Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

battlekid

macrumors regular
Original poster
After taking a look at the iPod Touch 5 and how it already has a list of things that were nerfed or have issues, I decided I wanted to try the alternative route. That route being the route of purchasing a used iPhone (4S, which would be practically identical to the 5G, with a few added extras (pros: GPS, dock connector, better camera, light sensor, etc, cons: not the fancy new screen, no lightning connector (which is actually a pro, not a con)) off of ebay and not getting a contract for it (I've seen people refer to it as the "iPod Touch Pro" route).

I've never tried this before, and after some extensive research on the subject, I'm a little confused about a few things. From what I can understand, for ATT iPhones, they require a SIM card to activate after a restore, but you can use a prepaid or invalid sim card to do this? Is this correct?

For the Verizon/Sprint iPhones, I wasn't able to find much at all about this subject. Do off-contract Verizon/Sprint phones require a contract or sim card to activate (like the ATT iPhone), or not? Can you even use them without a contract? Or are they already activated by default and don't require any of this?

I don't have a problem with purchasing a prepaid sim card or plan, but I have no intention of entering into a contract — I just want it for the hardware, not the phone function.

On the topic of iPhones with bad ESN... Can you still activate these? Is there anything different about them, other than the fact that they're blacklisted from getting service from their native carrier?

Thanks!

Applejuiced

macrumors Westmere
Apr 16, 2008
At the iPhone hacks section.
On the topic of iPhones with bad ESN... Can you still activate these? Is there anything different about them, other than the fact that they're blacklisted from getting service from their native carrier?