Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crispyApple

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 23, 2011
Hi,

I am a total newbie to the Mac Pro. Have had MBPs for years now. Wanted the flexibility to upgrade and expand the system but did not want to buy a "2012" because of the possible 2013 MP refresh.

So I just bought a used 2009 Nehalem Quad Core (MB871LL/A) off of eBay for a good price. Comes with 6G of RAM and 1.5TB of disk. I want to upgrade a few things - my budget for upgrades is $500.

My usage scenarios are the following:
1. Use Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and Aperture almost daily.
2. Always have one instance of Windows 7 in a VM (Fusion) running.
3. Few times a week, fire up a second VM with Win2003 Server.
4. Once a month or so use Camtasia to record and render some screencasts.

With these usage scenarios, what is your recommendation. I could get RAM, SSDs, upgrade the processor (although I am nervous about doing that, as I have no experience here).

Please advice.

Thanks,

SK

thekev

macrumors 604
Aug 5, 2010
I don't see why anyone would do the cpu upgrade anymore unless the price was extremely cheap. When they adjusted pricing, the refurb hex became a much more viable option in terms of cost given what people still ask for the 2009s. $2500~ for a refurb hex with a warranty compared to typically $1500 for a used 2009 + $600 for the cpu. It doesn't make a lot of sense to me. Once ram is at a comfortable level, you should try the machine as it is. You don't have to upgrade the cpu simply because it can be done. Test performance. If you don't feel like you're waiting on the machine, why drop $600 into a cpu?

Loa

macrumors 68000
May 5, 2003
Québec
Hello,

My advice:
-Get at *least* 8GB of RAM, ideally more like 16GB. Luckily, the RAM is cheap for the 2009 model. (16GB = 125$)