Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:18 PM   #26
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchao View Post
You said you bought 8 on launch day, that means you did not buy them "online".

With an online order, the buyer must activate the iPhone first to prevent fraud.

Since an Apple store employee physically handed the 8 iPhone's to you in person, there can't be any fraudulence claim.

For online orders, changing a SIM can't bypass the verification process, otherwise, any lost iP5 in the mail could just be sold by the thieve by swapping the SIM card.

Also AT&T use the activation process to track which iPhone has purchased/upped the contract.


----------



You said you received it today. So that means it is an online order.

I would activate it, tell the buyer it has been open for activation only.

Then ship the phone without the original SIM.

If you want to be a nice seller, include a brand new unactivated AT&T SIM for any US buyer, so the buyer can use it immediately.
I bought a total of 12.... 5 online and 8 in store the 8 online were from AT&T online... None of them had that screen
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:38 PM   #27
jekyoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
I bought a total of 12.... 5 online and 8 in store the 8 online were from AT&T online... None of them had that screen
How many times does it have to be said?

ON CONTRACT = You will get the activation screen on first boot
FULL PRICE = No activation screen since it's not tied to a wireless number.
__________________
Retina 15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012)
iPhone 5 (64gb/black)
iPad 3 (16gb/black)
jekyoo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:39 PM   #28
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyoo View Post
How many times does it have to be said?

ON CONTRACT = You will get the activation screen on first boot
FULL PRICE = No activation screen since it's not tied to a wireless number.
LMAO
Maybe another 12 times or till he gets it
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:43 PM   #29
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyoo View Post
How many times does it have to be said?

ON CONTRACT = You will get the activation screen on first boot
FULL PRICE = No activation screen since it's not tied to a wireless number.
But on contract, can be unlocked before u activate it and then u don't get that screen, is getting thru the screen only reason I should activate before selling my phone ?
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:50 PM   #30
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyoo View Post
How many times does it have to be said?

ON CONTRACT = You will get the activation screen on first boot
FULL PRICE = No activation screen since it's not tied to a wireless number.
They were tied to a wireless number... They all had labels on the box with the wireless number that had been associated it... I started a new account with 5 lines....
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 04:27 PM   #31
dchao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
They were tied to a wireless number... They all had labels on the box with the wireless number that had been associated it... I started a new account with 5 lines....
The number printed on the box is the number for that SIM.

Full price = Off contract / no subsidize = carrier doesn't need to track the activation, because you have paid for phone in full. = therefore, the phone is unlocked already
__________________
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2008)
dchao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 04:32 PM   #32
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchao View Post
The number printed on the box is the number for that SIM.

Full price = Off contract / no subsidize = carrier doesn't need to track the activation, because you have paid for phone in full. = therefore, the phone is unlocked already
Yes I don't get why you people think I am arguing... All I said was their Is a way around that screen and that full price phones regardless from apple or AT&T or online do not have that verification screen.
iPhonesandMacs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 12:51 PM   #33
jeff5
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
All I said was their Is a way around that screen
-For ON CONTRACT phone-

What way around that screen?

DFU restore?


Applejuiced says no:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced
Its just the subsidized models that have that added security feature.
And no, even wth a DFU restore you will not get passed that screen.
jeff5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 01:55 PM   #34
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff5 View Post
-For ON CONTRACT phone-

What way around that screen?

DFU restore?


Applejuiced says no:
Yes I have got past that screen using a $4.69 Unlock on ebay and DFU restore
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 01:56 PM   #35
Roly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
Yes I have got past that screen using a $4.69 Unlock on ebay and DFU restore
Can u, please, tell me the link where u do that?
Roly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 03:39 PM   #36
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roly View Post
Can u, please, tell me the link where u do that?
Just search unlock on ebay there are tons of sellers
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 05:27 PM   #37
jmflo571
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I know this is for the ATT version, but what about for verizon? i ordered the verizon ip5 and paid the full price, this phone is going to be a gift for a family member that has a ip4 and plan , but dont know if i need to activate it first then cancel my account, or they can straight up activate on their account.
jmflo571 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 11:53 PM   #38
Roly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
Just search unlock on ebay there are tons of sellers
And after u did that unlock, and restore, that screen with zip code and last 4 digit didnt apear?

Last edited by Roly; Oct 28, 2012 at 02:11 AM.
Roly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 02:17 AM   #39
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmflo571 View Post
I know this is for the ATT version, but what about for verizon? i ordered the verizon ip5 and paid the full price, this phone is going to be a gift for a family member that has a ip4 and plan , but dont know if i need to activate it first then cancel my account, or they can straight up activate on their account.
You dont need to do anything.
The verizon i5 is automaticly unlocked for any gsm carrier.
They wont have to enter anything or need to activate it at all with verizon.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 01:48 PM   #40
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roly View Post
And after u did that unlock, and restore, that screen with zip code and last 4 digit didnt apear?
Nope
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:03 PM   #41
jshadow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NYC Metro area
I activated 2 iPhone 5 both on ATT 2 year plans and never saw that screen asking for zip code and last 4 digits of SSN.
__________________
IPhone 3gs running 5.1.1 IMEI unlocked Jailbroken
IPhone 5 running IMEI unlocked 6.0
Both on T-mobile.
jshadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:19 PM   #42
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshadow View Post
I activated 2 iPhone 5 both on ATT 2 year plans and never saw that screen asking for zip code and last 4 digits of SSN.
Did you get them shipped to you by mail?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 05:31 PM   #43
jshadow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NYC Metro area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Did you get them shipped to you by mail?
One by FedEx and one by UPS.

Both phones were for new subsized plans. Neither was an upgrade. Neither phone was purchased at full price.
__________________
IPhone 3gs running 5.1.1 IMEI unlocked Jailbroken
IPhone 5 running IMEI unlocked 6.0
Both on T-mobile.

Last edited by jshadow; Oct 28, 2012 at 05:42 PM.
jshadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 05:43 PM   #44
CBR900RR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Middle of Pacific
Send a message via ICQ to CBR900RR
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshadow View Post
I activated 2 iPhone 5 both on ATT 2 year plans and never saw that screen asking for zip code and last 4 digits of SSN.
That's the same experience I had when they ship me the 4, 4s and the 5, turn on the new iphone with the pre-install sim inside, new sim activated and old sim will get de-activated, never ask for zip code and last 4 digits of SSN.

I believe if you do the initial activation on a brand new shipped iphone, you don't need the zip and ssn if you use a sim that's tie in to you account, if you insert somebody else at&t sim, you will need to provide the info.


EDIT
ip4 was an upgrade on my account
ip4s a new line for my wife
ip5 upgrade on my account
__________________
Free FXsound ringtone

Last edited by CBR900RR; Oct 28, 2012 at 05:53 PM.
CBR900RR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 06:21 PM   #45
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshadow View Post
One by FedEx and one by UPS.

Both phones were for new subsized plans. Neither was an upgrade. Neither phone was purchased at full price.
Weird.
Both mine asked me for that but they were an upgrade. Not brand new lines.
Not sure if that would make a difference.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 12:11 PM   #46
Beenblacklisted
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
all you have to do is activate and remove sim , that way it will not come up as new iphone and future buyer wont have a bricked phone,and no, there is no way around it, even 112 then power+end call will not get past it, nor will dfu mode, nor will anything except information requested, which is tied to baseband.
Beenblacklisted is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 12:44 PM   #47
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beenblacklisted View Post
all you have to do is activate and remove sim , that way it will not come up as new iphone and future buyer wont have a bricked phone,and no, there is no way around it, even 112 then power+end call will not get past it, nor will dfu mode, nor will anything except information requested, which is tied to baseband.
DFU MODE and a factory unlock will get past the screen, sorry to break it to you
iPhonesandMacs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 01:19 PM   #48
ZipZap
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansabakhan View Post
one one my lines had an upgrade due.. i bought a iphone 5 and received it today (still sealed) , i will either give it to my family over seas or it as i don't need iphone on that line ... do i still need to activate that phone before giving/selling it ?
You can call ATT and have them extend your contract but tell them to remove the upgrade pending on the SIM.

They can do this and it will save you or your buyer from having to get another.
ZipZap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:39 PM   #49
ndn001
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
Yes I have got past that screen using a $4.69 Unlock on ebay and DFU restore
I just bought the unlock code from ebay can you please link me to a site where there is instruction how to do into dfu and where do I enter the unlock code from ebay ?

Or if I activate iphone 5 using my personal info without using unlock code and the buyer does some scam using the iphone later on, will the cops come chasing me because the IMEI is linked to my account or am I being too paranoid ?

Thanks a lot
ndn001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:20 PM   #50
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndn001 View Post
I just bought the unlock code from ebay can you please link me to a site where there is instruction how to do into dfu and where do I enter the unlock code from ebay ?

Or if I activate iphone 5 using my personal info without using unlock code and the buyer does some scam using the iphone later on, will the cops come chasing me because the IMEI is linked to my account or am I being too paranoid ?

Thanks a lot
There is no code you enter.... You have to look for a video on YouTube on how to enter dfu mode
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activate iPhone 5c AT&T over wifi? benji888 iPhone 6 Oct 1, 2013 02:49 AM
Selling Old iPhone 4 W/ No SIM, iPhone 5 Activated, Selling Price, & Other Questions Austin M. iPhone 9 Aug 5, 2013 04:06 PM
Can I use prepaid sim At&t to activate iphone5 ( just activate not use) bboyp90 iPhone 1 Sep 27, 2012 11:47 PM
iPhone 2G 1.1.4 able to activate with iTunes and AT&T braddick iPhone 4 Aug 19, 2012 07:52 PM
Activate iphone 4S with at&t sim? jacobss iPhone 2 Jun 2, 2012 10:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC