Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 1, 2012, 03:06 AM   #1
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Question Mac App Store version of Quake 4 on a PowerPC Mac?

OK. Quake 4 initially came out for PowerPC Macs. It's on the App Store now - lists it requires an Intel Mac (on the App Store.)

lolwut

Does anybody know if I downloaded Q4 on an Intel Mac through the App Store if it's a universal binary, or it's been made Intel-only?
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 03:18 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
OK. Quake 4 initially came out for PowerPC Macs. It's on the App Store now - lists it requires an Intel Mac (on the App Store.)

lolwut

Does anybody know if I downloaded Q4 on an Intel Mac through the App Store if it's a universal binary, or it's been made Intel-only?
Not trying to be a smart ass here but I think all software in the App store is Intel only, why put PPC/Universal in there?
Might even be a requirement to be Intel only.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 04:24 AM   #3
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
No way. Since Mac App Store runs only on Intel Macs with 10.6.8+ all software available there is obviously Intel-only.
Apple has no reasons to endorse universal binaries anymore, especially on the MAS.
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 04:40 AM   #4
Jethryn Freyman
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Not trying to be a smart ass here but I think all software in the App store is Intel only, why put PPC/Universal in there?
Might even be a requirement to be Intel only.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colpeas View Post
No way. Since Mac App Store runs only on Intel Macs with 10.6.8+ all software available there is obviously Intel-only.
Apple has no reasons to endorse universal binaries anymore, especially on the MAS.
Yeah I figured it was Intel only, although I find it silly if a previously universal application is, for no reason, made Intel only when it's uploaded there. These days it seems as if some basic applications are made Intel-only when there's no reason other than the fact that the developer (whether Apple tells them to or) compiles it without Intel code.

I mean, this coming from single-person developers who also distribute via the App Store, very basic stuff, with no obvious reason to require Snow Leopard or an Intel CPU.

Ah well.

Long live 2004.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 11:15 AM   #5
thorns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I don't quite understand the problem here. If you want to play Quake 4, just purchase the original version for PPC. Can't be that expensive.
__________________
Powermac G5 Late 2005, DC 2,0, 10GB DDR2, X1900, 2,5TB, 10.5.8
thorns is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 11:34 AM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colpeas View Post
No way. Since Mac App Store runs only on Intel Macs with 10.6.8+ all software available there is obviously Intel-only.
Apple has no reasons to endorse universal binaries anymore, especially on the MAS.
Some of the MAS things do work on 10.6.0 and up. You just have to download it on a Mac with the App Store and transfer it over. I'd image some of the simpler apps may even work with 10.5 or 10.4 if you changed the minimum OS version within the app's info.plist.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 12:36 PM   #7
Jessica Lares
macrumors 603
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
As per MAS rules, developers are not allowed to submit apps with PowerPC code:

http://stadium.weblogsinc.com/engadg...app-review.pdf

Quote:
Apps that use deprecated or optionally installed technologies (e.g., Java, Rosetta) will be rejected
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 03:20 PM   #8
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Some of the MAS things do work on 10.6.0 and up. You just have to download it on a Mac with the App Store and transfer it over. I'd image some of the simpler apps may even work with 10.5 or 10.4 if you changed the minimum OS version within the app's info.plist.
Still, this this doesn't solve this Intel-only issue.
Colpeas is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 07:03 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colpeas View Post
Still, this this doesn't solve this Intel-only issue.
I never said it did. I only said you can run MAS apps on <10.6.6.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1Password 30 day trial to Mac App Store version KUguardgrl13 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 27, 2014 06:26 PM
what version is mac app store down load of lion osx ? ramram55 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 5 Aug 14, 2012 11:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC