Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SR71

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 12, 2011
Boston, MA
So, I want to learn to code iPhone/iPad apps, but do not know anything about coding. I would like to learn from step 1. Can anyone give me some guides, links, tutorials, etc.? I want to learn from the basics and work my way up to coding iOS apps.

Thanks!

mngoose

macrumors member
May 26, 2012
SR&!

I'll offer my suggestion, while I am somewhat new to IPHONE programming, have a lot of patience and be prepared to tear your code apart and do it again. Currently I have worked on two apps and the first one me and my partner tore apart our code at least 200 times.

Another suggestion is that when you have something working, save the code be it in word pad, google docs, or a text editor of your choice that way you can refer back to it and spend time examining it without messing up the code.

Enjoy your time coding, its frustrating but oh so rewarding when you get something to work or you understand something that you didn't before.

RON

waterskier2007

macrumors 68000
Jun 19, 2007
Novi, MI
Did you have absolutely no programming experience before you started there? If so, was it pretty hard to follow those lectures at first? Cuz even that course has some prerequisites.

That is true. I had some basic programming knowledge. This included 1.5 semesters of introductory C++, about a year of VB.net experience, and some other random stuff like a little bit of ruby.

All in all though, I wouldn't say that much of that really helped. The C++ helped to understand some basic concepts, but I think what really helped is watching the lectures WHILE doing the coding (this involved watching the lectures on my iPad and working on my computer, because switching between the video and XCode on the same computer would be cumbersome and probably cause you to miss things.