it was funny.
Bill gates got pretty chubby huh?...
__________________
13" MBPR, i5, 256Gig SDD, 8 Gig Ram, Apple TV, iPhone 5S 16Gig, iPad 4th Gen 16Gig, Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 1TB HD
"There are no stupid questions, just stupid people."
Tech198 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:03 PM   #58
Bill Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech198 View Post
Bill gates got pretty fat chubby huh?...
I blame it on the golden arches.
__________________
Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro / 2.66GHz / 8GB RAM / 240GB SSD
64GB iPhone 6 Minus
Bill Gates is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:12 PM   #59
shurcooL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BornAgainApple View Post
No one else but you cares, so drop it and move along.
The same could be said about your sig.

Also, it's not true, Apple cares. Steve Jobs cared. That's why he placed such great importance on the typography classes he took, and how it influenced his products...

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
Vertical "rows" are called columns, FYI.

Not criticizing; just thought it was funny.
You're right, I didn't think of that. I guess when it comes to pixels, I always think of them arranged in rows... regardless of the orientation.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
You can't be serious.
There are grammar nazis, and then there are pixel ones.

When something bothers you, you can't help it.

Especially given how it's *EASIER* to post a cropped unmodified screenshot from iOS than to mess it up like that...
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:12 PM   #60
anshuvorty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelley View Post
The only thing I can think of is that this is an issue with the "Wifi + Cellular" feature that was in the iOS 6 betas that was pulled before GM release.

I know nothing about the bug itself, this is just some idea I have hypothesized.

Basically, if you were connected to WiFi but your Cellular connection was (harder/)better/faster/stronger (unsure of which, cannot remember) it would use that instead. Now, for all the people in LTE areas, I can bet that the connection was faster on Cellular LTE than most people's home internet plans (for those affected) and it went to that, using Cell data instead of WiFi. My guess is that this was enabled or left as an enabled feature and pulled from the iOS Settings, until it could be refined.

Again, just a guess.
I am guessing this issue arises from removing the Cellular + Wifi option from the last iOS 6 beta....the vestiges of that feature weren't fully removed...and thus led to this issue....

just my 2 cents...
anshuvorty is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:16 PM   #61
Zadiek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Raymore, MO
As posted by a few other users, I went to update and I already had the 13.1 update. Hmm....
__________________
Macbook Pro, 2.26 Ghz, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD
4g iPod Nano 16GB
Apple TV 40GB
16GB Black iPhone 5
Zadiek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:17 PM   #62
shurcooL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Well, the rabbit hole goes deeper.

I did a google image search, and it seems that APPLE itself was the original source of this messed up image.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5526?v...S&locale=en_US

http://km.support.apple.com/library/...ngs_screen.png

That explains why MacRumors posted it as is. They just took it directly from that Apple page (instead of taking their own screenshot from iOS which would not exhibit this defect).

I'm kinda speechless.

Edit: Actually, I think I know how this happened. The original image was probably resized to be slightly smaller using nearest-neighbour filtering without any smoothing applied.

That makes a lot more sense than someone spending effort deliberately making it worse, which is why I was so confused at first.
shurcooL is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:18 PM   #63
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
There are grammar nazis, and then there are pixel ones.

When something bothers you, you can't help it.

Especially given how it's *EASIER* to post a cropped unmodified screenshot from iOS than to mess it up like that...
This isn't a quick post, it is an article. Probably went through a couple stages, including some up and down sampling for the image.

Edit: which I see you figured out.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:20 PM   #64
Buckeyestar
macrumors 6502a
 
Buckeyestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
You can't be serious.
The depths of some people's OCD never ceases to astound me.
Buckeyestar is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:22 PM   #65
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeyestar View Post
The depths of some people's OCD never ceases to astound me.
Watch the latest Parenthood episode. The kid acting like he has Aspbergers was incredible.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:25 PM   #66
Kenjancef
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Providence, RI
An update to my previous post:

I hit the power button to wake my phone, and saw the LTE symbol there again, then changed to Wi-Fi. Saw the post about turning off Wi-Fi during sleep, makes sense, and probably what's happening, but will see what my usage is in the next few days.

I'm glad I have unlimited data, but is a regular user with limited data going to burn through 1GB of data in a week?? I've never used that much in a month EVER with my iPhone 4.
__________________
32GB Verizon iPhone 5s (Gold), Late 2012 Mac Mini, Mid 2009 15" MacBook Pro, Early 2009 Mac Mini, 4th gen iPad 64GB Wi-Fi, 4th gen. iPod Touch 64GB, 2nd and 3rd gen AppleTV
Kenjancef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:28 PM   #67
Gage
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
Watch the latest Parenthood episode. The kid acting like he has Aspbergers was incredible.
Aspergers.
Gage is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:29 PM   #68
budafied
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
According to my iPhone usage, I have used over 2.3 gb since I got mine on launch day. According to my Verizon app, I've only used 880mb the last three weeks. Hmmmm...

I'll reset my usage and check in a week or so.
__________________
16GB iPhone 5 Verizon | Hackintosh
budafied is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:31 PM   #69
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage View Post
Aspergers.
It's late.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:32 PM   #70
Kenjancef
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Providence, RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by budafied View Post
I have over 2.3 gb sinc I got mine on launch day. According to my Verizon app, I've only used 880mb the last three weeks. Hmmmm...

I'll reset my usage and check in a week or so.
I'll check mine too. Funny thing was that I was in the Verizon store on the 13th, asking about preorders and such, and told the guy I wanted to keep unlimited so was going to pay full-price, since my contract doesn't expire until January. He was cool about it, but we went over usage statistics just in case I wanted to wait, and then switch to their Family plan. I wasn't even using 800MB per month for the past 3-4 months. I don't know how the data usage on my phone now compares to my usage on my bill, but I'm curious to find out...

EDIT: Would you all think data usage includes AirPlay? I made the mistake of showing my son how to send video to my AppleTV, so he's been doing that for the past few days.
__________________
32GB Verizon iPhone 5s (Gold), Late 2012 Mac Mini, Mid 2009 15" MacBook Pro, Early 2009 Mac Mini, 4th gen iPad 64GB Wi-Fi, 4th gen. iPod Touch 64GB, 2nd and 3rd gen AppleTV
Kenjancef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:32 PM   #71
shurcooL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeyestar View Post
The depths of some people's OCD never ceases to astound me.
I call it paying attention to details. Something many of us appreciate when Apple does right...

Seriously, who uses nearest-neighbouring resizing instead of smoothing (e.g. Lanczos resampling filter) for screenshots? What is this, 1998?
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:36 PM   #72
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
I call it paying attention to details. Something many of us appreciate when Apple does right...

Seriously, who uses nearest-neighbouring resizing instead of smoothing (e.g. Lanczos resampling filter) for screenshots? What is this, 1998?
Auto-****.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:38 PM   #73
jdb80
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
What about the iPhone 4???

The iPhone 4 (and I'd say 4S) is having the same issue. Flip flopping between Wifi and 3G when connected to a wireless network. This is an iOS 6 issue, for all 3G devices I'd say.
jdb80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:39 PM   #74
DMVillain
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
what are the odds that this is a trick to lock the sim?
(80% sarcasm)
__________________
Too many products to list. I just want an iPad Pro that runs OSXi.

Last edited by DMVillain; Sep 30, 2012 at 09:46 PM.
DMVillain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 09:41 PM   #75
faroZ06
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenjancef View Post
EDIT: Would you all think data usage includes AirPlay? I made the mistake of showing my son how to send video to my AppleTV, so he's been doing that for the past few days.
AirPlay only works on LAN, not over the Internet, so no.
faroZ06 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Get Tethering Data Usage in Settings>Usage>Cellular Usage? AlphaDogg Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Feb 16, 2013 10:14 PM
Accessing Mobile Websites on MacBook (To Reduce Data Usage) Sinophile OS X 2 Dec 8, 2012 06:15 AM
Verizon iPhone 4 data usage issue. bigMAC28 iPhone 5 Dec 1, 2012 09:51 AM
Verizon iPhone 5 Customers Will Not Be Charged for Inadvertent Cellular Data Usage Issue MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 79 Oct 3, 2012 10:13 AM
Verizon iPhone 5 Cellular usage shows Tether Data traderlucky iPhone 8 Sep 26, 2012 08:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC