Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bhunt

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 5, 2012
Hey everyone, Mac noob here so excuse my inexperience.

My wife and I have had iPhones for just over a year now, and iPad for about 6 mos, and ATV3 for about 3 months, and am currently waiting to see if the mac mini gets updated before i pull the trigger. (If it isn't updated on Oct 17, then I'm just going to buy it). My question is how to rip my DVD/Bluray library to an ext hdd so I can stream it house-wide. Thanks for all the help.

Brad

Bhunt

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 5, 2012
Can I start this on a windows machine and just move it over WHEN I buy my Mac mini?

Bhunt

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 5, 2012
Ok, So i have been using handbrake, but the movies are taking a LONG time to encode. "I love you man" took about 1.75 hrs but the Saving Private Ryan took almost 6. And now Independence Day is on track to take about 6. any ideas. I'm setting ATV3 preset.

mic j

macrumors 68030
Mar 15, 2012
Ok, So i have been using handbrake, but the movies are taking a LONG time to encode. "I love you man" took about 1.75 hrs but the Saving Private Ryan took almost 6. And now Independence Day is on track to take about 6. any ideas. I'm setting ATV3 preset.

Those times are typical for the aTV3 setting, which is optimized for highest quality/lowest file size. If you can live with lower quality and/or large file sizes you can reduce you're encode times.

blevins321

macrumors 68030
Dec 24, 2010
Detroit, MI

One suggestion. RomCom's/dramas I encode at 720p because the detail of 1080p isn't really necessary to enjoy the film. For action/sci-fi though I do 1080p for the high quality.

MrMister111

macrumors 68040
Jan 28, 2009
UK
I have a Mac, and use iVi Pro, great app I think, easy to use.