Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2012, 05:03 PM   #1
hovscorpion12
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Batman Arkham City Mac OSX

So i know that with Bootcamp, Parallels...etc you can play Windows games on a Mac. I'm interested in Batman Arkham City which will be released by Feral Interactive on Nov. Judging that Mac does not Direct X11 like the Windows version i'm curious in what kind of Graphic, processor feral will ask for and require? When i installed parallels 6 and Batman Arkham City, it lagged (even on Low) I have a Mid 2010 MacBook Pro 15" Intel i5 2.5Ghz, Nvidia GeoForce 330M, Nvidia HD 3000, 4GBs of Ram.

Last edited by hovscorpion12; Oct 19, 2012 at 07:29 PM.
hovscorpion12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 12:42 PM   #2
MacGamerHQ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lyon, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by hovscorpion12 View Post
So i know that with Bootcamp, Parallels...etc you can play Windows games on a Mac. I'm interested in Batman Arkham City which will be released by Feral Interactive on Nov. Judging that Mac does not Direct X11 like the Windows version i'm curious in what kind of Graphic, processor feral will ask for and require? When i installed parallels 6 and Batman Arkham City, it lagged (even on Low) I have a Mid 2010 MacBook Pro 15" Intel i5 2.5Ghz, Nvidia GeoForce 330M, Nvidia HD 3000, 4GBs of Ram.
Well, Parallels is a good solution for running windows software with minimum hassle. However, it sucks for "hardcore" gaming (by that I mean games with heavy graphics of course)!

So it's no surprise that your mac struggled... Try it using bootcamp if you really want to see the max your mac can do.

Cheers!
__________________
Runs MacGamerHQ.com, the only Mac Gaming Blog left alive!
MacGamerHQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 01:05 PM   #3
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
This thread is about an OS X game, NOT the Windows version.

In any case, Feral is by far the best Mac gaming publisher out there, with extremely well-performing native ports...I definitely think it will be a great job with all DLCs included, just like Arkham Asylum was on the Mac.
50548 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 09:33 PM   #4
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hovscorpion12 View Post
So i know that with Bootcamp, Parallels...etc you can play Windows games on a Mac. I'm interested in Batman Arkham City which will be released by Feral Interactive on Nov. Judging that Mac does not Direct X11 like the Windows version i'm curious in what kind of Graphic, processor feral will ask for and require? When i installed parallels 6 and Batman Arkham City, it lagged (even on Low) I have a Mid 2010 MacBook Pro 15" Intel i5 2.5Ghz, Nvidia GeoForce 330M, Nvidia HD 3000, 4GBs of Ram.
An upgrade to Parallels 8 would help performance-wise. You are two versions behind and there was substantial performance improvements from 6 to 7 in particular. However, just generally speaking I would not expect Parallels to consistently be a good solution for newer games. It is awesome for older ones I find but running a newer demanding game in a VM is just too hardware intensive for decent performance in a lot of cases. From what I understand, sometimes you can get away with it but I wouldn't count on it is what I mean.

I wouldn't guess about system requirements for a Feral release that are not published yet. All you'd get is a guess. Maybe looking at the system requirements for Arkham Asylum from Feral would give a hint but who knows if the newer game will be more demanding.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 12:27 PM   #5
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hovscorpion12 View Post
I have a Mid 2010 MacBook Pro 15" Intel i5 2.5Ghz, Nvidia GeoForce 330M, Nvidia HD 3000, 4GBs of Ram.
You will be able to play with a smooth fps on the lower settings. I can't say much more right now but specs will be firmed up soon.

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 06:27 PM   #6
angel2nz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
DLCs in Parallels?

have BAC on paralells via bootcamp. Having a dickens of a time getting the DLC skins to show. have them all, but the cheat wont work etc. any ideas?
angel2nz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:19 AM   #7
MacGamerHQ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lyon, France
Any idea on the actual release date for the Mac version?

Cheers guys,
__________________
Runs MacGamerHQ.com, the only Mac Gaming Blog left alive!
MacGamerHQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:38 AM   #8
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamerHQ View Post
Any idea on the actual release date for the Mac version?

Cheers guys,
Soon!

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:52 PM   #9
MacGamerHQ
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lyon, France
You're not going to share at least a clue with us? That's mean!
__________________
Runs MacGamerHQ.com, the only Mac Gaming Blog left alive!
MacGamerHQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:13 PM   #10
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
As long as "soon" means "in time for Christmas," that's good enough for me.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2013, 09:41 PM   #11
Delorean2006
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacGamerHQ View Post
Any idea on the actual release date for the Mac version?

Cheers guys,
dont even bother with the mac version, it runs awful, even on the lowest res and lowest settings, the game will simply not run when i can play it on max res and on high at around 35fps and my computer is in my sig
__________________
15" 2012 Macbook Pro 2.3ghz Core i7 Hi-Res AG, 16GB Ram, 2X 500GB Samsung 840 Evo SSD / iPhone 6 64GB Silver / 16GB Space Grey iPad Air / 6th Gen AirPort Extreme / 3rd Gen Apple TV
Delorean2006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2013, 11:12 PM   #12
hovscorpion12
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delorean2006 View Post
dont even bother with the mac version, it runs awful, even on the lowest res and lowest settings, the game will simply not run when i can play it on max res and on high at around 35fps and my computer is in my sig
That is a false statement. Previous owner of a Mid 2010 Macbook pro 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 processor, 4GB of RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M graphics processor with 256MB of GDDR3 memory, Intel HD Graphics 3000 with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM. Batman Arkham City ran at minimum 30fps to maximum 50fps. Everything on medium and still looked good.

I am now the owner of the Mid 2013 15.4' Macbook Pro W/Retina Display, Intel Haswell Quad-Core 2.3 GHz, 16GB of RAM, Intel Iris Pro Graphics,
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M with 2GB of GDDR5 memory. Batman Arkham City runs at 60fps at settings set at High.
hovscorpion12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2013, 11:20 PM   #13
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
I love it! A thread this old and the OP returns to set the record straight the very same night somebody needs correction.

Nice!
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2013, 11:53 PM   #14
Delorean2006
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hovscorpion12 View Post
That is a false statement. Previous owner of a Mid 2010 Macbook pro 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 processor, 4GB of RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M graphics processor with 256MB of GDDR3 memory, Intel HD Graphics 3000 with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM. Batman Arkham City ran at minimum 30fps to maximum 50fps. Everything on medium and still looked good.

I am now the owner of the Mid 2013 15.4' Macbook Pro W/Retina Display, Intel Haswell Quad-Core 2.3 GHz, 16GB of RAM, Intel Iris Pro Graphics,
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M with 2GB of GDDR5 memory. Batman Arkham City runs at 60fps at settings set at High.
I swear i was average around 30-35 FPS with my system with Arkham city on high, running windows 7, I noticed with the latest Nvidia driver the 330m gt is running a lot better now and I will be getting same system in the next few months as well, makes me excited to see your high performance
Delorean2006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 02:52 AM   #15
Celtic Warrior
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
As long as "soon" means "in time for Christmas," that's good enough for me.
he meant next christmas actually
Celtic Warrior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 07:09 AM   #16
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delorean2006 View Post
dont even bother with the mac version, it runs awful, even on the lowest res and lowest settings, the game will simply not run when i can play it on max res and on high at around 35fps and my computer is in my sig
The mac version runs very well on almost all Mac's, Nvidia 3xx series (the Mac you own) has a number of large performance issues in the drivers that cause performance issues in many games, additionally the performance also dropped in the latest OS's due to some regressions in OS X drivers for 3xx series which made the game run slower than before.

Due to the age of the this card it's unlikely any major fixes are planned as a high priority for OS X. We did log them all with Apple/Nvidia though so you never know however the slowdown is not something we can fix without driver fixes/improvements.

Edwin

Last edited by edddeduck; Dec 19, 2013 at 08:47 AM.
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 08:37 AM   #17
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delorean2006 View Post
dont even bother with the mac version, it runs awful, even on the lowest res and lowest settings, the game will simply not run when i can play it on max res and on high at around 35fps and my computer is in my sig
Why generalise?
Runs perfectly on my iMac @2560x1440 with a 1Gb 6970M card. Very smooth, even at high settings.
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 6 64Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 09:55 AM   #18
Delorean2006
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by edddeduck View Post
The mac version runs very well on almost all Mac's, Nvidia 3xx series (the Mac you own) has a number of large performance issues in the drivers that cause performance issues in many games, additionally the performance also dropped in the latest OS's due to some regressions in OS X drivers for 3xx series which made the game run slower than before.

Due to the age of the this card it's unlikely any major fixes are planned as a high priority for OS X. We did log them all with Apple/Nvidia though so you never know however the slowdown is not something we can fix without driver fixes/improvements.

Edwin
that explains a lot, i know the card is old, but i didn't dig too deep into the performance issues of the game and see if I'm not the only one having the problems, thank you so much for the insight
__________________
15" 2012 Macbook Pro 2.3ghz Core i7 Hi-Res AG, 16GB Ram, 2X 500GB Samsung 840 Evo SSD / iPhone 6 64GB Silver / 16GB Space Grey iPad Air / 6th Gen AirPort Extreme / 3rd Gen Apple TV
Delorean2006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2013, 10:58 AM   #19
edddeduck
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delorean2006 View Post
that explains a lot, i know the card is old, but i didn't dig too deep into the performance issues of the game and see if I'm not the only one having the problems, thank you so much for the insight
Happy to give the insight, we REALLY dislike the fact we can't get the speed on your card but we just ran out of options, it's rare but sometimes it happens.

The good news is if the drivers are improved the game should just speed up magically, we have the ability to turn on and off render modes using your preferences file so if we find a way or something changes we can get the boost asap sometimes without even patching.

Thanks for your understanding.

Edwin
edddeduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Batman Arkham City: mac app store Markitos-soccer Mac and PC Games 13 Oct 28, 2014 10:40 AM
OS X: Issu on Batman Arkham City moumeng Mac and PC Games 6 Nov 7, 2013 10:39 AM
OS X: Batman: Arkham City with Mavericks? kingtj Mac and PC Games 1 Oct 14, 2013 05:48 AM
Batman: Arkham City and The Witcher 2 Arrive in Mac App Store MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 35 Feb 10, 2013 04:36 PM
Batman: Arkham City Comes to the Mac in November MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 41 Nov 12, 2012 06:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC