Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2012, 09:08 AM   #1
Zandra with Z
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Looking for the "enable TRIM" command lines.

I just bought the Samsung 830 128GB SSD and I want to enable TRIM in OS X Mountain Lion.

Some sites claim that this is the correct command line:

sudo cp /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage.original


While others claim that this is the right command line:

sudo cp /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage /IOAHCIBlockStorage.original

Which is it?

Last edited by Zandra with Z; Oct 20, 2012 at 09:24 AM.
Zandra with Z is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 09:19 AM   #2
borostef
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
I used this method both in Lion and Mountain Lion and it works like a charm... No problems...

http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/
borostef is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 09:34 AM   #3
Zandra with Z
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thank you so much!
Zandra with Z is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 01:10 PM   #4
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Much easier to use this application. Then you have it for every time a OS X patch comes out.

http://www.groths.org/?page_id=322
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 02:29 PM   #5
borostef
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulinpa View Post
Much easier to use this application. Then you have it for every time a OS X patch comes out.

http://www.groths.org/?page_id=322
I am not saying that you are wrong, but I have seen on some forums that people had problems with Trim enabler application... Something to do with slow system boot and some other problems.
borostef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 02:41 PM   #6
Dnix
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I've never had any issues with TRIM enabler. You just have to keep up with new versions (system updates will disable it).

The guy that does the app is a regular poster here, I think.
Dnix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 02:56 PM   #7
Ifti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Samsung 830 512Gb user here.
No issues with Trim Enabler whatsoever.
__________________
See my YouTube Channel for reviews & tech tips!
2012 Mac Mini Server / 2.6GHz Quad i7/8GB/2x1TB HDD
2013 MBA11 1.7GHz Dual i7/8/256 - 2013 rMBP15 2.6GHz Quad i7/16/1TB/750m
TC / iPhone5 / Drobo 5D
Ifti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 04:35 PM   #8
Zandra with Z
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by borostef View Post
I used this method both in Lion and Mountain Lion and it works like a charm... No problems...

http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/
I have installed the SSD and followed the steps in the link and... taaa-daaa... trim is enabled.
Zandra with Z is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 05:00 PM   #9
borostef
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandra with Z View Post
I have installed the SSD and followed the steps in the link and... taaa-daaa... trim is enabled.
I am glad that it worked... Well, why shouldn't it
You just have to remember that you need to repeat the procedure after OSX updates... From 10.8.2 to 10.8.3 and so on...
borostef is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on "TRIM" if I run Parallels sniffs MacBook Pro 5 Jan 28, 2014 08:13 PM
General: iOS7 command line... Equivalent of "say" command? RobertoG Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 19, 2014 05:05 PM
Is Quicktime "Trim".....Lossless Editing LeandrodaFL Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 7, 2014 09:19 AM
"Applications" menu command - "item cannot be found" - owner/permissions? (10.6.8) MacOSExustio OS X 2 Jul 20, 2013 05:05 AM
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 03:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC