Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:11 AM   #1
sk1wbw
macrumors 68030
 
sk1wbw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Suffolk, Virginia
Number to dial to update Verizon towers?

I know Sprint had a ##update# number that you could dial to update the network towers on your location.

What is the number to dial for Verizon?
sk1wbw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:15 AM   #2
FeMac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ohio
*228
__________________
Mid-2010 Mac Mini | iPhone 4 16GB white | iPhone 5 16GB white *on backorder *
FeMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:33 AM   #3
tmoney468
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
For iPhone 5, you do not need to update the towers
tmoney468 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:40 AM   #4
bogatyr
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmoney468 View Post
For LTE phones, you do not need to update the towers
10 char minimum
bogatyr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:42 AM   #5
sk1wbw
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
sk1wbw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Suffolk, Virginia
Thanks, didn't know if it was required or not.
sk1wbw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:43 AM   #6
1080p
macrumors 68000
 
1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Earth
Let me clear up some untruths and some myths here.

PRL has NO IMPACT on your NATIVE network coverage. It only affects ROAMING capabilities.

People think, "They built a new tower by my house, so I need a new PRL so I can pick it up."

FALSE. PRLs are done by SID (System ID) and only affects
how your phone roams.

Now that Verizon is using LTE, SIM cards take the place of *228 and OTASP/PRL updating is obsolete.

LTE is the natural evolutionary path for WCDMA (UMTS, HSDPA, HSPA+), which evolved from GSM. All of those technologies have had dynamically updated roaming abilities. Users didn't even need to think about it.

The natural evolutionary path for CDMA 1xEV-DO would be EV-DV... but Qualcomm scrapped it because the world (including Verizon) chose LTE. Verizon wanted to be apart of the world standard. So, naturally... customers used to CDMA and it's practices are going to be confused about these things.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini Quad Core i7 | OSX Yosemite | iPhone 6 | Synology NAS
1080p is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:04 AM   #7
tmoney468
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogatyr View Post
10 char minimum
Well since this is an iPhone forum, I thought I would simplify and just say the iPhone 5 But yes all LTE enabled phones, no updates to towers are needed
tmoney468 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:11 AM   #8
avaloncourt
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Good post 1080p. I also noticed that on my phone (Verizon) it wouldn't let me dial *228. It put a message up saying that wasn't available to my phone.
avaloncourt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:40 AM   #9
lookout
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Would you need to do it if you are in areas where you only have 3G coverage?
lookout is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:55 AM   #10
ROLLTIDE1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lookout View Post
Would you need to do it if you are in areas where you only have 3G coverage?
no and you can't well there is a way but I am not going to give out those details
ROLLTIDE1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select number text on Mac, send to phone and dial adam9c1 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 1, 2014 01:10 PM
Is it possible to use Verizon Iphone 5C on Straight Talk on Verizon Towers? phil1995 iPhone 4 Dec 6, 2013 10:48 AM
[Free] Point & Dial | Just point to dial a number plescape iPhone and iPod touch Apps 3 Sep 26, 2013 06:37 PM
Activating on Verizon with Number Port christophermdia iPhone 3 Sep 22, 2012 12:07 AM
Verizon taking forever to activate 4G towers in my city (Morgantown, WV). iSingandiDance iPhone 0 Sep 17, 2012 10:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC