Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IchBinAusMunich

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 3, 2012
I develop the app for iPad where I use a splitViewController.
The structure is: a splitViewController connects master as a master via a default NavigationController. Then, I have a segue from master1 to master2 and it works fine.
When I segue, on top I can see a back button. But I have to implement this "go back" functionality programmatically. And here is a problem.
I tried several options ,mostly using
Code:
[[presentingViewController dismissModalViewController]
or
Code:
sptliViewController viewController] objectatindex 0] dismissModalVC
and nothing happens.
The first line of code perfectly works on iPhone app but not in iPad
I would appreciate a lot if somebody could assist me in resolving this issue.
Thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator:

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
I develop the app for iPad where I use a splitViewController.
Alright, following you so far.

The structure is: a splitViewController connects master as a master via a default NavigationController.
And now I'm confused. "Master as a master"? What do you mean by that? Do you mean that your left-hand side view, normally referred to as the master in a split view, is presented within a navigationController?

Then, I have a segue from master1 to master2 and it works fine.
Great. So you're saying that there's a push segue from one view (master1) to another view (master2), all within the left-side of the split view?

When I segue, on top I can see a back button. But I have to implement this "go back" functionality programmatically.
Why do you feel you need to implement the "go back" functionality? As part of a navigationController, it should automatically be handled for you.

The first line of code perfectly works on iPhone app but not in iPad