Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cowbellallen

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 8, 2007
I have 4 months left under my two year contract with Verizon. I also have an unlimited plan. Seeing as I really don't understand how cell phone companies work, I'd rally appreciate some help!

I want to upgrade to an iPhone 5 and keep my unlimited plan. I understand to do this, I need to buy the phone outright (something like $750). But do I need to wait until the 4 months of my contract are up, or can I go ahead and buy the iPhone 5 and activate it and do whatever with the iPhone 4 I currently have?

Thanks for any help, I'm a big newb to iPhone!

maliu

macrumors 6502a
Jun 24, 2010
No if you buy the phone outright you do not have to sign another 2 year contract. Your 5 will be month to month, no cancellation penalties. The 4S is yours to keep free and clear if you satisfied the terms of your original 2 year agreement.

cowbellallen

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 8, 2007
No if you buy the phone outright you do not have to sign another 2 year contract. Your 5 will be month to month, no cancellation penalties. The 4S is yours to keep free and clear if you satisfied the terms of your original 2 year agreement.

Thanks! Unfortunately, my local stores are all sold out and I can't buy an iPhone at regular price on the Apple Store. :(

Yebubbleman

macrumors 603
May 20, 2010
Los Angeles, CA
I have 4 months left under my two year contract with Verizon. I also have an unlimited plan. Seeing as I really don't understand how cell phone companies work, I'd rally appreciate some help!

I want to upgrade to an iPhone 5 and keep my unlimited plan. I understand to do this, I need to buy the phone outright (something like $750). But do I need to wait until the 4 months of my contract are up, or can I go ahead and buy the iPhone 5 and activate it and do whatever with the iPhone 4 I currently have?