Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2012, 10:58 AM   #1
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
banner doesnt load

The top banner doesnt load for me and causing the site to endlessly load. IT hasnt work for me for quite awhile. this is using the newest firefox version.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 12:35 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
What happens when you use Chrome or Safari?
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:02 PM   #3
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Same problem here (Firefox 16.0.1) except that I just now noticed that I'm not seeing any ads whatsoever, not just the top banner. That's cool and all, I suppose, but whatever's going on is making all pages load really slowly for me.

Also, for what its worth, I'm using a Windows XP desktop (at work).

For comparison purposes, I launched the site using IE 8 and, while I still don't see any ads, it loaded much faster (damn it!).

To rule out the possibility that it was my company's network settings that were blocking the ads, I launched the site from my iPhone on cellular (turned Wi-Fi off) and I could see the ads on the mobile site but they disappear when I switch to the full site.

Oh, and I don't have Chrome or Safari on this machine so I can't test either of those.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:35 PM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
I opened Firefox 16.0.1 on Windows 7 and I saw the ads once. Then I saw it hang on a couple of sites.
  • dis.criteo.com
  • bh.contextweb.com
  • c.localhost.com
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:47 PM   #5
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I opened Firefox 16.0.1 on Windows 7 and I saw the ads once. Then I saw it hang on a couple of sites.
  • dis.criteo.com
  • bh.contextweb.com
  • c.localhost.com
Wow. All of a sudden, just mere seconds ago, the hangups stopped (I was seeing the same ones as you) and now pages are loading really quickly.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:52 PM   #6
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2shyyou View Post
Wow. All of a sudden, just mere seconds ago, the hangups stopped (I was seeing the same ones as you) and now pages are loading really quickly.
I'm still seeing c.betrad.com hang right now.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:59 PM   #7
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I'm still seeing c.betrad.com hang right now.
Though I'm no longer seeing any hangups, I'm still not seeing ads, which I assume is an issue (I'm guessing that's MR's main source of revenue).
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb

Last edited by r2shyyou; Oct 19, 2012 at 09:54 AM. Reason: Clarification: replaced "only" with "main" (forgot about contributions!)
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 02:04 PM   #8
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2shyyou View Post
Though I'm no longer seeing any hangups, I'm still not seeing ads, which I assume is an issue (I'm guessing that's MR's only source of revenue).
The ads are showing up for me. Arn will see this thread if he hasn't already and take care of the issues.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 07:07 PM   #9
Acorn
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
im still having issues where nothing shows in the banner. its not that big a deal since i hate ads anyway but i imagine its some kind of revenue for macrumors.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
banner problem wolfied OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 May 20, 2014 04:30 PM
Tim Cook doesnt talk about mac mini and doesnt show it during keynote!!!! Tdiddy022 Mac mini 3 Mar 3, 2014 07:14 AM
OS X 10.9 Banner msz7 OS X 1 Jun 7, 2013 05:38 PM
macbook pro doesnt find any partitions and doesnt boot from usb gioullis Mac Basics and Help 0 Aug 22, 2012 03:04 AM
iOS 3 Banner? King Antonidas Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jun 18, 2012 10:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC