Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

valdikor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
Slovakia
I have owned my 2010 13-ich MacBook Pro for over two years now and never before experienced what I'm about to describe. No too long ago I installed Windows 7 in Boot Camp just to play some new games (OT: it's unbelievable how surprisingly potent the 320M still is).

However, when running Windows and playing a game, a lot of static electricity seems to build up on the computer. Almost every other time my skin touches the unibody chassis I get a static shock. This happens not only when I touch the palm rests but also the little aluminum spaces between the keys. It doesn't particularly hurt, but when it happens a dozen times per minute, it gets really annoying and in such a frequency it may even be harmful, but I'm no expert on this.

Strangely, this never ever happens in OS X. Could it perhaps mean Windows uses too much power or something? Can I control this somewhere?

I tried googling the problem, but I only found solutions involving using a grounded wall plug - I use that. I'm in Europe, so I'm using the European plug, if it's of any help.

Any ideas anyone? I'll be thankful for any help. Thanks a lot.

Last edited:

Dark Void

macrumors 68030
Jun 1, 2011
The 320M is nice for an integrated GPU, and can still play some games really well.

Are you sure what you are experiencing is static electricity? I seem to faintly remember a resemblance of what you are talking about when gaming under Windows via Bootcamp, and it was basically "irritation" from the heat and such due to the fact that the laptop is under heavy load and the Aluminum build makes for greater transfer.

If what you are experiencing is indeed electricity, it could be a number of things - the outlet, the charger, the laptop itself, etc.

valdikor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
Slovakia