Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blairh

macrumors 603
Original poster
Dec 11, 2007
I've been using an iPhone since 2008. Love my iPhone 5. Amazingly light, screen brighter and sharper than my old iPhone 4. Aluminum backing is a huge improvement over glass back. Wi-fi is substantially faster too.

But, there are things I don't like about it. Specifally I'm finding the battery life to be substantially worse than equal usage on my iPhone 4. I also think a slightly larger screen would be better. It's also frustrating and infuriating that AT&T's iPhone 5 is locked for international use but Verizon's aren't.

That established, I'm keeping an open mind to future Android releases. I'm certainly not jonesing to ditch the iPhone 5, but I'm excited to see what Android has in store this fall/winter.

MRU

macrumors Penryn
Aug 23, 2005
a better place
If you find battery life tough on the iPhone 5, the chances are you will not experience too much difference on Android. I've had a Sensation, Sensation XE, Galaxy S2, Galaxy Nexus & my current HTC One X. Battery life has at best been inconsistent on ALL of them, and with medium usage you will need to charge at some point during the day.

There are some better Android handsets with battery life improvements such as the Note 2 (due to sheer size of device it can have a bigger battery) , and the Droid MaXX are supposed to be good on battery.

Your best bet and if you want unbiased opinion on any particular handset is to head over to XDA forums and choose the device your looking at. Normally you will find threads about battery, performance and general user experiences that outweigh info you will get here. (normally everything here turns into a penis measuring contest, with usual iOS sux's or Android sux's kind of vibe).