Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:03 PM   #1
Spacecowboy1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Mkv to mp4/m4v lossless

Hi guys

Is there anybody out there that converting bluray MKV rips to MP4's without losing any of the original bluray quality? If so how are you going about doing it..?

Also is it a quicker process? as I'm guessing you can use passthru on the video.
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:05 PM   #2
JDrive
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
MakeMKV does not transcode the audio or video.

Sorry misread your post you could demux the audio and video streams with mkvtoolnix and then remux using ffmpeg.
__________________
Custom PC, 2500k @ 4.5ghz, Nvidia GTX 690, 8gb DDR3 2133, OCZ Vertex 3 240gb. NEC PA301W, ASUS PA246Q
MacBook Air 13" i7, 8gb, 256gb (Mid 2012) Verizon iPhone 4 32gb
JDrive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:11 PM   #3
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDrive View Post
MakeMKV does not transcode the audio or video.
By that do you mean the mkv will be lossless?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDrive View Post
MakeMKV does not transcode the audio or video.

Sorry misread your post you could demux the audio and video streams with mkvtoolnix and then remux using ffmpeg.
That sounds a bit complicated!! Lol
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:21 PM   #4
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
Hi guys

Is there anybody out there that converting bluray MKV rips to MP4's without losing any of the original bluray quality? If so how are you going about doing it..?

Also is it a quicker process? as I'm guessing you can use passthru on the video.
You can change the mkv container to an mp4 container using Subler (free).
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:22 PM   #5
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
[QUOTE=Spacecowboy1;15942724]By that do you mean the mkv will be lossless?

----------



That sounds a bit complicated!!

How would I go about remuxing to ffmpeg ?
Is ffmpeg a container or a program ?or neither 😳

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
You can change the mkv container to an mp4 container using Subler (free).
Would that be lossless?
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 01:24 PM   #6
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
[QUOTE=Spacecowboy1;15942885]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
By that do you mean the mkv will be lossless?

----------



That sounds a bit complicated!!

How would I go about remuxing to ffmpeg ?
Is ffmpeg a container or a program ?or neither 😳

----------



Would that be lossless?
yes
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 07:00 PM   #7
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
i dont know whether this is me doing something wrong but I've tryed converting a mkv to mp4 3 times now and not one of them will play afterwards. i process finishes ok and i get an m4v ouput file but it wont play.

when i try open it in quicktime i get the following error

the document"Headhunters.m4v" could not be opened the movie file format isnt recognised.

i also get this from mplayerx

error

oops, it seams that mplayer has quit without playing the media.

also videospec doesn't recognise the file!!

this is the process im doing in subler

1. open subler

2.file > open > headhunters.mkv

3. i then get a dialog box to select tracks

4. i select the video track, audio tracks , subs and chapter tracks

5. press add

6.press file > save
and save to a location

i then get a choice of file format video-mpeg4 or movie-mpeg4

then subler starts saving which takes about 5-10mins then i get the file thats unplayable.

am i missing something here?
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 09:32 AM   #8
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
i dont know whether this is me doing something wrong but I've tryed converting a mkv to mp4 3 times now and not one of them will play afterwards. i process finishes ok and i get an m4v ouput file but it wont play.

when i try open it in quicktime i get the following error

the document"Headhunters.m4v" could not be opened the movie file format isnt recognised.

i also get this from mplayerx

error

oops, it seams that mplayer has quit without playing the media.

also videospec doesn't recognise the file!!

this is the process im doing in subler

1. open subler

2.file > open > headhunters.mkv

3. i then get a dialog box to select tracks

4. i select the video track, audio tracks , subs and chapter tracks

5. press add

6.press file > save
and save to a location

i then get a choice of file format video-mpeg4 or movie-mpeg4

then subler starts saving which takes about 5-10mins then i get the file thats unplayable.

am i missing something here?
Does the mkv use the h.264 codec?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 12:01 PM   #9
Cinephi1e
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northwest Ohio
Also, make sure that 64-bit chunk offset is checked in Subler.
Cinephi1e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 12:18 PM   #10
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
I use the aTV2 setting in handbrake to convert MKv tv shows I get. They work just fine as m4v files, the downside is that they usually end up being a bigger file size afterwards. But they play fine.
peeaanuut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 12:40 PM   #11
mclog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeaanuut View Post
I use the aTV2 setting in handbrake to convert MKv tv shows I get. They work just fine as m4v files, the downside is that they usually end up being a bigger file size afterwards. But they play fine.
You should be using something like XMedia Recode which doesn't touch the video, just converts the audio to atv suitable format, and puts in m4v container. Only takes a couple of minutes to do an episode, and it's basically the same size afterwards.
mclog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 12:47 PM   #12
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclog View Post
You should be using something like XMedia Recode which doesn't touch the video, just converts the audio to atv suitable format, and puts in m4v container. Only takes a couple of minutes to do an episode, and it's basically the same size afterwards.
Note that he is in the apple ecosystem. XMedia Recode is Windows only. Subler has the same function in the Mac environment. Also, transcoding is required if original file does not use the h.264 codec.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 03:24 PM   #13
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Note that he is in the apple ecosystem. XMedia Recode is Windows only. Subler has the same function in the Mac environment. Also, transcoding is required if original file does not use the h.264 codec.
Definitely. Subler converts DTS / AC3 subtracks to AAC just fine (if you don't have a hardware decoder, connected to your ATV, to decode AC3). Let me know if you need my tutorial on using the audio converter support under ML and I'll dig up the link (posted it in some of the threads here).

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
Hi guys

Is there anybody out there that converting bluray MKV rips to MP4's without losing any of the original bluray quality? If so how are you going about doing it..?

Also is it a quicker process? as I'm guessing you can use passthru on the video.
Are they "scene" (read: pirated) rips, or, original ones? The former are very easy to convert as they "only" have DTS / AC3 audio and textual subtitles; the latter may be much more complicated (VC-1 video, HD audio, BD subs - all require conversion).
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 06:21 PM   #14
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinephi1e View Post
Also, make sure that 64-bit chunk offset is checked in Subler.
Thanks Cinephi1e that was the missing link! everything worked fine after that the subs are now working in iTunes, but theres one big problem!!!!
on the subs the letter 'l' is been replaced by a forward slash '"/" im guessing the ocr recognision is having problems with the letter "l" is there anything i can do about this? when i load the .sup into BDsup2sub the first window of text matches the second window on the problem area....ive looked for a manual for BDsup2sub but i cant find anything.
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 06:32 PM   #15
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Definitely. Subler converts DTS / AC3 subtracks to AAC just fine (if you don't have a hardware decoder, connected to your ATV, to decode AC3). Let me know if you need my tutorial on using the audio converter support under ML and I'll dig up the link (posted it in some of the threads here).

----------



Are they "scene" (read: pirated) rips, or, original ones? The former are very easy to convert as they "only" have DTS / AC3 audio and textual subtitles; the latter may be much more complicated (VC-1 video, HD audio, BD subs - all require conversion).

these are blurays that i have bought and ripping myself and the contents for the city of god are:-

video(h264)
audio(dts) 3/2+1
subtitle(pgs)
subtitle(pgs)
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 06:48 PM   #16
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
oh it gets worse the text on the screenshot is ment to say "Shaggy"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snap58.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	317.1 KB
ID:	366210   Click image for larger version

Name:	snap59.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	1.89 MB
ID:	366211  
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 07:03 PM   #17
orestes1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
i dont know whether this is me doing something wrong but I've tryed converting a mkv to mp4 3 times now and not one of them will play afterwards. i process finishes ok and i get an m4v ouput file but it wont play.

when i try open it in quicktime i get the following error

the document"Headhunters.m4v" could not be opened the movie file format isnt recognised.

i also get this from mplayerx

error

oops, it seams that mplayer has quit without playing the media.

also videospec doesn't recognise the file!!

this is the process im doing in subler

1. open subler

2.file > open > headhunters.mkv

3. i then get a dialog box to select tracks

4. i select the video track, audio tracks , subs and chapter tracks

5. press add

6.press file > save
and save to a location

i then get a choice of file format video-mpeg4 or movie-mpeg4

then subler starts saving which takes about 5-10mins then i get the file thats unplayable.

am i missing something here?
You need to tick the "64 bits chunk offset" box for files bigger than 4gb. It's a file size limitation.
orestes1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 07:51 PM   #18
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
Thanks Cinephi1e that was the missing link! everything worked fine after that the subs are now working in iTunes, but theres one big problem!!!!
on the subs the letter 'l' is been replaced by a forward slash '"/" im guessing the ocr recognision is having problems with the letter "l" is there anything i can do about this? when i load the .sup into BDsup2sub the first window of text matches the second window on the problem area....ive looked for a manual for BDsup2sub but i cant find anything.
I would suggest using Jubler to edit the files. Common for OCR apps to make these types of errors.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 08:04 PM   #19
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I would suggest using Jubler to edit the files. Common for OCR apps to make these types of errors.
would i need to go through each sentance and manually edit the bad text?
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 11:11 PM   #20
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
while where on the subject of lossless do you guys think its worth it? i mean were talking 25gb+ lossless vs between 1gb and 5gb encoded. obviously the latter is more appropriate for the likes of iOS devices but for the aTV the only restrictions are the size of your hard drive(s)
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 11:42 PM   #21
cmcclure16
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
while where on the subject of lossless do you guys think its worth it? i mean were talking 25gb+ lossless vs between 1gb and 5gb encoded. obviously the latter is more appropriate for the likes of iOS devices but for the aTV the only restrictions are the size of your hard drive(s)
You do realize that the aTV won't play lossless HD audio formats though, right? You have to convert it to Dolby Digital first.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB HDD | 32GB White iPhone 5 | Apple TV 3
cmcclure16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 11:58 PM   #22
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcclure16 View Post
You do realize that the aTV won't play lossless HD audio formats though, right? You have to convert it to Dolby Digital first.
yes seems a shame!! when i look inside the mkv container the audio format is DTS Coherent Acoustic is that HD? and why wont the aTV support that is it some sort of hardware restrictions/limitations?....or is it just apple being apple?(sorry had to get that in!!)
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 01:34 AM   #23
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
oh it gets worse the text on the screenshot is ment to say "Shaggy"
What did you use for text OCR? SubRip? Did you know the latest version of Subler have excellent OCR'ing capabilities?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecowboy1 View Post
yes seems a shame!! when i look inside the mkv container the audio format is DTS Coherent Acoustic is that HD? and why wont the aTV support that is it some sort of hardware restrictions/limitations?....or is it just apple being apple?(sorry had to get that in!!)
Nope, DTS Coherent Acoustics is the same as the plain (compressed) DTS. Nevertheless, not even that can be decoded by the ATV3 - and can't be passed to an external decoder either. That is, you must convert them to AC3 (if you do have an external decoder) or, even worse, AAC (if you don't have an external decoder).

For this conversion, Subler is just fine. By importing an MKV file twice and, in the second import, you deselect everything but the audio track, you can have both an AC3 and an AAC audio track in your target M4V.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 03:20 AM   #24
Spacecowboy1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
[QUOTE=Menneisyys2;15958298]What did you use for text OCR? SubRip? Did you know the latest version of Subler have excellent OCR'ing capabilities?[COLOR="#808080"]

No I used BDsup2sub, I dropped the .sub that I extracted using mkvtools into BDsup2sub and then saved/ran and I got a .sub and .idx out the other end then i muxed the .idx/.sub into the mkv using mktoolnix(mkvmerge) then change the container using subler

I've got a feeling I'm doing something wrong in bdsup2sub. I was under the impression that when you load the .sup into bdsup2sub that the two windows (see above image)represent the .sub that I inserted and the .sub that will be created...and if both match that's what you'll get in your .sub when bdsup2sub is ran.

Ps...this thread is a great learning curve, thank you for everyone's help.
Spacecowboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 03:37 AM   #25
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
[QUOTE=Spacecowboy1;15958626]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
What did you use for text OCR? SubRip? Did you know the latest version of Subler have excellent OCR'ing capabilities?[COLOR="#808080"]

No I used BDsup2sub, I dropped the .sub that I extracted using mkvtools into BDsup2sub and then saved/ran and I got a .sub and .idx out the other end then i muxed the .idx/.sub into the mkv using mktoolnix(mkvmerge) then change the container using subler

I've got a feeling I'm doing something wrong in bdsup2sub. I was under the impression that when you load the .sup into bdsup2sub that the two windows (see above image)represent the .sub that I inserted and the .sub that will be created...and if both match that's what you'll get in your .sub when bdsup2sub is ran.

Ps...this thread is a great learning curve, thank you for everyone's help.
I don't think it's a problem of bdsup2sub - it's pretty much failsafe. (Just remember to set the output language!) Subler, so far, worked for me just great in OCR'ing VobSub subs, also in English so I don't udnerstand why it produced so bad results with your subs.

Are you sure you're using the latest Subler? It uses an implicit English OCR dictionary - therefore, it's not a problem if you've forgotten to download it.

Another solution would be using SubRip for VobSub OCR'ing. It requires more time (you'll always have to train all chars first) but, in general, may output better results.

Let me know if you need a dedicated tutorial on using BDSup2Sub / Subler / SubRip, I've published several articles on their OCR support and can paste them in here.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MKV to M4V Question WSFrazier Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Sep 14, 2013 04:55 PM
How to convert mkv into mp4/m4v for ipad 4 SM2010 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Feb 5, 2013 06:01 AM
MKV to M4V Container Change mic j Apple TV and Home Theater 32 Nov 28, 2012 05:53 AM
How do you remux M4V to MKV? Jim.R Apple TV and Home Theater 12 Oct 29, 2012 04:30 AM
Muxing MKV with external SRT to mp4/m4v jfclazzi Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Aug 7, 2012 11:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC