Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2012, 07:59 PM   #1
jcaraballo70
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
The New MacPro?

http://ipack3d.com/page8/index.php?c...sign%20Concept

Seems like a really cool idea! Wonder what Apple will come up with.

----------

jcaraballo70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 08:03 PM   #2
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
Seems like a cool idea... also seems very very expensive...
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 08:44 PM   #3
zephonic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LA
If anything, it is a very well executed design exercise. Great job!
__________________
"the irony of the information age is that is has given new respectability to uninformed opinion." - John Lawton
zephonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 08:49 PM   #4
faroZ06
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
The current Mac Pro looks prettier. Also, why do the Thunderbolt ports have the FireWire icon?

I'd just want more ports, and it should have Thunderbolt, FW400, and FW800. The idea of modular pieces that this blog described is really cool, but it would have to look better than what the pictures show.

Of course, there's the issue of fully updated and cheaper parts.
faroZ06 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:07 PM   #5
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by faroZ06 View Post
Also, why do the Thunderbolt ports have the FireWire icon?
And vice versa
Nermal is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:08 PM   #6
Snowshiro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefroastbeef View Post
seems very very expensive...
Totally unlike the Mac Pro then...
Snowshiro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:08 PM   #7
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
No thanks. On second thought, drop the thanks. Just plain NO!!!!!!!
xav8tor is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:55 PM   #8
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I could use 8 HDD bays. Also Ivy Bridge or least SB-E!
__________________
2x2.93 24GB 25TB 2x1TB 840EVO 2x UAD OCTO, Apollo, 4-710d
Check Out My YouTube Channel~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Zwhaler is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 11:01 PM   #9
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcaraballo70 View Post
http://ipack3d.com/page8/index.php?c...sign%20Concept

Seems like a really cool idea! Wonder what Apple will come up with.

----------

Image
Interesting idea but this guy knows nothing about industrial engineering. The complexity of such a modular system would quickly overweigh the benefits of being able to "assemble your own Mac Pro". The idea lacks sufficient cooling just about everywhere, and the fan sizes he's detailed for the consumer versions would have to be high-RPM units to handle that heat load- so they'd be loud and whine.

I'm not sure what's going on with his power and data bus bars. Two pins is nowhere near enough for power (you'd need a minimum of 18 pins), and two pins is nowhere near enough for "Thunderbolt" data (TB is 20 pins alone). I'm not sure why he's referencing Thunderbolt anyways, TB doesn't provide enough bandwidth for a single x16 PCI card, let alone three + spare bandwidth for disk drives.

In other words, it's plausible, but if Apple were to do this they'd have to quadruple the cost of the Mac Pro just to start, and the entire system would be prone to many more failure points then the existing Mac Pro. This is one of those ideas that looks and sounds great on paper, but sucks in practice. Nobody cares about a modular Mac Pro, because the folks who own such systems usually own them for the workloads they can handle- not because it's "nifty and modular".

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 12:13 AM   #10
wafl iron
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
next up, a modular ipad with an expansion slot for a g5 node to speed things up if apps demand extra power.
wafl iron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 12:28 AM   #11
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
"StacPro"
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 12:49 AM   #12
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowshiro View Post
Totally unlike the Mac Pro then...
well, even more expensive than the current line up.
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 01:34 AM   #13
george-brooks
macrumors 6502a
 
george-brooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Simply posting that one picture does not do your concept justice! I looked at your website and this is a great design. A few aesthetic hiccups in my opinion but I love the idea of a modular mac pro like this that allows people to build it to exactly their required specs! Great job! Too bad it is simply too complex an idea for Apple to go for.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1: 6 Core 3.5 GHz|32GB|D700|1TB
MacBook Pro 8,2: 2.5 GHz i7|16GB|750GB+240GB SSD
iPhone 5s, iPad 4, iPad Mini Retina, 12" Powerbook G4
george-brooks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 03:43 AM   #14
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
So LegoŽ are being outsourced for hardware design now?
gpzjock is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 03:55 AM   #15
G4DP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Integrated graphics? No chance.

There is a reason the MacPro is as big as it is - Cooling.

The design looks very nice, but nowhere near enough space for the flow of air.
__________________
Apple wouldn't know a cartographer if they stabbed them with a pair of compass' in the backside!
G4DP is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 05:47 AM   #16
Wardenski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
The Mac Pro case as it is IMO should be left as it is assuming Apple can source a custom made logic board. I find some motherboard designs have the RAM slots perpendicular to the air flow which I find odd wheras they are parallel in the Mac Pro.

That case though may be nice for a custom PC or something like a media PC.
Wardenski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 06:14 AM   #17
Neodym
macrumors 6502a
 
Neodym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by G4DP View Post
There is a reason the MacPro is as big as it is - Cooling.

The design looks very nice, but nowhere near enough space for the flow of air.
I wonder whether liquid cooling will ever become a real mainstream option.

I don't mean overclocker's paradise, like Apple attempted with the last PowerMac generation using a closed cooling system prone to leaks, but instead submerging the whole computer into non-conductive liquid, like here.

Only in a much smaller box, suitable for home or at least workstation use. Submerge the hot components in a separated box (or case compartment) and have things like rotating-platter storage in another (air-cooled) one.

Submerging would mean to have much less interfaces to seal and non-conductive liquid would mean no harm to electronics, even if a seal breaks.

You would also need less space for the otherwise necessary airflow, so you could build even tighter housings (or should i say: thinner! ).

And with mass production the economies of scale would significantly reduce costs vs existing solutions.

Do i miss or overlook something in my assumptions?
Neodym is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 06:19 AM   #18
comatory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Cant see how this unit could be effectively cooled. I don't see anything wrong with integrated GPU, at least the one that could carry Thunderbolt as well, it could be useful for situations when your GPU gets fried or sth.

Also how do you fit 1000W PSU in there? It just seems so small, even if they put Core i7 in there.

Even if they went ahead with such a design I'm afraid of the price tag. Apple usually keeps things nice and simple, as well as pricing. Wouldn't be surprised if they charged you the same they do for MP just for the base unit. Then you'd have to spend another bucks for drive unit and GPU unit if you wanted a lot of performance.

But still, the main culprit seems to be that TB connection between the modules. The bandwith is just too small. More practical would be to use some kind of proprietary connection, some sort of bus connection - but again, there might be performance decrease because of it. I'm no expert but I think there is a reason why all the components are directly attached to motherboard - access speed. It's the reason why PC towers work the same way for past 30 years.

Maybe with optical Thunderbolt?

Also, Cook didn't say that thing for Pro's coming in 2013 will be Mac Pro or anything like it. Words in these statement are important if you want to interpret them. This computer scheduled for 2013 might as well be retina high-end iMac. Remember, they market rMBP as a computer for Pro's - it makes sense they will do the same for iMacs.
comatory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 07:34 AM   #19
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodym View Post
I wonder whether liquid cooling will ever become a real mainstream option.

I don't mean overclocker's paradise, like Apple attempted with the last PowerMac generation using a closed cooling system prone to leaks, but instead submerging the whole computer into non-conductive liquid, like here.

Only in a much smaller box, suitable for home or at least workstation use. Submerge the hot components in a separated box (or case compartment) and have things like rotating-platter storage in another (air-cooled) one.

Submerging would mean to have much less interfaces to seal and non-conductive liquid would mean no harm to electronics, even if a seal breaks.

You would also need less space for the otherwise necessary airflow, so you could build even tighter housings (or should i say: thinner! ).

And with mass production the economies of scale would significantly reduce costs vs existing solutions.

Do i miss or overlook something in my assumptions?
The corsair H series is about a mainstream as it gets. Buy it install over CPU put Ran and fan in fan slot and forget it..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:15 AM   #20
G4DP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I don't think Apple will ever go down the liquid cooling route again. THe leaking g5's was a lesson they will not forget too quickly.
__________________
Apple wouldn't know a cartographer if they stabbed them with a pair of compass' in the backside!
G4DP is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 11:37 AM   #21
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
This would be great as a product between iMac and Mac Pro, but I think thos definately shouldn't replace the MP. It would be more a step back than forward.
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 07:05 AM   #22
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Not a chance.

It's a pretty garish design, too, with lots of wasted space. Neat idea for hackintosh stuff. I'd just be happy with a slightly compressed and upgraded Pro with USB3 and TB. Cabinet is the least of concerns at this time.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 09:26 PM   #23
teribithia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Send a message via ICQ to teribithia
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefroastbeef View Post
Seems like a cool idea... also seems very very expensive...
Maybe you a right.
__________________
MacBook Pro MD101LL/A 13.3-Inch Apple 2.5 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5 processor 4 GB DDR3 RAM; 6 cell battery 500 GB Hard Drive
teribithia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:24 PM   #24
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Cool concept, but way too much wasted space. Apple will likely do everything in their power to reduce the footprint and volume of their Mac Pro with the next version.

All they need to do is add USB3, Thunderbolt, 1600MHz RAM, Latest XEONS, and a better GPU. Package that up in a slightly refined enclosure and the pros will be happy. Heck I really don't care if they use the exact same enclosure, LOL. It's under my desk.
scottrichardson is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 04:22 AM   #25
steveOooo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: (UK) Hampshire / London
If it weighs less than a tonne like the current mp does then I might buy - IMO the current mp chasis is too big and heavy - I dread to think about lugging it into a apple store
steveOooo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple wants me to trade in my macpro 6-core 2010 for a quad new macpro? compute Mac Pro 25 Dec 22, 2013 06:53 AM
MacMini, MacPro 3.2GHz or wait for new MacPro? ddjohns1 Mac Pro 18 Sep 23, 2013 06:53 PM
Can I put the video card from my G5 MacPro in my newer (late2010) MacPro? Antifragile Mac Pro 7 Aug 16, 2013 04:32 PM
MacPro 4,1 W3540 2.9 to MacPro 5,1 W3580 3.3 Upgrade - Step by Step Shots - Success! chris.k Mac Pro 22 Jun 1, 2013 07:22 AM
Build a 16 core Hakintosh, upgrade a previous MacPro or reluctantly buy new MacPro??? Jaylongeee Mac Pro 24 Jul 13, 2012 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC