Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2012, 09:01 PM   #1
CatsTide
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
can't get iDentify to tag a file

I'm trying to tag Ice Age Continental Drift.Can't get iDentify to tag it. I've tried Ice Age 4 Continental Drift,Ice Age Continental Drift,Ice Age 4...and about every other combination of these...any ideas?
CatsTide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:19 PM   #2
diogolg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Im having the same problem with some of my TV shows. Most of them are tag correctly but for a few it just don't work... Sometimes i try to edit manually and add the imdb id and then rescan and seems to work, but for most of the time it doesn't
diogolg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:27 PM   #3
CatsTide
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I just ended up manually adding the artwork and letting it go.
CatsTide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:32 PM   #4
ffohwx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfield, Ohio
I tend to have to add the IMDB tag manually and then rescan quite a bit anymore.
ffohwx is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:33 PM   #5
CatsTide
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffohwx View Post
I tend to have to add the IMDB tag manually and then rescan quite a bit anymore.
How do you find the IMDB tag and how do you add it?
CatsTide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:44 PM   #6
ffohwx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfield, Ohio
The last part of the IMDB URL is the code, so for Lost the URL is http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0411008/ and the code is tt0411008. In iDentify, just click the Edit Tags button, and you'll see a field for it. Paste it in, then click Rescan Items.
ffohwx is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:39 AM   #7
orestes1984
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
This, manually adding the IMDB tag works every time for metadata, sometimes it picks up the chapters as well.
orestes1984 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 08:24 AM   #8
CatsTide
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffohwx View Post
The last part of the IMDB URL is the code, so for Lost the URL is http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0411008/ and the code is tt0411008. In iDentify, just click the Edit Tags button, and you'll see a field for it. Paste it in, then click Rescan Items.
Quote:
Originally Posted by orestes1984 View Post
This, manually adding the IMDB tag works every time for metadata, sometimes it picks up the chapters as well.
awesome...thanks guys
CatsTide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:31 PM   #9
panda bear
macrumors 68000
 
panda bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffohwx View Post
The last part of the IMDB URL is the code, so for Lost the URL is http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0411008/ and the code is tt0411008. In iDentify, just click the Edit Tags button, and you'll see a field for it. Paste it in, then click Rescan Items.
Thanks so much!

Searched the forum before asking the question and found this answer.

Having some problems with tagging the US version of Shameless and Once Upon a Time for some reason.

EDIT: Just tried this for Season 02 Episode 12 of Shameless (US) and I rescan and it still isn't picking it up.
panda bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:45 PM   #10
McScooby
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Paps of Glenn Close, Scotland.
you have to use the title "once upon a time (2011)" and it should pick it up.
McScooby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 10:17 AM   #11
jjk454ss
macrumors 68040
 
jjk454ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Ive been doing the same thing with IMDB codes for movies and everything works great. Now I am trying TV shows and can't get it to work. Anything different I need to do for TV shows?
jjk454ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 10:26 AM   #12
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjk454ss View Post
Ive been doing the same thing with IMDB codes for movies and everything works great. Now I am trying TV shows and can't get it to work. Anything different I need to do for TV shows?


make sure in the edit screen for iDenifty its shows it as a TVshow and make sure the S01E01 info is correct than hit rescan
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD and 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
64GB iPhone 6 Gold
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 10:37 AM   #13
jjk454ss
macrumors 68040
 
jjk454ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by heisenberg123 View Post
make sure in the edit screen for iDenifty its shows it as a TVshow and make sure the S01E01 info is correct than hit rescan
Thanks, that worked. It was set to Movie not TV Show.
jjk454ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 10:49 AM   #14
wlossw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
I believe that identify does not look at the IMDB codes for Tv shows. I experienced the same problem with Shameless. Just rename file to shameless.(us).sxx.exx and it will work.
__________________
rMBP Mid-2012 2.7/16/512, Thunderbolt Display, Iphone 6 128GB, IPAD 4th gen 64GB WiFi, IPAD mini Retina 128GB LTE 6x Apple-Tv 3rd Gen
wlossw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:01 AM   #15
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlossw View Post
I believe that identify does not look at the IMDB codes for Tv shows. I experienced the same problem with Shameless. Just rename file to shameless.(us).sxx.exx and it will work.
your correct it uses TVdb.com for tvshows im pretty sure so those codes wont help, usually like above changing the type and having the S01E01 or whatever season and episdode works
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD and 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
64GB iPhone 6 Gold
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding the "Explicit" tag to an mp3 file Hustler1337 Digital Audio 0 Apr 6, 2014 01:58 PM
Can I setup tags to automatically tag each file within a given folder ? comics addict OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Jan 14, 2014 09:23 AM
Prompt to tag and move file after downloading dadama Mac Programming 0 Nov 4, 2013 01:55 PM
Best Tag Implementations - How Do you tag? blast87 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 12 Jul 7, 2013 06:26 PM
Identify this for me itsmemuffins iPhone 12 May 12, 2013 04:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC