Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Old Oct 10, 2012, 10:17 PM   #1
dssource
macrumors newbie

Developing new iPad app with HTML5/CSS3/JavaScript

Hi all,

I'm a noob to the forums and to ios development. I've got a lot of experience in creating standalone web apps and have created on the blackberry platform. I have a new tablet idea that I want to be able to create across all major platforms and I want to create it using HTML5/CSS3/JavaScript.

I have started to look into the apple developer program, but man do they make it confusing. I don't want to use any of their software, other than to compile. It seems like I can't access their forums until I sign up for a license which i don't want to do until the app is finished or close to it. I'd like to be able to test on a simulator without having to pay the $99/year first. Blackberry makes it so much easier to develop web apps.

My questions: Can i create a standalone web app solely using HTML5? Is there a way to test in a simulator without signing up (The app is pretty complicated and if it takes a year I don't want to waste $99)? I want to create a base app that will work cross-platform then I'll tweak it slightly to optimize it per platform - is this possible with apple?

Thanks.
dssource is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 12:39 AM   #2
chown33
macrumors 603

When you say "web app", exactly what do you mean? Do you mean "presented in the web browser"? Because if that's the case you don't need anything other than a text editor and a web server.

You can create a web app using nothing but plain HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. It runs in the web browser app (Safari) on every iOS platform. No simulator required, because it's all done in Safari directly. You can use all the standard techniques for detecting platform identity from JavaScript, and adjust your presentation accordingly.