Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2012, 11:06 PM   #101
charliepratt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
This is not just a Verizon issue. I have AT&T, and I've already gone over my limit for the first time ever. Looked at the data usage details and there are huge issues. Going to call AT&T tomorrow, will report back.
charliepratt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2012, 11:20 PM   #102
coolbreeze
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UT
So, Verizon better brace themselves for demands to credit data that was "wifi" and really was via the data network.

How long before some angry nerd files a lawsuit claiming he was sitting on top of his router, using mobile data due to this bug? "It says I used 24 gigs but I swear it was really only 600mb!!"
__________________

Nexus 5 & 7, OnePlusOne, iPhone 5, iPad 4, 15" rMBP, SP3, Lumia 920.

coolbreeze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 12:15 AM   #103
oneword
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
So it looks like someone is finally noticing this insane data issue. I'm on Rogers in Canada and recently did the math on what data usage would cost me for three weeks in Europe. Because of the insanely expensive rip off that is data roaming, I calculated that my data bill would run about $8000 for 20 days of normal iPhone usage with a "data roaming plan". When I'm home, its no big deal because I have a 6gig plan but, when I travel, data roaming becomes a big deal at $10/mb and the phone uses about 40mb per day just sending Apple my personal information and tracking data (or whatever the hell it does).

Rogers solution was to turn data roaming off which is kind of pointless, otherwise, why would I want to own and $800 smartphone. Regardless, why can I not shut everything else off except email and the phone capabilitites? I call shenanigans, Apple and the carriers are in bed together and have no interest in fixing this issue.
oneword is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 12:43 AM   #104
Wildgift
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlb500 View Post
I, too, have used an exorbitant amount of data (> 2 GB in less than a week, NEVER exceeded 2.4 GB in a month previously) while using LTE. However, I noticed that the data per web page seems incredibly excessive. Here is a photo of a single loading of a NYTimes web page (9MB!)--I zeroed out the data prior to this image. It often ranges 12-20 MB per web page. Of course, the normal content is about 300-1200 KB. Anyone else experience this? Verizon and Apple seem flummoxed by this . . .
Agreed. This is the other part of this huge problem.
Wildgift is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 01:00 AM   #105
Dainin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I'm on AT&T and have no issues. I show 18MB used for the last two days, been on wifi almost constantly. I probably loaded about 20 web pages while on 3G.
Dainin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 01:01 AM   #106
Yumbo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
WiFi has always been disabled when the phone is in sleep mode, but still receiving notifications and mail etc. on cellular.

With diagnostics enabled, that includes data being sent to Apple.

Not sure about iCloud backups daily as well.

Put in your requests for a solution to arrive by iOS 7.
Yumbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 01:02 AM   #107
lilo777
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbreeze View Post
So, Verizon better brace themselves for demands to credit data that was "wifi" and really was via the data network.

How long before some angry nerd files a lawsuit claiming he was sitting on top of his router, using mobile data due to this bug? "It says I used 24 gigs but I swear it was really only 600mb!!"
Why exactly should Verizon take the blame for this disaster? Apple made everything in its power to extricate wireless providers from phone design/experience. I do not know how it's even possible for a company (Apple) to overlook such a critical issue. Do they even test their phones anymore? This being Apple fault they should pay to Verizon for all overages.
lilo777 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 01:14 AM   #108
jaysen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilo777 View Post
Why exactly should Verizon take the blame for this disaster? Apple made everything in its power to extricate wireless providers from phone design/experience. I do not know how it's even possible for a company (Apple) to overlook such a critical issue. Do they even test their phones anymore? This being Apple fault they should pay to Verizon for all overages.
Apple QA is going down...
jaysen is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 02:58 AM   #109
jrhudson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
D= ATT users have this problem as well! You bastards.
jrhudson is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 04:37 AM   #110
Draft
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
This fix is only for Verizon. I'm on o2 in the UK and am having similar issues. I burned through 1GB in 2 days, when that same amount normally lasts a full month. I had my phone on wifi the vast majority of the time as well..

Any fix for other carriers, Apple?
__________________
davidtrumbell.com
Draft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 05:10 AM   #111
chaosboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
This is also effecting people on Telstra in Australia, although still nothing has been mentioned in the tech media.
Why has reports on this bug been so quiet when it involves money, yet the coverage over scuffing and maps has been off the chat?
chaosboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 05:16 AM   #112
jimmirehman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilo777 View Post
Why exactly should Verizon take the blame for this disaster? Apple made everything in its power to extricate wireless providers from phone design/experience. I do not know how it's even possible for a company (Apple) to overlook such a critical issue. Do they even test their phones anymore? This being Apple fault they should pay to Verizon for all overages.
The issue is, Apple Tests the phone, operations all function fine, but those test phones that apple uses on each provider, Apple doesnt get a bill for those lines. what they dont take into account is that all of our data is capped by THE PROVIDER for no actual reason other than greed. Lift data caps, give us all unlimited and this becomes a non-issue.
jimmirehman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 05:55 AM   #113
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I never got this notice and have never applied this update, and my release day Verizon iP5 shows the 13.1 update. Odd.

I have noticed the cellular data usage meter on the phone shows about double the usage the Verizon web site shows I have used. Just roughly based on the times/dates and amount of data shown on the Verizon web site I believe the site is accurate.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:16 AM   #114
dre29
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Interesting. I got an alert that I used over 3GB of data last month. This is when I was on my iPhone 4 and I'm on AT&T!! When I checked my usage the vast majority of the hugh usage came at night when I was at home. I'm always connected to my wifi at home and the times the usage occurred we're later at night when I would have been sleeping or my phone at least was charging. I can only suspect this was occurring when my phone was backing up to iCloud??? I wonder if ill continue to see this problem and if we'll see an update for AT&T users next???
dre29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:29 AM   #115
samcraig
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmirehman View Post
The issue is, Apple Tests the phone, operations all function fine, but those test phones that apple uses on each provider, Apple doesnt get a bill for those lines. what they dont take into account is that all of our data is capped by THE PROVIDER for no actual reason other than greed. Lift data caps, give us all unlimited and this becomes a non-issue.
Partly true. The issue of getting charged for overages becomes a non-issue. But drain on resources from the carrier vs wifi is still very much an issue. If everyone is using the carrier's signal vs wifi - then that clogs/taxes the network greatly.
samcraig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:34 AM   #116
Leonard1818
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
GREAT! Now just do the same thing for the 4s and curb the overnight minimal data use that my wife's phone sees and we're all gravy.
Leonard1818 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 06:49 AM   #117
MarkinAZ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I applied the update and turned the phone off then back on. I had data use show hours after I applied the patch when I was actively using wifi (phone not locked). It looks like the fix may have made the issue worse...
MarkinAZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 07:21 AM   #118
chazcron
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
This is not just iPhone 5 issue. My wife's iPhone 4S had the same thing started happening right after updating to iOS 6. On AT&T..
chazcron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 07:25 AM   #119
croooow
macrumors 6502a
 
croooow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycophpd View Post
So they admit there was a problem. Explains my over 5Gb of usage so far.
Thinking of getting the Verizon iPhone 5 to replace my AT&T iPhone 4. This reminds me why I left Verizon before...
__________________
.
croooow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 07:50 AM   #120
ladeer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
i was traveling in asia until yesterday and got an email saying i used more than $250 of data and getting cut off. (VZ iPad LTE.) i am sure i didn't use that much data and was on wifi often. do you think i was affected?
ladeer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 08:01 AM   #121
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneword View Post
So it looks like someone is finally noticing this insane data issue. I'm on Rogers in Canada and recently did the math on what data usage would cost me for three weeks in Europe. Because of the insanely expensive rip off that is data roaming, I calculated that my data bill would run about $8000 for 20 days of normal iPhone usage with a "data roaming plan". When I'm home, its no big deal because I have a 6gig plan but, when I travel, data roaming becomes a big deal at $10/mb and the phone uses about 40mb per day just sending Apple my personal information and tracking data (or whatever the hell it does).
Does Rogers have an international data plan? Even AT&T offers 800MB plans for $120 for international use.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by chazcron View Post
This is not just iPhone 5 issue. My wife's iPhone 4S had the same thing started happening right after updating to iOS 6. On AT&T..
I have not noticed the issue on mine (AT&T), but my Broadband Wi-Fi connection is faster than my LTE connection. I wonder if the old software just defaulted to the faster connection, which until LTE generally would have been Wi-Fi.

Also, does anyone know if this affects iPads or just iPhones?
KPOM is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 08:07 AM   #122
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undecided View Post
"Somewhat manually?" Man, if it were automatic, everyone would be freaking out about Apple doing things without user intervention. You just can't win.
... he means you have to manually tell it to search for an update, as opposed to the OTA iOS updates that send a notification automatically "hey there is an update" click yes to download etc.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 08:25 AM   #123
mallwitt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Hmmm, the more I read, it sounds like one of two things...

1) Automatic metric routing.

The system assigns a service metric to connection depending on throughput, then the system routes traffic to the connection with the highest metric. This used to be a major problem on PC Laptops with WIFI and network connection. If they connected to a 100 Ethernet and an N class WIFI connection, the N WIFI had a theoretical throughput greater than the wired network, so it got the higher metric and network traffic routed via the WIFI even when plugged into Ethernet. The solution was to either set connection precedence, or manually set the metric instead of auto-set. Windows 7 Seems to have fixed that, but perhaps someone at Apple forgot that LTE may end up with a higher metric than a WIFI connection?

2) Someone misplaced the decimal.

Some people are reporting the iPhone lists very high data use (10 MB for a web page and such), but the carrier is listing low usage. It could be that someone fumbled the decimal position and that 10 MB web page is supposed to be 10 KB.

Either way, I'm glad I'm still on 5.1.1 with my iPhone4, though it's bugging me about updating to iOS6. I think I'll wait...
__________________
Why QA loves me "That's cool, was it supposed to do that or is it just a fortunate bug?"
mallwitt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 08:41 AM   #124
Allenbf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Elsewhere, USA
Ah! I was wondering why my usage doubled. I didn't think LTE was THAT ridiculous. Good on VZ for fixing it, I hope they honor their word and credit back any overages people may have been charged.
__________________
I'm broke because of my love for
Allenbf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 08:50 AM   #125
mrholder
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Glad to see that they can send an update to a particular carrier. They're going to push an update to C Spire iP 5's to make it work with their newly installed 4G upgrade.
mrholder is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Get Tethering Data Usage in Settings>Usage>Cellular Usage? AlphaDogg Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Feb 16, 2013 10:14 PM
Accessing Mobile Websites on MacBook (To Reduce Data Usage) Sinophile OS X 2 Dec 8, 2012 06:15 AM
Verizon iPhone 4 data usage issue. bigMAC28 iPhone 5 Dec 1, 2012 09:51 AM
Verizon iPhone 5 Customers Will Not Be Charged for Inadvertent Cellular Data Usage Issue MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 79 Oct 3, 2012 10:13 AM
Verizon iPhone 5 Cellular usage shows Tether Data traderlucky iPhone 8 Sep 26, 2012 08:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC