Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NeverhadaPC

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 3, 2008
I am torn. I have been dabbling in photography for the past 5-6 years and have more or less used my Canon Powershot S5 IS (DIGIC III processor) to it's limit. In fact, my daughter and wife managed to break the flash and scratch the lens recently, which means I am now actively looking for a new camera. I have been reading about various DSLR options available and would like to stay with Canon, so I feel like my best quality-vs-price options are:

(1) T2i --- DIGIC IV processor, should be cheapest (~$500)
(2) T3i --- DIGIC IV processor, should be cheaper ($500+)
(3) T4i --- DIGIC V processor, is more expensive ($800+)
(4) 60D -- DIGIC IV processor, is most expensive ($1000+)
----------

I am looking at getting a decent all-around lens to take various family event / nature shot. Staying below $1000ish, should I opt for T2i/T3i and get a "better" lens or T4i/60D and stick with stock lenses? Or is worth it to go for "new-is-better" (i.e. T4i with newer processor) and wait on buying the lens?

Finally, should I expect any good deals around Black Friday or is the current Canon DSLR+Printer combo $400 MIR as good as it gets?

Any tips and help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

lixuelai

macrumors 6502a
Oct 29, 2008
Get the T3i and better lens. The T4i's isn't much if any improvement in IQ. The kit Amazon sells is pretty good price-wise. Maybe it might get cheaper during BF but I doubt it will be by much. Price of lenses tend to be fairly constant and for $600 you are getting the body, the kit lens and the 55-250mm.