Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2012, 12:36 PM   #1
Clipse79
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
CDMA vs GSM Screen replacement iphone 4

I ordered a gsm version on ebay and the fool sent me one marked cdma. Is there any difference? The cracked screen/digitizer looks identical to the one I got. I cannot find a 100% answer so I come to the experts, you guys!

The phone I got is from Telus....

TYIA
Clipse79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 12:37 PM   #2
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipse79 View Post
I ordered a gsm version on ebay and the fool sent me one marked cdma. Is there any difference? The cracked screen/digitizer looks identical to the one I got. I cannot find a 100% answer so I come to the experts, you guys!

The phone I got is from Telus....

TYIA
There the same

Edit my bad read thread title not thread as such

Last edited by Gav2k; Oct 6, 2012 at 01:32 PM.
Gav2k is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 12:38 PM   #3
dominion155
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
the GSM and CDMA are just different radios/networks for the phones (aka, some wireless providers have different radios)

They should work perfectly fine together, as the body of every iphone is the same, regardless of carrier.

Last edited by dominion155; Oct 6, 2012 at 01:19 PM.
dominion155 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 12:48 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
The iPhone 4 CDMA screen is different from the GSM screen and will not fit. The pins and screw holes are different and do not line up. Internally, the two iPhone 4 models are designed slightly differently besides the wireless chip.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 12:54 PM   #5
Clipse79
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I am wondering if what I was sent is labeled wrong then. The mounts on the old screen are identical. I tried to find a side by side cdma and gsm picture but cannot. The cables look the same length and in same spot.
Clipse79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 12:58 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Read step 19: http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iPhon...eardown/4693/3
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 01:01 PM   #7
Clipse79
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Well then this is either labeled wrong or the Telus iphone I got is CDMA. Not sure if they released a CDMA version, I thought they were all GSM. If I lay the screen I got on to the casing it matches perfectly.

My concern now is if the motherboard reads the cdma and gsm screens differently.
Clipse79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 01:23 PM   #8
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
See if it has a SIM slot. If it does, it's a GSM phone. If it doesn't it's a CDMA phone.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 01:30 PM   #9
Clipse79
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
See if it has a SIM slot. If it does, it's a GSM phone. If it doesn't it's a CDMA phone.
yup its there.....
Clipse79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 01:47 PM   #10
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You have a GSM iPhone 4 then. Or you mistakenly have an iPhone 4S, but that is highly unlikely. Count the antenna breaks, three is an iPhone 4. Four breaks is an iPhone 4S.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 02:00 PM   #11
Clipse79
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You have a GSM iPhone 4 then. Or you mistakenly have an iPhone 4S, but that is highly unlikely. Count the antenna breaks, three is an iPhone 4. Four breaks is an iPhone 4S.
It is a 4, just based on model number
Clipse79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Find out iPhone 5 Model number (CDMA + GSM or GSM) neworderdude iPhone 4 Sep 10, 2013 04:15 PM
2 GSM iPhone 4's not powering after screen replacement. SKBeck iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Sep 8, 2013 10:01 AM
iPhone 4 GSM/GSM2012 or CDMA? dubdi iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Aug 21, 2013 12:56 PM
What model is my iPhone 5, GSM or CDMA? snerkler iPhone 5 Jun 16, 2013 12:39 PM
USA GSM vs CDMA iPhone 5 iMikeT iPhone 28 Oct 4, 2012 07:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC