Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2012, 10:25 PM   #1
ansabakhan
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Do I need to activate my AT&T iPhone 5 before selling it ?

one one my lines had an upgrade due.. i bought a iphone 5 and received it today (still sealed) , i will either give it to my family over seas or it as i don't need iphone on that line ... do i still need to activate that phone before giving/selling it ?
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 10:47 PM   #2
jekyoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago
Yes, you'll need to activate it before you sell it.
__________________
Retina 15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012)
iPhone 5 (64gb/black)
iPad 3 (16gb/black)
jekyoo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:02 PM   #3
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyoo View Post
Yes, you'll need to activate it before you sell it.
what if i dont ? would that effect my at&t account in any way?
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:45 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansabakhan View Post
what if i dont ? would that effect my at&t account in any way?
No, it wont effect you but most likely the other person buying it wont be able to activate it and get passed this screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	370529  
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:46 PM   #5
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
No you don't need to activate it.. Don't listen to anyone... I bought 8 on launch day all AT&T and most went overseas and were not activated
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:57 PM   #6
Carlanga
macrumors 603
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
At least w/ all other iPhones you needed to activate first time w/ AT&T, no matter what you where going to do w/ it. I'm assume it still applies w/ the iPhone 5, so yeah. If you don't then the phone cannot be activated period.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:00 AM   #7
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlanga View Post
At least w/ all other iPhones you needed to activate first time w/ AT&T, no matter what you where going to do w/ it. I'm assume it still applies w/ the iPhone 5, so yeah. If you don't then the phone cannot be activated period.
That's a lie, the employees were just told to tell people that to prevent people from reselling the phone for profit...
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:07 AM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
That's a lie, the employees were just told to tell people that to prevent people from reselling the phone for profit...
I guess that screen that I saw above must have been an optical illusion then
Happened with my iphone 4, 4S and now i5.
That's only for the first initial activation and you will never see it again.
The UPS guy brought it, I opened the box and plugged it in to itunes and tried to activate.
But you cannot get past that screen untill the correct info is entered. That's on an AT&T iphone that is bought with a 2 year agreement. Not full price.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:16 AM   #9
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
You can get past it... Plug into iTunes put the phone in DFU mode and restore... Not to mention iPhone 5's for AT&T purchased At no commitment price $649+ don't even have that screen...
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:18 AM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
You can get past it... Plug into iTunes put the phone in DFU mode and restore... Not to mention iPhone 5's for AT&T purchased At no commitment price $649+ don't even have that screen...
That's what I said above, full priced iphones do not have that screen. Its just the subsidized models that have that added security feature.
And no, even wth a DFU restore you will not get passed that screen.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:28 AM   #11
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
That's what I said above, full priced iphones do not have that screen. Its just the subsidized models that have that added security feature.
And no, even wth a DFU restore you will not get passed that screen.
My bad I forgot one part... Since most likely it's going overseas you would buy the factory unlock for it on eBay for $5-$15 and then DFU and restore And that screen will not be there
iPhonesandMacs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:29 AM   #12
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
My bad I forgot one part... Since most likely it's going overseas you would buy the factory unlock for it on eBay for $5-$15 and then DFU and restore And that screen will not be there
That would probably work but never tried it myself.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:32 AM   #13
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
That would probably work but never tried it myself.
It will work, but people will freak out if they don't know the DFU mode trick because there is literally nothing you can do even if it is unlocked unless you put it in DFU and restore
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:40 AM   #14
outie2k
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
That's what I said above, full priced iphones do not have that screen. Its just the subsidized models that have that added security feature.
And no, even wth a DFU restore you will not get passed that screen.
Did you buy yours from AT&T or Apple? It seems like phones purchased from AT&T do not have that. At least the ones we got from AT&T do not have it.
outie2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:43 AM   #15
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by outie2k View Post
Did you buy yours from AT&T or Apple? It seems like phones purchased from AT&T do not have that. At least the ones we got from AT&T do not have it.
2 I preordered online from AT&T had that screen, and 1 I got from Apple's website also.
If you get it at an AT&T or Apple store they activate it or just sell it to you there so you will never see that screen/verification cause you already verified your identity to them by being there in person with your ID.
If you order it online from either Apple or AT&T and is shipped to your house then you will see that screen. That's to prevent people activating the phone if its not the person that ordered it. So UPS/FEDEX drivers and others stealing the box from your door will get stuck.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:46 AM   #16
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
2 I preordered online from AT&T had that screen, and 1 I got from Apple's website also.
If you get it at an AT&T or Apple store they activate it or just sell it for you there so you will never see that screen/verification cause you already verified your identity to them when you're in person.
If you order it online from either Apple or AT&T and is shipped to your house then you will see that screen.
You will only see that screen if the phone was subsidized and shipped from apple and AT&T... I bought 8 from apple store and 5 from AT&T online all full price $649 and none had that screen
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:49 AM   #17
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
You will only see that screen if the phone was subsidized and shipped from apple and AT&T... I bought 8 from apple store and 5 from AT&T online all full price $649 and none had that screen
Lol
Yes, we already established that 6 posts above.
That's only a security feature on iphones bought under a 2 year contract on AT&T.
You will never see that on full priced AT&T iphones and those will also be factory unlocked.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:50 AM   #18
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Lol
Yes, we already established that 6 posts above.
That's only a security feature on iphones bought under a 2 year contract on AT&T.
You will never see that on full priced AT&T iphones and those will also be factory unlocked.
Correct lol
iPhonesandMacs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 01:05 AM   #19
CBR900RR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Middle of Pacific
Send a message via ICQ to CBR900RR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
2 I preordered online from AT&T had that screen, and 1 I got from Apple's website also.
If you get it at an AT&T or Apple store they activate it or just sell it to you there so you will never see that screen/verification cause you already verified your identity to them by being there in person with your ID.
If you order it online from either Apple or AT&T and is shipped to your house then you will see that screen. That's to prevent people activating the phone if its not the person that ordered it. So UPS/FEDEX drivers and others stealing the box from your door will get stuck.
But the iPhone5 comes with a nano sim, if I steal the phone, all I need to do is turn it on and activate the phone, I don't think you have to input any info.
__________________
Free FXsound ringtone
CBR900RR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 01:20 AM   #20
Ohsnaps!itsjeff
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Smh at the misinformation in this thread.

As long as the buyer has his own nano sim you won't have a problem.
Ohsnaps!itsjeff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 01:33 AM   #21
jekyoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No, it wont effect you but most likely the other person buying it wont be able to activate it and get passed this screen.
The comments should have just stopped here. This clearly answered the question.
__________________
Retina 15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012)
iPhone 5 (64gb/black)
iPad 3 (16gb/black)
jekyoo is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 01:38 AM   #22
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyoo View Post
The comments should have just stopped here. This clearly answered the question.
except it didn't... there is ways to get passed it...
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 05:37 AM   #23
dchao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
No you don't need to activate it.. Don't listen to anyone... I bought 8 on launch day all AT&T and most went overseas and were not activated
You said you bought 8 on launch day, that means you did not buy them "online".

With an online order, the buyer must activate the iPhone first to prevent fraud.

Since an Apple store employee physically handed the 8 iPhone's to you in person, there can't be any fraudulence claim.

For online orders, changing a SIM can't bypass the verification process, otherwise, any lost iP5 in the mail could just be sold by the thieve by swapping the SIM card.

Also AT&T use the activation process to track which iPhone has purchased/upped the contract.


----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ansabakhan View Post
one one my lines had an upgrade due.. i bought a iphone 5 and received it today (still sealed) , i will either give it to my family over seas or it as i don't need iphone on that line ... do i still need to activate that phone before giving/selling it ?
You said you received it today. So that means it is an online order.

I would activate it, tell the buyer it has been open for activation only.

Then ship the phone without the original SIM.

If you want to be a nice seller, include a brand new unactivated AT&T SIM for any US buyer, so the buyer can use it immediately.
__________________
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2008)

Last edited by dchao; Oct 19, 2012 at 05:42 AM.
dchao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 01:57 PM   #24
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
i wanted to know if activating it 1st (before selling) would matter regarding my eligibility date in future or it doesn't matter? ..

Last edited by ansabakhan; Oct 19, 2012 at 04:44 PM.
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:25 PM   #25
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR900RR View Post
But the iPhone5 comes with a nano sim, if I steal the phone, all I need to do is turn it on and activate the phone, I don't think you have to input any info.
It doesnt matter what nano sim you use. The one that's inside or another one.
Yes, You will still need that correct info entered.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ansabakhan View Post
i wanted to know if activating it 1st (below seller) would matter regarding my eligibility date in future or it doesn't matter? ..
It wouldnt make any difference.
Wether you activate it or not you're still under contract if you bought it with a 2 year subsidized agreement or whoever did.
If its not bought under your account then it didnt use your subsidy and wont play a role in future eligibility.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activate iPhone 5c AT&T over wifi? benji888 iPhone 6 Oct 1, 2013 03:49 AM
Selling Old iPhone 4 W/ No SIM, iPhone 5 Activated, Selling Price, & Other Questions Austin M. iPhone 9 Aug 5, 2013 05:06 PM
Can I use prepaid sim At&t to activate iphone5 ( just activate not use) bboyp90 iPhone 1 Sep 28, 2012 12:47 AM
iPhone 2G 1.1.4 able to activate with iTunes and AT&T braddick iPhone 4 Aug 19, 2012 08:52 PM
Activate iphone 4S with at&t sim? jacobss iPhone 2 Jun 2, 2012 11:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC