Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nikobe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2011
Hi All,

I'm using a late 2011 MBP 15 2.2Ghz i7 with 4GB RAM. Recently installed mountain lion.

I'm wondering if anyone can shed any light on the following:

Issue/Question 1 of 2.

I'm a hobbyist/amateur photographer and before getting my MBP I was storing my RAW files on an external HDD and editing using various different programmes/apps.

Since getting the MBP I've been using iPhoto for management and general low level edits.

Until very recently its been working brilliantly for me.

BUT, I upgraded to Mountain Lion recently (this isn't the problem) and before I upgraded I checked for software updates as is generally recommended. I installed the very latest version of iPhoto 11 and since then I've had a few issues.

The most disturbing one is that now, when I open the editing tools in iphoto, when the image resizes, it blurs. It opens sharp for a fraction of a second and then turns blurry. This makes it very very hard to do the edits I want and also to tell whether the image is of the quality I want it to be. I've been working round it a little by closing the editing tools to view at full scree, but its not really a good alternative.

I could quit using iphoto and edit using a different app, but I really do like iPhoto for the simpler stuff. I do more complicated things in GIMP and Pixelmator.

I understand that the issue is caused by the way iPhoto scales and renders the image when displaying smaller, but to me its a massive drawback. I've read that a few others have had the issue, but haven't found a solution.

Any thoughts or ideas on fixing this? Or is it not fixable?

Issue/Question 2: