Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 9, 2012, 11:51 PM   #1
Nova Sensei
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Empire Total War on 2012 Air?

Hey guys,

Apparently Empire Total War requires a 2.0ghz CPU. The standard 2012 MBA has a 1.8ghz CPU but can turbo boost above that.

So, my question is, can the 2012 MBA run Empire Total War?

Thanks in advance

Edit - I should probably add that I would like to play in OSX. No desire to Bootcamp.

Last edited by Nova Sensei; Oct 10, 2012 at 12:27 AM.
Nova Sensei is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 06:28 AM   #2
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
The problem is the gpu not the processor.

Here are the requirements:

http://www.macgamestore.com/product/...-Gold-Edition/

You should be able to run it but expect lowest settings and a lower resolution. The Total War games are very demanding, and you don't want a diashow during a large battle.

As always, it will most certainly run better using bootcamp and windows.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 2.8ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 6tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 06:57 AM   #3
gregorsamsa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: (Metamorphosing near) Staffs, 51st State.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova Sensei View Post
Edit - I should probably add that I would like to play in OSX. No desire to Bootcamp.
Above noted & I've yet to get the Mac version as I'm waiting for DVD version release.

FWIW, for anyone else considering playing it in Bootcamp, here's Empire TW running on MacBook Air in ultra settings. Some inevitable lags at those settings, but looks great:

Specs
1.8 GHz Intel Core i7-2677M
Intel HD Graphics 3000
4gb RAM
256gb SSD

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcoFCUdsMig
gregorsamsa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 11:40 AM   #4
tonyshaker
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
NO IT Works Well

I have a 2011 mac book air its the i5 core 1.7 4gb ram and intel graphics 3000

it works great on medium settings but if you want to put it on high or very high graphics
it will not allow you unless the computer is capable to satisfy these settings but the fan will go crazy when you play.
tonyshaker is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 12:04 PM   #5
gregorsamsa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: (Metamorphosing near) Staffs, 51st State.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyshaker View Post
I have a 2011 mac book air its the i5 core 1.7 4gb ram and intel graphics 3000

it works great on medium settings but if you want to put it on high or very high graphics
it will not allow you unless the computer is capable to satisfy these settings but the fan will go crazy when you play.
I can well imagine what you describe if playing the Mac version in very high or ultra settings in OS X, due to drivers being optimised for the original Windows native version.

The guy who posted the linked video claims he's running it on a MacBook Air same specs as yours, but it's the Windows version in Bootcamp.
gregorsamsa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 04:59 PM   #6
Nova Sensei
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Thanks guys for your replies - much appreciated.

Coming from an Xbox 360, I'd be quite happy with low settings and a solid framerate. Once my MBA arrives I'll take one for the team and give it a try in OSX. Will report back on how it goes.
Nova Sensei is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:05 PM   #7
dwynnejr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
So, i just got a brand new air, 8 ram, but the 1.7 processor. anyone have any experience running this with this type of rig?
dwynnejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 08:37 PM   #8
Nova Sensei
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwynnejr View Post
So, i just got a brand new air, 8 ram, but the 1.7 processor. anyone have any experience running this with this type of rig?
Hi Dynnejr,

Sorry, but contrary to by bold statement above regarding "taking one for the team", I never did pick up a Total War game for my Air (same model as you).

I'm a bit short on App store credit at the moment, so don't think i'll be trying it in the near future.

As an aside, I'm loving the MBA for non-game related tasks, it's a great tool. But for gaming, man....just awful so far. I guess that's more an OSX thing than an MBA thing though.
Nova Sensei is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 11:15 AM   #9
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova Sensei View Post
Hey guys,

Apparently Empire Total War requires a 2.0ghz CPU. The standard 2012 MBA has a 1.8ghz CPU but can turbo boost above that.

So, my question is, can the 2012 MBA run Empire Total War?

Thanks in advance

Edit - I should probably add that I would like to play in OSX. No desire to Bootcamp.
Yes it will run, you will not be able to run max settings and you can get the odd slowdown but the SSD in the Air means you should be OK. That said officially you cannot get support, unofficially we know a few people play on the Air and we have played it on the BTO 2GHz Air here (supported) and the 1.8 will be pretty close to that in terms of performance.
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 08:17 PM   #10
Nova Sensei
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by edddeduck View Post
Yes it will run, you will not be able to run max settings and you can get the odd slowdown but the SSD in the Air means you should be OK. That said officially you cannot get support, unofficially we know a few people play on the Air and we have played it on the BTO 2GHz Air here (supported) and the 1.8 will be pretty close to that in terms of performance.
Thanks, appreciate the info
Nova Sensei is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Empire and Napoleon Total War USMC-SOLDJABOY Mac and PC Games 9 Jan 16, 2014 04:00 PM
OS X: Empire Total War Cheats AdamC90 Mac and PC Games 21 Oct 8, 2013 11:04 PM
OS X: Empire Total War: I need help (feral please ?) USMC-SOLDJABOY Mac and PC Games 9 Aug 14, 2013 11:38 AM
OS X: Total War Empire won't fully install maxvoegtli Mac and PC Games 1 Nov 13, 2012 03:58 AM
Empire Total War on Mac App Store Adestro Mac and PC Games 1 Sep 19, 2012 07:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC